Stages of anal cancer

Staging describes or classifies a cancer based on how much cancer there is in the body and where it is when first diagnosed. This is often called the extent of cancer. Information from tests is used to find out the size of the tumour, which parts of the organ have cancer, whether the cancer has spread from where it first started and where the cancer has spread. Your healthcare team uses the stage to plan treatment and estimate the outcome (your prognosis).

The staging system for anal cancer applies only to carcinomas. For carcinomas of the perianal skin, only tumours within 5 cm from the anus are staged with the following system.

The most common staging system for anal cancer is the TNM system. For anal cancer there are 5 stages – stage 0 followed by stages 1 to 4. Often the stages 1 to 4 are written as the Roman numerals I, II, III and IV. Generally, the higher the stage number, the more the cancer has spread. Talk to your doctor if you have questions about staging.

When describing the stage, doctors may use the words local, regional or distant. Local means that the cancer is only in area around the anus (anal canal or perianal skin) and has not spread to other parts of the body. Regional means close to the anus or around it. Distant means in a part of the body farther from the anus.

Find out more about staging cancer.

Stage 0 (carcinoma in situ)

The tumour or abnormal cells are only in the top layer of anal tissue. Stage 0 includes high-grade anal intraepithelial neoplasia (AIN) and Bowen’s disease of the anus.

Stage 1

The tumour is 2 cm or smaller.

Stage 2A

The tumour is larger than 2 cm but not more than 5 cm.

Stage 2B

The tumour is larger than 5 cm.

Stage 3A

The tumour is 5 cm or smaller. The cancer has also spread to nearby lymph nodes, including lymph nodes in the groin, around the rectum or in the pelvis.

Stage 3B

The tumour has grown into nearby organs such as the bladder, urethra or vagina.

Stage 3C

The tumour is larger than 5 cm or has grown into nearby organs, such as the bladder, urethra or vagina. The cancer has also spread to nearby lymph nodes, including lymph nodes in the groin, around the rectum or in the pelvis.

Stage 4

The cancer has spread to other parts of the body (called distant metastasis), such as to the liver, lungs, or bone. This is also called metastatic anal cancer.

Recurrent anal cancer

Recurrent anal cancer means that the cancer has come back after it has been treated. If it comes back in the same place that the cancer first started, it’s called local recurrence. If it comes back in tissues or lymph nodes close to where it first started, it’s called regional recurrence. It can also recur in another part of the body. This is called distant metastasis or distant recurrence.

Expert review and references

Stades du cancer de l’anus

La stadification décrit ou classe un cancer en fonction de la quantité de cancer présente dans le corps et de son emplacement lors du diagnostic initial. C’est ce qu’on appelle souvent l’étendue du cancer. On se sert de l’information révélée par les examens pour savoir quelle est la taille de la tumeur, quelles parties de l’organe sont atteintes par le cancer, si le cancer s’est propagé à partir de son lieu d’origine et où il s’est propagé. Votre équipe de soins a recours au stade pour planifier votre traitement et prévoir l’issue (votre pronostic).

Le système de stadification du cancer de l’anus ne s’applique qu’aux carcinomes. Dans le cas des carcinomes de la peau péri-anale, seules les tumeurs qui se trouvent à moins de 5 cm de l’anus sont stadifiées selon le système décrit ci-dessous.

Le système de stadification le plus fréquemment employé pour le cancer de l’anus est la classification TNM. Dans le cas du cancer de l’anus, il y a 5 stades, soit le stade 0 suivi des stades 1 à 4. Pour les stades 1 à 4, on utilise souvent les chiffres romains I, II, III et IV. En général, plus le chiffre est élevé, plus le cancer s’est propagé. Parlez à votre médecin si vous vous posez des questions sur la stadification.

Quand les médecins décrivent le stade, ils peuvent employer les mots local, régional ou distant. Local signifie que le cancer se trouve seulement dans la région entourant l’anus (canal anal ou peau péri-anale) et qu’il ne s’est pas propagé à d’autres parties du corps. Régional signifie près ou autour de l’anus. Distant signifie dans une partie du corps plus éloignée de l’anus.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la stadification du cancer.

Stade 0 (carcinome in situ)

La tumeur ou les cellules anormales ne sont présentes que dans la couche supérieure du tissu anal. Le stade 0 comprend la néoplasie intra-épithéliale anale (AIN) de haut grade et la maladie de Bowen de l’anus.

Stade 1

La tumeur mesure 2 cm ou moins.

Stade 2A

La tumeur mesure plus de 2 cm mais pas plus de 5 cm.

Stade 2B

La tumeur mesure plus de 5 cm.

Stade 3A

La tumeur mesure 5 cm ou moins. Le cancer s’est aussi propagé aux ganglions lymphatiques voisins, dont les ganglions de l’aine, les ganglions entourant le rectum ou les ganglions à l’intérieur du bassin.

Stade 3B

La tumeur a envahi des organes voisins comme la vessie, l’urètre ou le vagin.

Stade 3C

La tumeur mesure plus de 5 cm ou a envahi des organes voisins comme la vessie, l’urètre ou le vagin. Le cancer s’est aussi propagé aux ganglions lymphatiques voisins, dont les ganglions de l’aine, les ganglions entourant le rectum ou les ganglions à l’intérieur du bassin.

Stade 4

Le cancer s’est propagé à d’autres parties du corps (métastases à distance), comme au foie, aux poumons ou aux os. On parle aussi de cancer de l’anus métastatique.

Récidive de cancer de l’anus

La récidive d'un cancer de l’anus signifie que le cancer réapparaît à la suite du traitement. S’il réapparaît à l’endroit où il a d’abord pris naissance, on parle de récidive locale. S’il réapparaît dans des tissus ou des ganglions lymphatiques situés près de l’endroit où il a d’abord pris naissance, on parle de récidive régionale. Il peut aussi réapparaître dans une autre partie du corps : on parle alors de récidive ou de métastase à distance.

Révision par les experts et références