Cancerous tumours of the thyroid

Last medical review:

The most common types are papillary thyroid cancer (papillary carcinoma) and follicular thyroid cancer (follicular carcinoma). Papillary and follicular thyroid cancer are also known as differentiated thyroid cancer. A cancerous tumour of the thyroid can spread, or metastasize, to other parts of the body. Cancerous tumours are also called malignant tumours. Different types of cancerous tumours are treated in different ways.

Papillary thyroid cancer

More than 80% of all cancerous tumours that develop in the thyroid are papillary thyroid cancer. It may also be called papillary carcinoma. It is most often diagnosed in young women.

Papillary thyroid cancer starts in follicular cells in the thyroid. When seen under a microscope, the cancer cells often have small, finger-like projections (called papillae). It is common for papillary thyroid cancer to start in more than one place in the thyroid at the same time (called multifocal cancer). These tumours usually grow slowly and respond well to treatment.

There are several variants, or forms, of papillary thyroid cancer. When seen under a microscope, the cancer cells of each variant have unique features that make them look different from typical papillary thyroid cancer. The follicular variant happens most often. It has features of both papillary and follicular thyroid cancers, but it is treated the same way as typical papillary thyroid cancer. Less common forms are the tall cell variant, columnar cell variant, solid variant and diffuse sclerosing variant. These variants tend to be more aggressive, which means that they grow and spread faster than typical papillary thyroid cancer or the follicular variant.

Follicular thyroid cancer

Follicular thyroid cancer is the second most common type of thyroid cancer. But less than 10% of all thyroid cancers are follicular thyroid cancer. It is also called follicular carcinoma.

Like papillary, follicular thyroid cancer starts in follicular cells. It usually grows slowly and has a very good prognosis, or outcome, in most cases.

Hurthle cell thyroid cancer is a variant of follicular thyroid cancer. Some studies have shown that it can have a poorer prognosis than typical follicular thyroid cancer.

Anaplastic thyroid cancer

Anaplastic thyroid cancer is also called anaplastic carcinoma. It makes up less than 2% of all thyroid cancers. Anaplastic thyroid cancer is aggressive, which means that it grows and spreads quickly. It is often diagnosed when the cancer has already spread to other tissues in the neck or other parts of the body. Anaplastic thyroid cancer usually develops in older people.

Anaplastic thyroid cancer starts in follicular cells in the thyroid. It may happen along with other types of thyroid cancer, such as papillary or follicular thyroid cancer. Because of this, doctors think it sometimes develops from a papillary or follicular thyroid cancer.

Medullary thyroid cancer

Medullary thyroid cancer is also called medullary carcinoma. It makes up about 5% of all thyroid cancers. It most often develops in people in their 50s and 60s.

Medullary thyroid cancer starts in C cells (also called parafollicular cells) in the thyroid.

Most medullary thyroid cancers are sporadic, which means they happen by chance. But sometimes medullary thyroid cancer is hereditary, or inherited. Hereditary medullary thyroid cancer is caused by a mutation of the RET gene, and it often happens as part of a genetic condition called multiple endocrine neoplasia type 2 (MEN2). Two forms of MEN2 are associated with hereditary medullary thyroid cancer. MEN2A can cause medullary thyroid cancer along with tumours of the adrenal glands (called pheochromocytomas) and parathyroid glands. MEN2B can cause medullary thyroid cancer along with other tumours, including pheochromocytomas and neuromas.

When different people in the same family develop medullary thyroid cancer that is not associated with MEN2, it is called familial medullary thyroid cancer.

Other types of cancer in the thyroid

The following thyroid cancers are rare:

Expert review and references

  • Shereen Ezzat, MD, FRCPC, FACP
  • American Society of Clinical Oncology. Multiple Endocrine Neoplasia Type 2. 2014: http://www.cancer.net/cancer-types/multiple-endocrine-neoplasia-type-2.
  • Davidson BJ, Newkirk KA, Burman KD . Cancer of the thyroid and the parathyroid: general principles and management. Harrison LB, Sessions RB, Kies MS (eds.). Head and Neck Cancer: A Multidisciplinary Approach. 4th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2014: 28A:779-824.
  • Haugen BR, Alexander DK, Bible KC, et al . 2015 American Thyroid Association management guidelines for adult patients with thyroid nodules and differentiated thyroid cancer. Thyroid. 2015: http://online.liebertpub.com/doi/abs/10.1089/thy.2015.0020.
  • Ibrahimpasic T, Ghossein R, Carlson DL, et al . Outcomes in patients with poorly differentiated thyroid carcinoma. Journal of Clinical Endocrinology and Metabolism. 2014: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/24512493.
  • Nose V . Familial thyroid cancer: a review. Modern Pathology. 2011: http://www.nature.com/modpathol/journal/v24/n2s/pdf/modpathol2010147a.pdf.
  • American Cancer Society. Thyroid Cancer Early Detection, Diagnosis, and Staging . 2019: www.cancer.org.
  • Kotwal A, Davidge-Pitts CJ, Thompson GB. Thyroid Tumors. DeVita VT Jr., Lawrence TS, Rosenberg SA, eds. DeVita, Hellman, and Rosenberg's Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology. 11th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Wolters Kluwer; 2019: 81:1326–1337.
  • Bible KC, Kebebebew E, Brierley J, Brito JP, Cabanillas ME et al. 2021 American Thyroid Association guidelines for management of patients with anaplastic thryoid cancer. Thyroid. 2021: 31(3): 337–386. https://www.liebertpub.com/doi/epdf/10.1089/thy.2020.0944.
  • American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO). Cancer.net: Thyroid Cancer. 2021: https://www.cancer.net/.

Tumeurs cancéreuses de la thyroïde

Dernière révision médicale :

Les types les plus courants sont le cancer papillaire (carcinome papillaire) et le cancer folliculaire (carcinome folliculaire) de la thyroïde. Le cancer papillaire et le cancer folliculaire de la thyroïde portent également le nom de cancer différencié de la thyroïde. Une tumeur cancéreuse de la thyroïde peut se propager (métastases) à d’autres parties du corps. La tumeur cancéreuse est aussi appelée tumeur maligne. Les différents types de tumeurs cancéreuses sont traités de différentes façons.

Cancer papillaire de la thyroïde

Plus de 80 % de toutes les tumeurs cancéreuses qui se développent dans la thyroïde sont des cancers papillaires. On peut aussi les appeler carcinomes papillaires. On les diagnostique le plus souvent chez les jeunes femmes.

Le cancer papillaire prend naissance dans les cellules folliculaires de la thyroïde. Au microscope, ces cellules cancéreuses présentent souvent de petites saillies en doigts de gant appelées papilles. Le cancer papillaire apparaît fréquemment dans plus d’un endroit à la fois au sein de la thyroïde (cancer multifocal). En général, ces tumeurs se développent lentement et répondent bien au traitement.

Il existe plusieurs formes, ou variantes, du cancer papillaire de la thyroïde. Lorsqu’on les observe au microscope, les cellules cancéreuses de chacune de ces variantes présentent des caractéristiques uniques permettant de les distinguer de la forme classique du cancer papillaire. La variante folliculaire est la plus fréquente. Elle possède des caractéristiques propres au cancer papillaire de même qu’au cancer folliculaire, mais on la traite de la même manière que le cancer papillaire classique. Parmi les autres variantes, plus rares, on compte la variante à cellules hautes, la variante à cellules cylindriques, la variante solide et la variante sclérosante diffuse. Ces variantes ont tendance à être plus agressives, ce qui signifie qu’elles se développent et se propagent plus rapidement que le cancer papillaire classique ou la variante folliculaire.

Cancer folliculaire de la thyroïde

Le cancer folliculaire est le deuxième type de cancer de la thyroïde le plus fréquent. Mais moins de 10 % de tous les cancers de la thyroïde sont des cancers folliculaires. On l'appelle aussi carcinome folliculaire.

Comme le cancer papillaire, le cancer folliculaire prend naissance dans les cellules folliculaires de la thyroïde. En général, il se développe lentement et, dans la plupart des cas, il engendre un très bon pronostic (issue).

Le cancer de la thyroïde à cellules de Hürthle est une variante du cancer folliculaire. Certaines études ont montré qu’il pouvait engendrer un pronostic moins favorable que le cancer folliculaire classique.

Cancer anaplasique de la thyroïde

Le cancer anaplasique de la thyroïde est aussi appelé carcinome anaplasique. Il représente moins de 2 % de tous les cancers de la thyroïde. Le cancer anaplasique est agressif, ce qui signifie qu'il se développe et se propage rapidement. Au moment du diagnostic, ce cancer s’est souvent déjà propagé à d’autres tissus du cou ou à d’autres parties du corps. Le cancer anaplasique affecte habituellement les personnes âgées.

Le cancer anaplasique prend naissance dans les cellules folliculaires de la thyroïde. Il se manifeste parfois en présence d’autres types de cancer de la thyroïde, comme le cancer papillaire ou le cancer folliculaire. C'est pourquoi les médecins pensent qu’il provient parfois d’un cancer papillaire ou folliculaire de la thyroïde.

Cancer médullaire de la thyroïde

Le cancer médullaire de la thyroïde est aussi appelé carcinome médullaire. Il représente environ 5 % de tous les cancers de la thyroïde. Il affecte le plus souvent les personnes dans la cinquantaine ou la soixantaine.

Le cancer médullaire prend naissance dans les cellules C (aussi appelées cellules parafolliculaires) de la thyroïde.

La plupart des cancers médullaires sont sporadiques, ce qui signifie qu’ils apparaissent au hasard. Mais dans certains cas, le cancer médullaire est héréditaire. Le cancer médullaire héréditaire est causé par une mutation du gène RET et il se manifeste souvent en présence d’un trouble génétique appelé néoplasie endocrinienne multiple de type 2 (NEM 2). Deux formes de la NEM 2 sont associées au cancer médullaire héréditaire. La NEM 2A peut causer le cancer médullaire de la thyroïde en plus de tumeurs dans les glandes surrénales (phéochromocytomes) et dans les glandes parathyroïdes. La NEM 2B peut causer le cancer médullaire de la thyroïde ainsi que d’autres tumeurs telles que les phéochromocytomes et les névromes.

Lorsque différents membres d’une même famille sont atteints d’un cancer médullaire qui n’est pas lié à la NEM 2, on parle alors d’une forme familiale du cancer médullaire de la thyroïde.

Autres types de cancer de la thyroïde

Les cancers de la thyroïde qui suivent sont rares :

Révision par les experts et références

  • Shereen Ezzat, MD, FRCPC, FACP
  • American Society of Clinical Oncology. Multiple Endocrine Neoplasia Type 2. 2014: http://www.cancer.net/cancer-types/multiple-endocrine-neoplasia-type-2.
  • Davidson BJ, Newkirk KA, Burman KD . Cancer of the thyroid and the parathyroid: general principles and management. Harrison LB, Sessions RB, Kies MS (eds.). Head and Neck Cancer: A Multidisciplinary Approach. 4th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2014: 28A:779-824.
  • Haugen BR, Alexander DK, Bible KC, et al . 2015 American Thyroid Association management guidelines for adult patients with thyroid nodules and differentiated thyroid cancer. Thyroid. 2015: http://online.liebertpub.com/doi/abs/10.1089/thy.2015.0020.
  • Ibrahimpasic T, Ghossein R, Carlson DL, et al . Outcomes in patients with poorly differentiated thyroid carcinoma. Journal of Clinical Endocrinology and Metabolism. 2014: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/24512493.
  • Nose V . Familial thyroid cancer: a review. Modern Pathology. 2011: http://www.nature.com/modpathol/journal/v24/n2s/pdf/modpathol2010147a.pdf.
  • American Cancer Society. Thyroid Cancer Early Detection, Diagnosis, and Staging . 2019: www.cancer.org.
  • Kotwal A, Davidge-Pitts CJ, Thompson GB. Thyroid Tumors. DeVita VT Jr., Lawrence TS, Rosenberg SA, eds. DeVita, Hellman, and Rosenberg's Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology. 11th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Wolters Kluwer; 2019: 81:1326–1337.
  • Bible KC, Kebebebew E, Brierley J, Brito JP, Cabanillas ME et al. 2021 American Thyroid Association guidelines for management of patients with anaplastic thryoid cancer. Thyroid. 2021: 31(3): 337–386. https://www.liebertpub.com/doi/epdf/10.1089/thy.2020.0944.
  • American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO). Cancer.net: Thyroid Cancer. 2021: https://www.cancer.net/.