Treatments for anaplastic thyroid cancer

Last medical review:

You may be offered the following treatments for anaplastic thyroid cancer (anaplastic carcinoma). Your healthcare team will suggest treatments based on your needs and work with you to develop a treatment plan.

Anaplastic thyroid cancer is often advanced when it is diagnosed. This means that it might not be possible to completely remove or destroy all of the cancer.

Radiation therapy

Radiation therapy uses high-energy rays or particles to destroy cancer cells. It is usually offered for anaplastic thyroid cancer. External radiation therapy is given to the thyroid and neck to help slow down and control the growth of the cancer. It is sometimes given during the same time period as chemotherapy (called chemoradiation).

A standard radiation schedule gives radiation once a day. Smaller doses of radiation therapy may be given 2 times a day. This is called hyperfractionation. A standard radiation schedule may be used if there are too many side effects with hyperfractionation.

Find out more about radiation therapy for thyroid cancer.

Chemotherapy

Chemotherapy uses anticancer drugs to destroy cancer cells. It may be given alone or with radiation therapy as a part of chemoradiation. The chemotherapy combination used most often is doxorubicin (Adriamycin) and cisplatin. Sometimes doxorubicin is used alone. Paclitaxel or docetaxel may also be used for some cases.

Find out more about chemotherapy for thyroid cancer.

Targeted therapy

The targeted therapy drugs used for anaplastic thyroid cancer are sorafenib (Nexavar) and lenvatinib (Lenvima). They are given as a pill.

Targeted therapy uses drugs to target specific molecules (such as proteins) on cancer cells or inside them to stop the growth and spread of cancer. You may be offered targeted therapy to treat anaplastic thyroid cancer that has certain genetic changes. Targeted therapy drugs that may be used include:

  • dabrafenib (Tafinlar) and trametinib (Mekinist) for BRAF gene changes
  • selpercatinib (Retevmo) for RET gene changes
  • larotrectinib (Vitrakvi) or entrectinib (Rozlytrek) for NTRK gene changes

Find out more about targeted therapy for thyroid cancer.

Surgery

Surgery is rarely offered for anaplastic thyroid cancer. This cancer is often advanced when it is diagnosed, and it usually can't be removed with surgery (it is unresectable). But surgery may be done to relieve symptoms, or it may be offered before or after other treatments in certain cases. The type of surgery done depends on the stage of the cancer, the size of the tumour and what structures and organs the cancer has grown into or spread to.

Find out more about surgery for thyroid cancer.

If you can’t have or don’t want cancer treatment

You may want to consider a type of care to make you feel better rather than treat the cancer itself. This may be because the cancer treatments don't work anymore, they're not likely to improve your condition or they may cause side effects that are hard to cope with. There may also be other reasons why you can't have or don't want cancer treatment.

Talk to your healthcare team. They can help you choose care and treatment for advanced cancer.

Clinical trials

Talk to your doctor about clinical trials open to people with thyroid cancer in Canada. Clinical trials look at new ways to prevent, find and treat cancer. Find out more about clinical trials.

Expert review and references

  • Shereen Ezzat, MD, FRCPC, FACP
  • Bible KC, Kebebebew E, Brierley J, Brito JP, Cabanillas ME et al . 2021 American Thyroid Association guidelines for management of patients with anaplastic thryoid cancer . Thyroid . 2021 : 31(3): 337–386 .
  • American Cancer Society. Treating Thyroid Cancer . 2021: https://www.cancer.org/.
  • HealthLinkBC. Thyroid Cancer. 2019: https://www.healthlinkbc.ca/.
  • Alberta Health Services. Thyroid Cancer Treatment in Alberta. Edmonton: 2019: https://www.albertahealthservices.ca/.
  • Sharma PK. Medscape Reference: Thyroid Cancer. WebMD LLC; 2021: https://www.medscape.com/.
  • Alberta Health Services. MyHealth Alberta.ca: Thyroid Cancer. Government of Alberta; https://myhealth.alberta.ca/.
  • PDQ® Adult Treatment Editorial Board. Thyroid Cancer Treatment (PDQ®) – Health Professional Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2021: https://www.cancer.gov/.
  • American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO). Cancer.net: Thyroid Cancer. 2021: https://www.cancer.net/.
  • National Comprehensive Cancer Network. NCCN Guidelines for Patients: Thyroid Cancer. 2020.
  • PDQ® Adult Treatment Editorial Board. Thyroid Cancer Treatment (PDQ®) – Patient Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2021: https://www.cancer.gov/.
  • National Comprehensive Cancer Network . NCCN Clinical Practice Guidelines in Oncology: Thyroid Carcinoma (Version 3.2021) . 2021 .
  • Kotwal A, Davidge-Pitts CJ, Thompson GB. Thyroid Tumors. DeVita VT Jr., Lawrence TS, Rosenberg SA, eds. DeVita, Hellman, and Rosenberg's Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology. 11th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Wolters Kluwer; 2019: 81:1326–1337.

Traitements du cancer anaplasique de la thyroïde

Dernière révision médicale :

On peut vous offrir les traitements suivants pour le cancer anaplasique de la thyroïde (carcinome anaplasique). Votre équipe de soins vous proposera des traitements en fonction de vos besoins et discutera avec vous afin d’élaborer un plan de traitement.

Le cancer anaplasique de la thyroïde est souvent avancé quand on le diagnostique. Cela signifie qu'il est possible qu'on ne puisse pas l'enlever ni le détruire complètement.

Radiothérapie

En radiothérapie, on a recours à des rayons ou à des particules de haute énergie pour détruire les cellules cancéreuses. On la propose parfois pour le cancer anaplasique de la thyroïde. La radiothérapie externe est dirigée vers la thyroïde et le cou pour aider à ralentir et à contrôler la croissance du cancer. Elle est parfois administrée en même temps qu’une chimiothérapie (on parle alors de chimioradiothérapie).

Selon le calendrier standard, la radiothérapie est administrée une fois par jour. On pourrait le faire 2 fois par jour, mais avec de plus faibles doses. C'est ce qu'on appelle l'hyperfractionnement. Si l’hyperfractionnement entraîne trop d’effets secondaires, on peut avoir recours au calendrier de radiothérapie standard.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la radiothérapie pour le cancer de la thyroïde.

Chimiothérapie

En chimiothérapie, on a recours à des médicaments anticancéreux pour détruire les cellules cancéreuses. On peut l'administrer seule ou l'associer à une radiothérapie dans le cadre d’une chimioradiothérapie. L’association chimiothérapeutique la plus souvent employée est à base de doxorubicine (Adriamycin) et de cisplatine. La doxorubicine est parfois utilisée seule. On peut aussi avoir recours au paclitaxel ou au docétaxel dans certains cas.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la chimiothérapie du cancer de la thyroïde.

Traitement ciblé

Les médicaments ciblés employés pour traiter le cancer anaplasique de la thyroïde sont le sorafenib (Nexavar) et le lenvatinib (Lenvima). On les administre sous forme de pilule.

Le traitement ciblé a recours à des médicaments pour cibler des molécules spécifiques, comme des protéines, présentes à la surface ou à l’intérieur des cellules cancéreuses dans le but d’interrompre la croissance et la propagation du cancer. On peut vous proposer un traitement ciblé pour traiter le cancer anaplasique de la thyroïde qui présente certains changements génétiques. Les médicaments ciblés qui suivent peuvent être employés :

  • dabrafénib (Tafinlar) et tramétinib (Mekinist) en présence de changements subis par le gène BRAF;
  • selpercatinib (Retevmo) en présence de changements subis par le gène RET;
  • larotrectinib (Vitrakvi) ou entrectinib (Rozlytrek) en présence de changements subis par le gène NTRK.

Apprenez-en davantage sur le traitement ciblé du cancer de la thyroïde.

Chirurgie

On propose rarement la chirurgie comme traitement du cancer anaplasique de la thyroïde. Ce cancer est souvent à un stade avancé quand on le diagnostique, et on ne peut généralement pas l’enlever par chirurgie (on dit qu’il est non résécable). Mais on pourrait faire une chirurgie pour soulager des symptômes ou la proposer avant ou après d’autres traitements, dans certains cas. Le type de chirurgie pratiqué dépend du stade du cancer, de la taille de la tumeur ainsi que des structures et des organes envahis par le cancer ou auxquels il s’est propagé.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la chirurgie du cancer de la thyroïde.

Si vous ne pouvez pas ou ne voulez pas recevoir de traitement du cancer

Vous pourriez envisager des soins qui visent à vous faire sentir mieux plutôt qu’à traiter le cancer lui-même. Ce pourrait être parce que les traitements du cancer n’agissent plus, qu’il n’est plus probable qu’ils améliorent votre état ou que leurs effets secondaires sont difficiles à tolérer. D'autres raisons peuvent expliquer pourquoi vous ne pouvez pas ou ne voulez pas recevoir de traitement du cancer.

Discutez-en avec les membres de votre équipe de soins. Ils peuvent vous aider à choisir les soins et le traitement pour un cancer avancé.

Essais cliniques

Demandez à votre médecin s’il y a des essais cliniques en cours au Canada pour les personnes atteintes d’un cancer de la thyroïde. Les essais cliniques visent à trouver de nouvelles méthodes de prévention, de détection et de traitement du cancer. Apprenez-en davantage sur les essais cliniques.

Révision par les experts et références

  • Shereen Ezzat, MD, FRCPC, FACP
  • Bible KC, Kebebebew E, Brierley J, Brito JP, Cabanillas ME et al . 2021 American Thyroid Association guidelines for management of patients with anaplastic thryoid cancer . Thyroid . 2021 : 31(3): 337–386 .
  • American Cancer Society. Treating Thyroid Cancer . 2021: https://www.cancer.org/.
  • HealthLinkBC. Thyroid Cancer. 2019: https://www.healthlinkbc.ca/.
  • Alberta Health Services. Thyroid Cancer Treatment in Alberta. Edmonton: 2019: https://www.albertahealthservices.ca/.
  • Sharma PK. Medscape Reference: Thyroid Cancer. WebMD LLC; 2021: https://www.medscape.com/.
  • Alberta Health Services. MyHealth Alberta.ca: Thyroid Cancer. Government of Alberta; https://myhealth.alberta.ca/.
  • PDQ® Adult Treatment Editorial Board. Thyroid Cancer Treatment (PDQ®) – Health Professional Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2021: https://www.cancer.gov/.
  • American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO). Cancer.net: Thyroid Cancer. 2021: https://www.cancer.net/.
  • National Comprehensive Cancer Network. NCCN Guidelines for Patients: Thyroid Cancer. 2020.
  • PDQ® Adult Treatment Editorial Board. Thyroid Cancer Treatment (PDQ®) – Patient Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2021: https://www.cancer.gov/.
  • National Comprehensive Cancer Network . NCCN Clinical Practice Guidelines in Oncology: Thyroid Carcinoma (Version 3.2021) . 2021 .
  • Kotwal A, Davidge-Pitts CJ, Thompson GB. Thyroid Tumors. DeVita VT Jr., Lawrence TS, Rosenberg SA, eds. DeVita, Hellman, and Rosenberg's Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology. 11th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Wolters Kluwer; 2019: 81:1326–1337.