Fertility problems

Cancer and its treatments can damage the organs or glands in your body's sexual reproductive system. This damage sometimes affects your fertility, which is your ability to get or stay pregnant or to get someone pregnant and have a child.

Problems with fertility are sometimes temporary – they may happen only during cancer treatment or for some time after treatment. But other times, fertility problems do not go away. They are or can become permanent. This is often called infertility or permanent infertility.

Find out about the female sex organs and reproductive system and the male sex organs and reproductive system.

Ask about fertility sooner rather than later

If fertility is important to you, try to talk about it with your healthcare team before you start cancer treatment. There are different types of fertility treatments that may help you. You may hear the terms assisted human reproduction or assisted reproductive technology. These terms refer to treatments and procedures used to achieve pregnancy. Your healthcare team may be able to plan your treatment in ways that increase your chances of staying fertile after treatment, for example, by choosing a treatment that starts later. And sometimes you can take steps in advance to plan for fertility problems, for example, by freezing your eggs or sperm.

Ask to be referred to a fertility specialist or clinic. A fertility specialist can give you information about:

  • how cancer treatment might affect your fertility
  • the best fertility options for you
  • the costs of the different options, including long-term storage costs, and what is covered where you live
  • your chances of having children using fertility treatments
  • your legal rights and obligations

If your treatment needs to start right away or you are too ill to have fertility procedures done before starting treatment, a fertility specialist can help you explore your options after treatment. (When that time comes, it will be important to talk to your doctor about how long to wait before trying to get pregnant.)

If your child is being treated for cancer and is not old enough to discuss their future fertility, you can discuss fertility with your child's healthcare team. When you child is older or begins puberty, you can share this information with them. 

Causes of fertility problems

How cancer treatment affects your fertility depends on the type of treatment you have. Some surgeries for cancer can cause problems with fertility or even permanent infertility. For treatments other than surgery, the dose of treatment and the length of treatment may affect your fertility. Other things that affect fertility are your age and overall health, the type of cancer, how fertile you were before treatment and how much time has passed since you finished treatment.

Surgery

The following surgeries may affect your fertility.

If you have one ovary removed, you should be able to get pregnant because you have another ovary to make eggs and the hormones that you need for pregnancy. But if both ovaries are removed, your body can't make any eggs, so you won't be able to get pregnant using your own eggs. You will need to use an egg or embryo from a donor and fertility treatments.

If your uterus (womb) is removed, you cannot get pregnant because there is nowhere for a baby to develop and grow.

If you have one testicle removed, you can still get someone pregnant because you have another testicle that makes sperm and testosterone, the hormone that helps with erections and sexual desire. It is very rare to have both testicles removed, but if they are you will not be able to get someone pregnant by having sex. If you have sperm collected before both testicles are removed, you could get someone pregnant using fertility treatments.

If your prostate is removed, you will not be able to get someone pregnant by having sex. Your body needs the prostate to make semen. Without the prostate, you can still ejaculate when you have sex but it will be dry and won't have semen. (This is called dry orgasm or dry ejaculation.) But your body will still make sperm, which can be collected and used to get someone pregnant using fertility treatments.

Surgery for bladder or prostate cancer can sometimes damage the nerves to the penis or the prostate. This damage can cause erectile dysfunction, which means not being able to get and keep an erection firm enough to have intercourse. It can also cause dry orgasm or dry ejaculation, which means that there is no semen when you ejaculate. If you have either of these side effects, you will not be able to get someone pregnant by having sex. But your body will still make sperm, which can be collected and used to get someone pregnant using fertility treatments.

Radiation therapy

Radiation therapy to the pelvis or any of the reproductive organs can cause problems with fertility or permanent infertility. In general, higher amounts of radiation mean a greater chance that infertility will be permanent. Depending on the type of cancer and where it is, your healthcare team can try to preserve your fertility by shielding or protecting your organs during radiation treatments.

Radiation to the testicles can lower the number of sperm and affect the sperm's ability to work normally, which can make it harder for you to get someone pregnant by having sex.

Radiation for prostate cancer may cause erectile dysfunction, which means not being able to get and keep an erection firm enough to have intercourse.

Radiation to the ovaries can cause permanent damage that leads to treatment-induced menopause and a loss of fertility.

Radiation to the uterus can cause damage that affects your ability to stay pregnant.

Radiation to the area of the brain that includes the pituitary gland can sometimes affect fertility. The pituitary gland makes hormones that stimulate the ovaries to make eggs and the testicles to make sperm.

Chemotherapy

Chemotherapy may cause fertility problems, depending on the type, dose and number of drugs used. Fertility may return when treatment is finished. The younger you are, the better your chances of becoming fertile again.

In general, DNA damaging drugs called alkylating drugs can affect fertility the most.

Many chemotherapy drugs can affect the testicles so they make less sperm. These drugs can also damage the sperm cells so they don't work normally.

Chemotherapy drugs can stop the ovaries from working properly and releasing eggs (ovulation). The damaged ovaries and loss of healthy eggs can lead to treatment-induced menopause. This may be temporary or permanent and depends on many things, especially your age.

Hormone therapy

Hormone therapy used to treat some types of cancer may cause temporary loss of fertility during treatment and for a while after.

Hormone therapy for prostate cancer can stop the testicles from making sperm, or they may only make small amounts of sperm.

Hormone therapy for breast or ovarian cancer stops the ovaries from releasing eggs.

Stem cell transplant

High doses of chemotherapy drugs and radiation therapy used during stem cell transplants often cause permanent infertility.

Other cancer treatments

Newer therapies that are becoming more common to treat cancer include targeted therapy and immunotherapy. Because these types of therapy are just beginning to be used, we don't know very much about their long-term effects on fertility. If you have been given one of these drugs as part of your cancer treatment, talk to your healthcare team about how these treatments may affect your fertility.

Ways to preserve fertility

Many people are able to get pregnant or get someone pregnant after cancer treatment. Your best chance for being fertile after treatment is by taking steps to preserve your fertility before treatment starts. Your fertility specialist can help you decide what the best options are for you, including the use of fertility treatments, depending on your age, the cancer type and your treatment plan.

For female reproductive systems

Egg freezing removes mature eggs from your ovary and freezes them. When you are ready to become pregnant, your eggs can be thawed, fertilized with sperm in the lab (called in vitro fertilization, or IVF) and implanted in your uterus. Egg freezing is also called egg cryopreservation or oocyte cryopreservation.

You will be given hormone injections to increase the number of mature eggs that develop in your ovaries. After about 10 to 14 days, mature eggs are collected using a needle through the vagina to the ovary.

Embryo freezing removes mature eggs from your ovary and fertilizes them with sperm in the lab (IVF) to form embryos. The embryos are frozen and stored and can be implanted in your uterus when you are ready to get pregnant. Embryo freezing is also called embryo banking or embryo cryopreservation.

A partner who has contributed eggs or sperm to embryos has legal rights to the embryos. This means that if you and a partner create and freeze embryos, you both have to agree about when the embryos are used or donated to others. If you create embryos using sperm from an anonymous donor, the embryos are your responsibility.

Fertility-sparing surgery may be an option for you if the cancer you have is at a very early stage. Early stage cervical cancer may be treated with a radical trachelectomy, which removes the cervix and tissue from around the cervix, instead of a hysterectomy, which removes the uterus including the cervix. Early stage ovarian cancer may be treated by removing only one ovary.

Gonadotropin-releasing hormone (GnRH) drugs stop the release of the luteinizing hormone (LH) and follicle-stimulating hormone (FSH), which are made by the pituitary gland, and make you go into menopause for a short time. This helps to protect the ovaries and fertility during chemotherapy. These drugs are given as an injection a few weeks before treatment.

In vitro maturation (IVM) is a new technique that removes immature eggs from the ovary before cancer treatment starts. The eggs are then put into a special solution to mature. Once the eggs have matured, they are fertilized and become embryos. The embryos can be frozen until after treatment is finished.

While some babies have been born from IVM, it is not yet a standard fertility option.

Ovarian tissue freezing removes part or all of the ovary, freezes it and stores it. It can be done before or after puberty. When you are ready to become pregnant the ovarian tissue is implanted in your body, either on the other ovary or on another part of the body. Once the eggs mature, they can be removed, fertilized in the lab (IVF) and then placed in the uterus.

Ovarian shielding protects your ovaries or uterus or both from radiation therapy using a shield to help reduce any damage.

Ovarian transposition is surgery to move the ovaries to another area of the body to help protect them from radiation treatment. After treatment the ovaries are moved back to their original place. Ovarian transposition is also called oophoropexy.

Progesterone therapy involves taking the hormone progesterone. It may be used instead of a hysterectomy to treat early stage uterine cancer.

For male reproductive systems

Sperm freezing collects and then freezes your sperm so that it can be used for pregnancy later. If you can't ejaculate in order to collect the sperm, there are other ways it can be collected:

  • Electroejaculation uses an electric current to make you ejaculate by inserting a probe into the rectum near the prostate.
  • Testicular sperm extraction (TESE) is a surgical procedure that removes tiny pieces of tissue and sperm cells from the testicle.
  • Percutaneous epididymal sperm aspiration (PESA) uses a fine needle to remove sperm cells from the epididymis (the coiled tube that sits on top of the testicle, which stores sperm before ejaculation).

There are different ways to use sperm that has been frozen to fertilize an egg:

  • Intrauterine insemination (IUI) uses a tube (catheter) in the vagina to insert sperm into the uterus around the time that the ovary releases an egg. IUI may also be called artificial insemination (AI).
  • IVF places several thousand sperm with an egg in a sterile dish in the lab.
  • IVF with intracytoplasmic sperm injection (IVF-ICSI) injects a sperm directly into each egg in the lab.

Testicular tissue freezing removes tissue from the testicles, freezes it and stores it. After cancer treatment has finished, the tissue can be transplanted back into one or both testicles.

Testicular transposition is surgery to move the testicles to another area of the body to help protect them from radiation treatment. After treatment the testicles are moved back to their original place.

Other ways to be a parent

You may wish to look into the following parenthood options.

Using donor sperm or eggs

Some people choose to use donor sperm or eggs using AI or IVF. The egg donor may be anonymous or known to you. Sperm donors are mostly anonymous and only frozen sperm are used. You may have to pay for using donated sperm or eggs.

Using donated embryos

Donated embryos usually come from a couple who have extra frozen embryos when they have finished their fertility treatments.

As long as you have a healthy uterus, you can have IVF with a donated embryo. If you use a donated embryo, you will have to get hormone treatments to prepare the lining of the uterus to receive the embryo. The embryo is thawed and transferred to your uterus. You will continue hormone treatments until the placenta is working on its own. This usually takes 8 to 10 weeks after the embryo is implanted.

There hasn't been a lot of research on the success rates of embryo donation, so it's important to find out the IVF success rates at the centre where the procedure is done. Live birth rates are also related to the age and health of the person having IVF. The chance of a live birth for a cancer survivor may be lower than for a surrogate because cancer survivors tend to be older and less healthy.

Surrogacy

A surrogate is someone who gets pregnant and gives birth to a child for someone else. Surrogacy is legal in Canada, but there are rules to be followed. It is important to talk to a lawyer who specializes in surrogacy law to make sure that any agreement with a surrogate is legal and protects both the surrogate and the future parents.

Surrogates can also be given donated embryos.

Adoption

Having cancer doesn't rule out the possibility of adoption. Some agencies may require that you wait for a certain amount of time after treatment before you can adopt a child.

Expert review and references

Troubles de la fertilité

Le cancer et ses traitements peuvent endommager les organes ou les glandes de votre appareil reproducteur. Ces dommages affectent parfois la fertilité, c’est-à-dire la capacité de tomber enceinte ou de mener une grossesse à terme, ou bien de mettre une personne enceinte, et d’avoir un enfant.

Les troubles de la fertilité sont parfois temporaires – ils peuvent se produire seulement au cours du traitement d’un cancer ou pendant un certain temps par la suite. Mais il arrive qu’ils ne disparaissent pas. Ils sont alors permanents ou peuvent le devenir. C’est ce qu’on appelle souvent infertilité ou infertilité permanente.

Renseignez-vous sur les organes sexuels et l’appareil reproducteur féminins ainsi que sur les organes sexuels et l’appareil reproducteur masculins.

Posez des questions sur la fertilité le plus tôt possible

Si préserver votre fertilité est important pour vous, essayez d’en discuter avec votre équipe de soins avant que le traitement du cancer débute. Différents types de traitements de l’infertilité sont susceptibles de vous aider. Les termes procréation assistée ou technologie de procréation assistée pourraient être employés. Ces termes se rapportent aux traitements et aux interventions effectués pour parvenir à une grossesse. Votre équipe de soins pourrait être en mesure de planifier votre traitement du cancer de sorte qu’il augmente vos chances de rester fertile par la suite, par exemple en optant pour un traitement qui commence plus tard. Et vous-même pourriez peut-être entreprendre des démarches en prévision de possibles troubles de la fertilité, comme congeler vos ovules ou votre sperme.

Demandez à être dirigé vers une clinique de fertilité ou un spécialiste de la fertilité. Ce dernier peut vous renseigner sur les aspects suivants :

  • les effets possibles du traitement du cancer sur votre fertilité;
  • les options de traitement de l’infertilité les plus appropriées dans votre cas;
  • le coût des différentes options, dont celui de l’entreposage à long terme, et ce qui est couvert là où vous habitez;
  • vos chances d’avoir des enfants en ayant recours aux traitements de l’infertilité;
  • vos obligations et vos droits légaux.

Si le traitement du cancer doit commencer immédiatement ou si vous êtes trop malade pour qu’on effectue des interventions en lien avec votre fertilité avant le traitement, un spécialiste de la fertilité pourra vous aider à évaluer vos options une fois le cancer traité. (À ce moment-là, il sera important de demander à votre médecin combien de temps vous devez attendre avant d’essayer de faire un enfant.)

Si votre enfant est traité pour un cancer et s’il n’est pas assez âgé pour discuter de sa fertilité ultérieure, vous pouvez le faire avec son équipe de soins. Quand votre enfant sera plus âgé ou quand il commencera sa puberté, vous pourrez partager cette information avec elle ou lui. 

Causes des troubles de la fertilité

Les effets du traitement sur la fertilité dépendent du type de traitement reçu. Certaines chirurgies du cancer peuvent causer des troubles de la fertilité ou même une infertilité permanente. En ce qui a trait aux autres traitements que la chirurgie, la dose administrée et la durée peuvent affecter la fertilité. D’autres facteurs risquent d’avoir des conséquences sur la fertilité, soit l’âge et l’état de santé global, le type de cancer, la fertilité avant le traitement et le temps écoulé depuis la fin du traitement.

Chirurgie

Les chirurgies suivantes peuvent affecter votre fertilité.

Si on vous enlève un ovaire, vous devriez pouvoir tomber enceinte parce que vous avez un autre ovaire qui produit les ovules et les hormones nécessaires à la grossesse. Mais si on enlève vos deux ovaires, votre corps ne sera pas en mesure de fabriquer d’ovules, alors vous ne pourrez pas tomber enceinte à partir de vos propres ovules. Vous devrez avoir recours à l’ovule ou à l’embryon d’une donneuse ainsi qu’à des traitements de l’infertilité.

Si on enlève votre utérus (matrice), vous ne pourrez pas tomber enceinte parce que le bébé n’aura aucun endroit où se développer et grandir.

Si on vous enlève un testicule, vous êtes encore en mesure de mettre une personne enceinte parce que vous avez un autre testicule qui produit des spermatozoïdes et de la testostérone, une hormone qui contribue aux érections et au désir sexuel. Il est très rare qu’on enlève les deux testicules, mais si c’est le cas, vous ne pourrez pas mettre une personne enceinte lors de relations sexuelles. Si on vous prélève du sperme avant d’enlever vos deux testicules, vous pourriez être en mesure de rendre une personne enceinte en ayant recours à des traitements de l’infertilité.

Si on enlève votre prostate, vous ne pourrez pas mettre une personne enceinte lors de relations sexuelles. Votre corps a besoin de la prostate pour fabriquer le sperme. Sans prostate, vous pouvez tout de même éjaculer lors de relations sexuelles, mais il n’y aura pas de sperme. (On parle alors d’éjaculation sèche ou d’orgasme sec.) Votre corps fabriquera quand même des spermatozoïdes, qu’on peut prélever et utiliser pour mettre une personne enceinte en ayant recours à des traitements de l’infertilité.

La chirurgie du cancer de la vessie ou de la prostate peut parfois endommager les nerfs qui se rendent au pénis ou à la prostate. Ces dommages risquent de causer un dysfonctionnement érectile, c’est-à-dire l’incapacité d’avoir et de maintenir une érection assez ferme pour permettre les relations sexuelles. Ils peuvent aussi provoquer l’orgasme sec ou l’éjaculation sèche, ce qui signifie l’absence de sperme lors de l’éjaculation. Si vous éprouvez l’un ou l’autre de ces effets secondaires, vous ne serez pas en mesure de mettre une personne enceinte lors de relations sexuelles. Votre corps fabriquera quand même des spermatozoïdes, qu’on peut prélever et utiliser pour mettre une personne enceinte en ayant recours à des traitements de l’infertilité.

Radiothérapie

La radiothérapie dirigée vers le bassin ou n’importe lequel des organes reproducteurs peut causer des troubles de la fertilité ou l’infertilité permanente. En général, plus la dose de radiothérapie administrée est élevée, plus le risque que l’infertilité soit permanente est grand. Selon le type de cancer et son emplacement, votre équipe de soins peut essayer de préserver votre fertilité en mettant un écran devant vos organes lors des séances de radiothérapie ou en les protégeant par un autre moyen.

La radiothérapie aux testicules peut réduire le nombre de spermatozoïdes et affecter leur capacité à fonctionner normalement, faisant en sorte qu’il vous sera peut-être plus difficile de mettre une personne enceinte lors de relations sexuelles.

La radiothérapie pour le cancer de la prostate peut causer un dysfonctionnement érectile, c’est-à-dire l’incapacité d’avoir et de maintenir une érection assez ferme pour permettre les relations sexuelles.

La radiothérapie aux ovaires peut causer des dommages permanents qui engendrent une ménopause provoquée par le traitement et une perte de la fertilité.

La radiothérapie à l’utérus peut causer des dommages de sorte que votre capacité à mener une grossesse à terme sera affectée.

La radiothérapie dirigée vers la région du cerveau qui comprend l’hypophyse affecte parfois la fertilité. L’hypophyse, une glande, sécrète les hormones qui stimulent la production d’ovules par les ovaires et de spermatozoïdes par les testicules.

Chimiothérapie

La chimiothérapie peut causer des troubles de la fertilité selon le type et le nombre de médicaments employés ainsi que la dose administrée. Vous pourriez redevenir fertile une fois le traitement fini. Plus vous êtes jeune, meilleures sont vos chances d’être fertile de nouveau.

En général, les agents alkylants, des médicaments qui s’attaquent à l’ADN, sont ceux qui peuvent nuire le plus à la fertilité.

De nombreux agents chimiothérapeutiques peuvent affecter les testicules de sorte qu’ils fabriquent moins de spermatozoïdes. Ces médicaments risquent également d’endommager les spermatozoïdes, les empêchant ainsi de fonctionner normalement.

Les agents chimiothérapeutiques peuvent nuire au bon fonctionnement des ovaires et interrompre la libération d’ovules (ovulation). Des ovaires endommagés et la perte d’ovules sains risquent d’engendrer une ménopause provoquée par le traitement, qui peut être temporaire ou permanente et qui dépend de nombreux facteurs, en particulier votre âge.

Hormonothérapie

L’hormonothérapie administrée pour traiter certains types de cancer peut causer une perte temporaire de la fertilité durant le traitement et un certain temps par la suite.

L’hormonothérapie du cancer de la prostate peut arrêter ou réduire la production de spermatozoïdes par les testicules.

L’hormonothérapie du cancer du sein ou de l’ovaire empêche les ovaires de libérer des ovules.

Greffe de cellules souches

Les fortes doses de chimiothérapie et de radiothérapie administrées dans le cadre de la greffe de cellules souches causent souvent une infertilité permanente.

Autres traitements du cancer

Le traitement ciblé et l’immunothérapie sont des traitements récents auxquels on a de plus en plus recours pour traiter le cancer. Puisqu’ils sont employés depuis peu, leurs effets à long terme sur la fertilité demeurent méconnus. Si vous avez reçu l’un de ces types de traitement du cancer, discutez avec votre équipe de soins de leurs effets possibles sur votre fertilité.

Méthodes de préservation de la fertilité

Beaucoup de personnes sont en mesure de concevoir des enfants (grossesse) après un traitement du cancer. Vous aurez le plus de chances d’être fertile après le traitement en entreprenant des démarches visant à préserver votre fertilité avant qu’il débute. Votre spécialiste de la fertilité peut vous aider à décider quelles sont les meilleures options pour vous, dont le recours aux traitements de l’infertilité, selon votre âge, le type de cancer dont vous êtes atteint et votre plan de traitement.

Pour l’appareil reproducteur féminin

La congélation d’ovules consiste à prélever des ovules matures des ovaires et à les congeler. Quand la personne est prête à tomber enceinte, on décongèle ses ovules, on les féconde ensuite avec des spermatozoïdes en laboratoire – ce qu’on appelle fécondation in vitro, ou FIV – puis on les implante dans son utérus. La congélation d’ovules est aussi appelée cryoconservation d’ovules ou d’ovocytes.

On vous fera des injections d’hormones pour accroître le nombre d’ovules qui deviendront matures dans vos ovaires. Après environ 10 à 14 jours, on prélèvera les ovules matures dans vos ovaires à l’aide d’une aiguille insérée dans le vagin.

La congélation d’embryons débute par le prélèvement d’ovules matures dans les ovaires et leur fécondation avec des spermatozoïdes en laboratoire (FIV) afin de concevoir des embryons. Ensuite, on congèle et on entrepose les embryons dans le but de les implanter dans l’utérus de la personne prête à tomber enceinte. La congélation d’embryons est aussi appelée entreposage ou cryoconservation d’embryons.

Si les ovules ou les spermatozoïdes proviennent d’un ou d’une partenaire, du point de vue juridique, celui-ci ou celle-ci a des droits sur les embryons. Ainsi, si votre partenaire et vous concevez et congelez des embryons, vous devez tous les deux vous entendre sur le moment où ceux-ci seront utilisés ou donnés à d’autres personnes. Si vous concevez des embryons à l’aide des spermatozoïdes d’un donneur anonyme, vous êtes alors responsable des embryons.

Une chirurgie préservant la fertilité peut être une option si le cancer dont vous êtes atteint est à un stade très précoce. Il est possible de traiter un cancer précoce du col de l’utérus par trachélectomie élargie, c’est-à-dire qu’on enlève le col de l’utérus ainsi que le tissu entourant le col, au lieu de pratiquer une hystérectomie, soit l’ablation de l’utérus y compris le col. On peut traiter un cancer précoce de l’ovaire en enlevant seulement l’ovaire atteint.

Des médicaments agissent sur l’hormone de libération de la gonadotrophine (GnRH) en interrompant la libération de l’hormone lutéinisante (LH) et de l’hormone folliculostimulante (FSH), qui sont fabriquées par l’hypophyse, et en vous faisant entrer en ménopause pendant une courte période. Cela contribue à protéger les ovaires et à préserver la fertilité au cours d’une chimiothérapie. On administre ces médicaments par injection quelques semaines avant le traitement.

La maturation in vitro (MIV) est une nouvelle technique consistant à prélever des ovules immatures dans les ovaires avant le début du traitement du cancer, puis à les placer dans une solution particulière le temps qu’ils se développent. Une fois matures, les ovules sont fécondés et deviennent des embryons. Ceux-ci peuvent être congelés jusqu’à la fin du traitement.

Bien que le recours à la MIV ait mené à certaines naissances, ce n’est pas encore une option de traitement standard de l’infertilité.

La congélation de tissu ovarien consiste à enlever l’ovaire en partie ou en totalité, à le congeler puis à l’entreposer. On peut le faire avant ou après la puberté. Quand une personne est prête à tomber enceinte, on implante le tissu ovarien dans son corps, soit sur l’autre ovaire, soit sur une autre partie du corps. Une fois que les ovules sont matures, on peut les prélever, ensuite les féconder en laboratoire (FIV) puis les mettre dans l’utérus.

La protection des ovaires par écran peut permettre d’atténuer les dommages que risquent de subir les ovaires ou l’utérus, ou bien les deux, lors d’une radiothérapie.

La transposition ovarienne est une chirurgie consistant à déplacer les ovaires dans une autre région du corps pour essayer de les protéger de la radiothérapie. Après le traitement, les ovaires sont remis à leur emplacement d’origine. La transposition ovarienne est aussi appelée ovariopexie.

Un traitement à la progestérone consiste à prendre cette hormone. On peut y avoir recours au lieu de l’hystérectomie pour traiter un cancer précoce de l’utérus.

Pour l’appareil reproducteur masculin

La congélation de sperme consiste à prélever puis à congeler votre sperme dans le but de l’utiliser plus tard pour concevoir un enfant. Si vous ne pouvez pas éjaculer, on peut prélever votre sperme par d’autres moyens :

  • L’électroéjaculation a recours à un courant électrique pour vous faire éjaculer en insérant une sonde dans votre rectum, près de la prostate.
  • L’extraction testiculaire de spermatozoïdes (TESE) est une intervention chirurgicale qui permet de retirer de minuscules fragments de tissu ainsi que des spermatozoïdes d’un testicule.
  • La ponction percutanée de spermatozoïdes épididymaires (PESA) a recours à une aiguille fine pour prélever des spermatozoïdes dans l’épididyme (tube en spirale qui repose sur le dessus du testicule et qui emmagasine le sperme avant l’éjaculation).

Le sperme congelé dans le but de féconder un ovule peut être utilisé de différentes façons :

  • L’insémination intra-utérine (IIU) consiste à mettre des spermatozoïdes dans l’utérus par le biais d’un tube (sonde) inséré dans le vagin au moment où un ovaire a libéré un ovule. L’IIU peut aussi être appelée insémination artificielle (IA).
  • La fécondation in vitro (FIV) consiste à mettre plusieurs milliers de spermatozoïdes ainsi qu’un ovule dans un contenant stérile en laboratoire.
  • La FIV avec injection intracytoplasmique d’un spermatozoïde (ICIS), soit la FIV-ICIS, consiste à injecter un spermatozoïde directement dans un ovule, en laboratoire.

La congélation de tissu testiculaire consiste à prélever du tissu des testicules, puis à le congeler et à l’entreposer. Une fois que le traitement du cancer est fini, on peut remettre le tissu dans l’un des testicules ou dans les deux.

La transposition testiculaire est une chirurgie pratiquée pour déplacer les testicules dans une autre région du corps afin d’essayer de les protéger de la radiothérapie. Après le traitement, on remet les testicules dans leur emplacement d’origine.

Autres façons de devenir parent

Vous pourriez envisager les options suivantes pour devenir parent.

Recours au don de sperme ou d’ovules

Certaines personnes choisissent d’avoir recours à l'IA ou à la FIV employant le sperme ou les ovules d’un donneur ou d’une donneuse. La donneuse d’ovules peut être anonyme ou connue. Le donneur de sperme est la plupart du temps anonyme et seul du sperme congelé est utilisé. Vous pourriez devoir payer pour avoir recours au don de sperme ou d’ovules.

Recours au don d’embryons

Le don d’embryons provient habituellement d’un couple qui se trouve avec un surplus d’embryons congelés une fois qu'il a fini ses traitements de l'infertilité.

Tant que votre utérus est sain, on peut vous faire une FIV à partir d'un don d'embryon. Dans ce cas-là, vous devrez recevoir un traitement hormonal pour préparer le revêtement de votre utérus à l’implantation d’un embryon. L’embryon est décongelé avant d’être placé dans l’utérus. On continuera de vous administrer le traitement hormonal jusqu’à ce que le placenta soit capable de fonctionner par lui-même, ce qui prend habituellement 8 à 10 semaines après l’implantation de l’embryon.

Peu de recherches ont porté sur le taux de succès du don d’embryons; il est donc important de s’informer du taux de succès de la FIV au centre où l’intervention aura lieu. Le taux de naissances vivantes est aussi lié à l’âge et à l’état de santé des personnes qui ont recours à la FIV. La probabilité d’une naissance vivante chez les survivantes du cancer peut être inférieure à celle des mères porteuses puisque les survivantes du cancer ont tendance à être plus âgées et en moins bonne santé.

Maternité de substitution

Une mère porteuse est une femme qui tombe enceinte et qui donne naissance à un enfant pour quelqu’un d’autre. Au Canada, la maternité de substitution est légale, bien que certaines règles doivent être respectées. Il est important de consulter un avocat spécialisé en droit de la maternité de substitution pour s’assurer que toute entente faite avec une mère porteuse est légale et que les droits de la mère porteuse et des futurs parents sont respectés.

Une mère porteuse peut aussi recevoir un don d’embryons.

Adoption

Avoir le cancer n'écarte pas la possibilité d'adopter un enfant. Certaines agences peuvent exiger que vous attendiez un certain temps après le traitement avant d’adopter un enfant.

Révision par les experts et références