Mesothelioma

What is mesothelioma?

Mesothelioma starts in mesothelial cells that line body organs. Learn about symptoms, diagnosis, treatment and risks in our guide to mesothelioma.

Risk factors for mesothelioma

Risk factors for mesothelioma include asbestos, erionite and ionizing radiation. Learn about mesothelioma risk.

Symptoms of mesothelioma

Symptoms of mesothelioma depend on the location. Learn about the symptoms of pleural and peritoneal mesothelioma.

Diagnosis of mesothelioma

Tests to diagnose mesothelioma, such as x-ray and ultrasound, are done when symptoms suggest a problem. Learn about diagnosing mesothelioma.

Stages of pleural mesothelioma

Staging is a way of describing or classifying a cancer based on the extent of cancer in the body. The most common staging system for pleural mesothelioma is the TNM system. The International Union Against Cancer (UICC) uses the TNM system to describe the extent of many solid tumour cancers.

If mesothelioma spreads

Cancer cells have the potential to spread from the mesothelium to other parts of the body where they can grow into new tumours. This process is called metastasis. The tumours are also called metastasis (singular) or metastases (plural). Metastases are also called secondary tumours.

Prognosis and survival for mesothelioma

People with mesothelioma may have questions about their prognosis and survival. Prognosis and survival depend on many factors. Only a doctor familiar with a person’s medical history, type of cancer, stage, characteristics of the cancer, treatments chosen and response to treatment can put all of this information together with survival statistics to make a prognosis.

Treatments for mesothelioma

Treatments for mesothelioma include surgery, chemotherapy and radiation. Learn about treatment plans and options for mesothelioma.

Supportive care for mesothelioma

Supportive care helps people meet the physical, practical, emotional and spiritual challenges of mesothelioma. It is an important part of cancer care. There are many programs and services available to help meet the needs and improve the quality of life of people living with cancer and their loved ones, especially after treatment has ended.

Mesothelioma statistics

Mesothelioma is a cancer more common in men than women because men have more exposure to asbestos. Learn about Canadian statistics for mesothelioma.

Mésothéliome

Qu’est-ce que le mésothéliome?

Le mésothéliome naît dans les cellules mésothéliales qui recouvrent les organes du corps. Découvrez-en les symptômes, risques et autres dans notre guide.

Facteurs de risque du mésothéliome

Les facteurs de risque du mésothéliome comportent: amiante, érionite, rayonnements ionisants. Renseignez-vous sur le risque de ce cancer.

Symptômes du mésothéliome

Les symptômes du mésothéliome varient selon l’emplacement. Renseignez-vous sur les symptômes du mésothéliome pleural et péritonéal.

Diagnostic du mésothéliome

On fait des tests diagnostiques du mésothéliome, dont la radiographie et l’échographie, si des symptômes signalent un trouble. Apprenez-en le diagnostic.

Stades du mésothéliome pleural

La stadification est une façon de décrire ou de classer un cancer selon l’étendue de la maladie dans le corps. Le système le plus fréquemment utilisé pour déterminer le stade du mésothéliome est la classification TNM. L'Union internationale contre le cancer (UICC) utilise ce système pour décrire l'étendue de nombreuses tumeurs cancéreuses solides.

Si le mésothéliome se propage

Les cellules cancéreuses ont la capacité de se propager à partir du mésothéliome vers d’autres parties du corps où elles peuvent former de nouvelles tumeurs. Ce processus porte le nom de métastase. Les nouvelles tumeurs sont aussi appelées métastase (au singulier, s'il n'y en a qu'une seule) ou méta

Pronostic et survie pour le mésothéliome

Il est possible que les personnes atteintes d'un mésothéliome se posent des questions sur leur pronostic et leur survie. Le pronostic et la survie dépendent de nombreux facteurs. Seul un médecin qui connaît bien les antécédents médicaux de la personne, le type de cancer dont elle est atteinte, le stade et les caractéristiques de la maladie, les traitements choisis et la réaction au traitement peut examiner toutes ces données de concert avec les statistiques de survie pour en arriver à un pronostic.

Traitements du mésothéliome

Les traitements du mésothéliome comprennent la chirurgie, la chimiothérapie et la radiothérapie. Renseignez-vous sur les plans et les options de traitement du mésothéliome.

Soins de soutien pour le mésothéliome

Les soins de soutien permettent aux gens de surmonter les obstacles physiques, pratiques, émotifs et spirituels engendrés par le mésothéliome. C'est une composante importante des soins apportés aux personnes atteintes de cancer. De nombreux programmes et services permettent de répondre aux besoins et d'améliorer la qualité de vie de ces personnes et de leurs proches, en particulier une fois que le traitement est terminé.

Statistiques sur le mésothéliome

Le mésothéliome est un cancer qui atteint plus d’hommes que de femmes, ceux-ci étant plus exposés à l’amiante. Découvrez-en les statistiques canadiennes.