Non-cancerous tumours and conditions of the mouth

A non-cancerous (benign) tumour of the mouth is a growth that does not spread (metastasize) to other parts of the body. A non-cancerous condition of the mouth is a change to mouth cells, but it is not cancer. Non-cancerous tumours and conditions are not usually life-threatening.

There are many types of non-cancerous tumours and conditions of the mouth.

Warts

A wart is a small round or oval growth. Oral warts can occur in the mouth or on the lips. They are caused by types of human papillomavirus (HPV). Warts can also spread from the hands to the mouth. Genital warts can spread to the mouth through oral sex. Warts may go away on their own or may be treated with special medicine applied directly to the wart or surgery (cryosurgery or electrosurgery).

Canker sores

A canker sore (aphthous ulcer) is a sore covered by a yellowish white membrane with a reddish ring around it. The exact cause of these ulcers is unknown. They tend to come back (recur) but heal quickly – usually in 1 to 2 weeks. They are often treated with corticosteroids or creams applied directly to the sore.

Cold sores

A cold sore (herpes labialis) is an oral infection caused by the herpes simplex virus (HSV). It causes a cyst or bubble-like swellings and sores (ulcers) on the oral mucous membrane and the skin around the mouth. Cold sores usually heal within a week but they may recur. Antiviral medications may be used to treat this infection.

Thrush

Candida is a type of fungus that is normally found in the mouth. Sometimes an overgrowth of candida can cause an infection called thrush (candidiasis). This can happen in people who have weakened immune systems, are taking antibiotics or use steroids for long periods of time. Candidiasis is treated with antifungal drugs.

Torus

A torus is a bony growth that can form in the roof of the mouth (called torus palatinus) or in the lower jaw beside the tongue (called torus mandibularis). These often don’t require treatment unless they interfere with eating or wearing dentures.

Mucocele

Mucocele are soft swellings that look like cysts or bubbles and usually occur on the gums or roof of the mouth, inside the lower lip or under the tongue. They are often caused by accidentally biting the lower lip, which damages a salivary gland and causes saliva to build up. They often go away without treatment but if not they can be removed with surgery.

Fibroma

Fibromas are round, smooth, firm lumps that occur in the mouth. They are most common in the inner linings of the cheeks (the buccal mucosa) and lips (the labial mucosa). They can be removed with surgery.

Lichen planus

Lichen planus is an inflammatory condition that can affect the tongue, gums, mouth and skin. Oral lichen planus is associated with a small number of oral cancers. Improved mouth hygiene and local steroids are used to treat oral lichen planus.

Frictional hyperkeratosis

Frictional hyperkeratosis is a whitish thickening of the inner mouth lining (mucosa) that may result from constant rubbing. It is often seen on the inside surface of the cheek, lips, tongue or gums. This condition is treated by removing the cause of friction, such as dentures, or making any rough teeth smooth.

Expert review and references

  • American Cancer Society. Oral Cavity and Oropharyngeal Cancer. 2016.
  • Gallagher, G.T. and Shklar,G. . Odontogenic tumors. Bast RC, Kufe DW, Pollock RE, et al. (eds.). Holland-Frei Cancer Medicine. 2000.
  • Gonsalves, W.C., Chi, A.C., and Neville, B.W. . Common Oral Lesions:Part II. Masses and Neoplasia. American Family Physician. American Academy of Family Physicians; 2007: http://www.aafp.org/online/en/home/publications/journals/afp.html.
  • Gonsalves, W.C., Chi, A.C.and Neville, B.W. . Common Oral Lesions: Part I.Superficial Mucosal Lesions. American Family Physician. American Academy of Family Physicians; 2007: http://www.aafp.org/online/en/home/publications/journals/afp.html.
  • IARC . A digital manual for the early diagnosis of oral neoplasia. IARC Screening Group. International Agency for Research on Cancer; 2011: http://screening.iarc.fr/index.php.
  • Lecavalier, D.R.and Main, J.H.P. . Oral tumours. Canadian Family Physician. Mississauga, ON: The Family Physicians of Canada; 1988: http://www.cfp.ca/.
  • Murchison, DF . Oral growths. Beers, M. H., & Berkow, R., (Eds.). Merck Manual Professional Edition. 2016.

Tumeurs et affections non cancéreuses de la bouche

Une tumeur non cancéreuse (bénigne) de la bouche est une masse qui ne se propage pas à d'autres parties du corps (pas de métastases). L’affection non cancéreuse (bénigne) de la bouche est un changement subi par les cellules de la bouche, mais ce n’est pas un cancer. Les tumeurs et affections non cancéreuses ne mettent habituellement pas la vie en danger.

Il existe de nombreux types de tumeurs et d’affections non cancéreuses de la bouche.

Verrue

La verrue est une petite masse ronde ou ovale. La verrue buccale peut apparaître dans la bouche ou sur les lèvres. Elle est causée par des types de virus du papillome humain (VPH). La verrue peut aussi se propager des mains à la bouche. Les verrues génitales peuvent se propager à la bouche lors des relations sexuelles orales. La verrue peut disparaître d’elle-même ou être traitée à l’aide d’un médicament spécial appliqué directement sur la verrue ou de la chirurgie (cryochirurgie ou électrochirurgie).

Aphte

L’aphte (ulcère aphteux) est une lésion couverte d’une membrane blanc jaunâtre entourée d’un anneau rougeâtre. On ne sait pas exactement pourquoi cet ulcère se forme. Il a tendance à récidiver, mais il guérit rapidement, habituellement en 1 à 2 semaines. On le traite souvent à l’aide de corticostéroïdes ou d’une crème appliqués directement sur la lésion.

Feu sauvage

Le feu sauvage (herpès labial) est une infection de la bouche causée par le virus de l’herpès simplex (VHS). Il provoque la formation d’un kyste ou de boursouflures en forme de bulle et de lésions (ulcères) sur les muqueuses buccales et la peau entourant la bouche. Le feu sauvage guérit habituellement en une semaine, mais il peut réapparaître. On peut avoir recours à des médicaments antiviraux pour traiter cette infection.

Muguet

Le Candida est un type de champignon qu’on trouve normalement dans la bouche. Il arrive parfois que la prolifération de Candida provoque une infection appelée muguet, ou candidose. Elle peut affecter les personnes dont le système immunitaire est affaibli, celles qui prennent des antibiotiques ou celles qui prennent des stéroïdes pendant de longues périodes. On traite la candidose à l’aide d’antifongiques.

Torus

Le torus est une excroissance osseuse qui peut se former dans le plafond de la bouche (torus palatin) ou dans la mâchoire inférieure, à côté de la langue (torus mandibulaire). Il ne requiert pas souvent de traitement sauf s’il empêche de manger ou de porter des prothèses dentaires.

Mucocèle

Le mucocèle est une boursouflure molle semblable à une bulle ou à un kyste qui apparaît habituellement sur la gencive ou le plafond de la bouche, à l’intérieur de la lèvre inférieure ou sous la langue. Il se forme souvent quand on a mordu sa lèvre inférieure accidentellement, ce qui cause des dommages à une glande salivaire et l’accumulation de salive. Il disparaît souvent sans traitement, mais si ce n’est pas le cas, on peut l’enlever par chirurgie.

Fibrome

Le fibrome est une masse ronde, lisse et ferme qui apparaît dans la bouche. On l’observe le plus souvent dans le revêtement interne des joues (muqueuse buccale) et des lèvres (muqueuse labiale). On peut l’enlever par chirurgie.

Lichen plan

Le lichen plan est une affection inflammatoire qui peut toucher la langue, les gencives, la bouche et la peau. Le lichen plan buccal a été lié à un petit nombre de cancers de la cavité buccale. Une meilleure hygiène de la bouche et l’application de stéroïdes permettent de traiter le lichen plan buccal.

Hyperkératose frictionnelle

L’hyperkératose frictionnelle, c’est l’épaississement blanchâtre du revêtement interne de la bouche (muqueuse) qui peut être causé par un frottement constant. On l’observe souvent sur la surface interne des joues, des lèvres, de la langue ou des gencives. On la traite en évitant la cause de la friction, comme les prothèses dentaires, ou en lissant des dents rugueuses.

Révision par les experts et références

  • American Cancer Society. Oral Cavity and Oropharyngeal Cancer. 2016.
  • Gallagher, G.T. and Shklar,G. . Odontogenic tumors. Bast RC, Kufe DW, Pollock RE, et al. (eds.). Holland-Frei Cancer Medicine. 2000.
  • Gonsalves, W.C., Chi, A.C., and Neville, B.W. . Common Oral Lesions:Part II. Masses and Neoplasia. American Family Physician. American Academy of Family Physicians; 2007: http://www.aafp.org/online/en/home/publications/journals/afp.html.
  • Gonsalves, W.C., Chi, A.C.and Neville, B.W. . Common Oral Lesions: Part I.Superficial Mucosal Lesions. American Family Physician. American Academy of Family Physicians; 2007: http://www.aafp.org/online/en/home/publications/journals/afp.html.
  • IARC . A digital manual for the early diagnosis of oral neoplasia. IARC Screening Group. International Agency for Research on Cancer; 2011: http://screening.iarc.fr/index.php.
  • Lecavalier, D.R.and Main, J.H.P. . Oral tumours. Canadian Family Physician. Mississauga, ON: The Family Physicians of Canada; 1988: http://www.cfp.ca/.
  • Murchison, DF . Oral growths. Beers, M. H., & Berkow, R., (Eds.). Merck Manual Professional Edition. 2016.