Survival statistics for nasal cavity and paranasal sinus cancer

Survival statistics for nasal cavity and paranasal sinus cancer are very general estimates and must be interpreted very carefully. Because these statistics are based on the experience of groups of people, they cannot be used to predict a particular person's chances of survival.

There are many different ways to measure and report cancer survival statistics. Your doctor can explain the statistics for nasal cavity and paranasal sinus cancer and what they mean to you.

Net survival

Net survival represents the probability of surviving cancer in the absence of other causes of death. It is used to give an estimate of the percentage of people who will survive their cancer.

In Canada, a separate 5-year net survival statistic is not reported for nasal cavity and paranasal sinus cancer. It is included in a group called other respiratory system cancers, which includes similar cancers that are grouped and reported together. This statistic does not necessarily reflect the actual survival for the individual cancers within the group.

The 5-year net survival for other respiratory system cancers is 51%. This means that about 51% of people diagnosed with other respiratory system cancers will survive for at least 5 years.

Survival by stage

Survival varies with each stage of cancer. Generally, the earlier that cancer in the nasal cavity or paranasal sinuses is diagnosed and treated, the better the outcome. This type of cancer usually is not found until it is at an advanced stage, which can make it more difficult to treat.

There are no specific Canadian statistics available for each of the different types of tumours in the nasal cavity or paranasal sinuses. The following survival statistics are general and include all tumour types that make up nasal cavity and paranasal sinus cancer. There are also no specific Canadian statistics available for the different stages of nasal cavity and paranasal sinus cancer. But Surveillance Epidemiology and End Results (SEER) of the National Cancer Institute divides the cancer into summary stages. Survival is reported as 5-year relative survival. Relative survival looks at how likely people with cancer are to survive after their diagnosis compared to people in the general population who do not have cancer, but who share similar characteristics (such as age and sex).

Localized means the cancer has not spread outside of the nasal cavity or paranasal sinus and includes stages 1 and 2. The 5-year relative survival rate for localized disease is 85%.

Regional means the cancer has spread outside the nasal cavity or paranasal sinus to nearby tissues or lymph nodes. It includes stage 3 cancers. The 5-year relative survival for regional disease is 50%.

Distant means the cancer has spread to distant parts of the body. It includes stage 4 cancers. The 5-year relative survival for distant disease is 44%.

Questions about survival

Talk to your doctor about your prognosis. A prognosis depends on many factors, including:

  • your medical history
  • the type of cancer
  • the stage
  • characteristics of the cancer
  • the treatments chosen
  • how the cancer responds to treatment

Only a doctor familiar with these factors can put all of this information together with survival statistics to arrive at a prognosis.

Expert review and references

Statistiques de survie au cancer des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux

Les statistiques de survie au cancer des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux sont des estimations très générales qui doivent être interprétées avec prudence. Puisqu'elles sont fondées sur l'expérience de groupes de personnes, elles ne permettent pas de prévoir les chances de survie d'une personne en particulier.

Il existe de nombreuses méthodes différentes pour évaluer et consigner les statistiques de survie au cancer. Votre médecin peut vous expliquer les statistiques relatives au cancer des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux et ce qu’elles signifient pour vous.

Survie nette

La survie nette représente la probabilité de survivre au cancer en l’absence d’autres causes de décès. Elle permet d’estimer le pourcentage de personnes qui survivront à leur cancer.

Au Canada, on ne consigne pas séparément les statistiques de survie nette après 5 ans pour le cancer des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux. On les inclut plutôt dans la catégorie des autres cancers de l’appareil respiratoire, qui comprend des cancers similaires dont les statistiques sont regroupées et consignées ensemble. Ces statistiques ne reflètent pas nécessairement la survie réelle de chacun des cancers du groupe.

La survie nette après 5 ans pour les autres cancers de l’appareil respiratoire est de 51 %, ce qui signifie qu’environ 51 % des personnes ayant reçu un diagnostic d'un de ces cancers survivront au moins 5 ans.

Survie selon le stade

La survie varie en fonction de chaque stade du cancer. En général, plus on diagnostique et on traite le cancer des fosses nasales ou des sinus paranasaux à un stade précoce, meilleur est le pronostic. Ce type de cancer est habituellement détecté seulement à un stade avancé, ce qui peut le rendre plus difficile à traiter.

On ne dispose pas de statistiques canadiennes spécifiques pour chacun des différents types de tumeur pouvant toucher les fosses nasales ou les sinus paranasaux. Les statistiques de survie suivantes sont générales et regroupent tous les types de tumeur qui composent le cancer des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux. On ne dispose pas non plus de statistiques canadiennes spécifiques pour les différents stades du cancer des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux. Mais le programme SEER (Surveillance, Epidemiology and End Results) du National Cancer Institute divise le cancer en stades sommaires. La survie est consignée sous forme de survie relative après 5 ans. La survie relative sert à déterminer quelle est la probabilité qu’une personne atteinte de cancer soit encore en vie après son diagnostic comparativement à des personnes qui font partie de la population générale et qui n’ont pas le cancer, mais qui présentent des caractéristiques semblables, comme l’âge et le sexe.

Localisé signifie que le cancer ne s'est pas propagé à l'extérieur des fosses nasales ou des sinus paranasaux et comprend les stades 1 et 2. Le taux de survie relative après 5 ans pour une maladie localisée est de 85 %.

Régional signifie que le cancer s'est propagé à l'extérieur des fosses nasales ou des sinus paranasaux pour atteindre des tissus ou des ganglions lymphatiques voisins; cela inclut les cancers de stade 3. Le taux de survie relative après 5 ans pour une maladie régionale est de 50 %.

À distance signifie que le cancer s’est propagé à des parties du corps éloignées de la tumeur; cela correspond aux cancers de stade 4. Le taux de survie relative après 5 ans pour une maladie à distance est de 44 %.

Questions sur la survie

Discutez de votre pronostic avec votre médecin. Le pronostic repose sur de nombreux facteurs, dont ceux-ci :

  • vos antécédents médicaux;
  • le type de cancer;
  • le stade du cancer;
  • les caractéristiques du cancer;
  • les traitements choisis;
  • comment le cancer répond au traitement.

Seul un médecin qui connaît bien ces facteurs peut examiner toutes ces données de concert avec les statistiques de survie pour en arriver à un pronostic.

Révision par les experts et références