Risks for liver cancer

Last medical review:

Certain behaviours, substances or conditions can affect your risk, or chance, of developing cancer. Some things increase your risk and some things decrease it. Most cancers are the result of many risks. But sometimes cancer develops in people who don't have any risks.

lnfection with hepatitis B or C virus and cirrhosis of the liver are the main risks for liver cancer. The chance of developing liver cancer increases with age. More men than women develop liver cancer. Liver cancer is more common in countries with high rates of hepatitis B and C infection.

Some people with certain genetic conditions have a higher than average risk for liver cancer. Talk to your doctor about your risk. If you have a genetic condition that increases the risk of liver cancer, you may need to visit your doctor more often to check for liver cancer. Your doctor will recommend what tests you should have and how often you should have them.

The following can increase or decrease your risk for liver cancer. There are some things you can do to lower your risk and help protect you from developing cancer. But some of these risks cannot be changed.

Infection with hepatitis B or C virus

Cirrhosis of the liver

Alcohol

Smoking tobacco

Metabolic disorders

Non-alcoholic steatohepatitis (NASH)

Excess weight

Contact with aflatoxin

Contact with chemicals at work

Contact with thorium dioxide

Type 2 diabetes

Being physically active

Infection with hepatitis B or C virus

Hepatitis B virus (HBV) and hepatitis C virus (HCV) can cause inflammation of the liver (called hepatitis). HBV can be spread from person to person through blood or other body fluids, such as semen or vaginal fluids. HCV is spread only through contact with infected blood. Infection with either virus increases the risk for liver cancer.

Learn more about hepatitis B virus (HBV) and hepatitis C virus (HCV) and how to reduce your risk.

Cirrhosis of the liver

People who have cirrhosis of the liver have a higher risk for liver cancer. Cirrhosis is when scar tissue replaces healthy tissue in the liver. The scar tissue blocks blood flow through the liver so it can't work normally. Cirrhosis can be caused by:

  • infection with hepatitis B or C virus
  • drinking large amounts of alcohol over a long period of time
  • metabolic disorders that cause liver damage

Infection with hepatitis virus and alcohol together greatly increase your risk of cirrhosis and liver cancer.

Alcohol

Drinking alcohol increases your risk for cirrhosis, which can then increase your risk for liver cancer. The more you drink, the greater your risk.

Learn more about how to limit alcohol.

Smoking tobacco

Smoking tobacco increases your risk for liver cancer. All forms of tobacco, including cigarettes, cigars and pipes, increase your risk.

The more you smoke and the longer you smoke, the greater your risk. The risk of developing liver cancer decreases with time after you quit smoking.

Learn more about how to live smoke-free.

Metabolic disorders

People who have certain genetic conditions that interfere with metabolism have a higher risk of developing liver cancer. These conditions may lead to liver failure or cirrhosis of the liver.

Hemochromatosis (also called iron overload) is a disorder that causes the body to store higher than normal amounts of iron. The extra iron builds up in different tissues, especially the liver. When the liver stores too much iron, and the condition is not treated, the liver may be damaged. People with untreated hemochromatosis have a higher risk of developing liver cancer.

Other metabolic disorders that may increase the risk of liver cancer include:

  • alpha-1 antitrypsin deficiency
  • porphyria cutanea tarda and acute intermittent porphyria
  • hereditary tyrosinemia
  • type I and III glycogen storage disease

Non-alcoholic steatohepatitis (NASH)

Non-alcoholic steatohepatitis (NASH) is a more advanced form of non-alcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD). In NAFLD, fat cells collect in the liver of people who do not drink large amounts of alcohol. The main risk factor for developing NAFLD is having obesity.

In NASH, the fatty tissue in the liver becomes inflamed and causes scar tissue to form (cirrhosis).

By itself, NAFLD does not cause any significant liver damage or increase the risk of liver cancer. But NASH may progress to liver damage and cirrhosis, which increases the risk of developing liver cancer.

Excess weight

Overweight and obesity can increase the risk for liver cancer. This may be because excess weight can increase the risk of NASH and cirrhosis.

Learn more about how to have a healthy body weight.

Contact with aflatoxin

Aflatoxin is a type of toxin made by moulds and fungi (called a mycotoxin). It can contaminate many different foods, including corn, rice, wheat, peanuts, soybeans and sunflower seeds. It can also be found on spices, such as ginger or chilli peppers, and on nuts, including almonds, walnuts and pistachios.

Aflatoxin can be a problem in countries with hot, damp climates and poor storage facilities. People are most likely to come into contact with aflatoxin in Africa and Asia because there are high levels of contamination in food, stored grains, soil and water.

Aflatoxin is not a concern in Canada. The Canadian Food Inspection Agency monitors and tests nuts and nut products, as well as some dairy products, for aflatoxin contamination.

Contact with chemicals at work

Coming into contact with the following chemicals at work increases the risk for liver cancer.

Vinyl chloride is used in the plastics industry to make polyvinyl chloride (PVC), which is used in many products. Coming into contact with vinyl chloride increases the risk of developing both angiosarcoma (a rare type of liver cancer) and hepatocellular carcinoma.

Plutonium is a radioactive substance. Workers who accidentally breathe in plutonium have a higher risk of developing angiosarcoma.

Learn more about what you can do to be safe at work.

Contact with thorium dioxide

Thorium dioxide (Thorotrast) is a radioactive solution. It was used as a contrast medium in the 1950s to improve x-rays of the blood system, nasal passages and sinus cavities. After it is injected, thorium dioxide collects in the liver, spleen and bone marrow.

People who came in to contact with thorium dioxide have a greater risk of developing angiosarcoma. The higher the dose given, the greater the risk. Cancer may develop as many as 45 years after you come into contact with it.

Type 2 diabetes

People with type 2 diabetes may have a higher risk of developing liver cancer. Studies show that people with type 2 diabetes who develop liver cancer sometimes have other risk factors, such as heavy alcohol use, hepatitis infection or both. Also, many people with type 2 diabetes tend have excess weight, which may also increase their risk for liver cancer.

Being physically active

Being physically active reduces your risk for liver cancer.

Learn more about how to move more, sit less.

Possible risks

The following have been linked with liver cancer, but there is not enough evidence to know for sure that they are risks. More research is needed.

  • birth control pills
  • infection with a liver fluke (a parasite that infects the liver)
  • contact with arsenic, trichloroethylene, polychlorinated biphenyls (PCBs) or dichlorodiphenyltrichloroethane (DDT)
  • chewing betel quid
  • eating fish

Understanding your cancer risk

To make the decisions that are right for you, ask your doctor questions about risks. Learn how cancer can be prevented and what you can do to reduce your risk.

Expert review and references

  • Canadian Cancer Society | Société canadienne du cancer
  • American Cancer Society. Liver cancer risk factors. 2016.
  • Fong Y, Dupuy DE, Feng M, Abou-Alfa G . Cancer of the liver. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, & Rosenberg SA. Cancer: Principles and Practice of Oncology. 10th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2015: 52:696-714.
  • Huang NC, Wann SR, Chang HT, Lin SL, Wang JS, Guo HR . Arsenic, vinyl chloride, viral hepatitis, and hepatic angiosarcoma: a hospital-based study and review of literature in Taiwan.. BMC Gastroenterology. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3280174/.
  • International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC). Volume 100A: Pharmaceuticals - A Review of Human Carcinogens. 2012: http://monographs.iarc.fr/ENG/Monographs/vol100A/mono100A.pdf.
  • International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC). Volume 96: Alcohol Consumption and Ethyl Carbamate. 2010: http://monographs.iarc.fr/ENG/Monographs/vol96/mono96.pdf.
  • International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC). Volume 100C: Arsenic, metals, fibres and dusts: a review of human carcinogens. 2012: http://monographs.iarc.fr/ENG/Monographs/vol100C/mono100C.pdf.
  • International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC). Volume 100D: Radiation: a review of human carcinogens. 2011: http://monographs.iarc.fr/ENG/Monographs/vol100D/mono100D.pdf.
  • International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC). Volume 100E: Personal Habits and Indoor Combustions. 2012: http://monographs.iarc.fr/ENG/Monographs/vol100E/mono100E.pdf.
  • International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC). Volume 100F: Chemical agents and related occupations: a review of human carcinogens. 2012: http://monographs.iarc.fr/ENG/Monographs/vol100F/index.php.
  • International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC). Volume 113: 2,4-Dichlorophenoxyacetic acid (2,4-D) and Some Organochlorine Insecticides. 2016: http://monographs.iarc.fr/ENG/Monographs/vol113/index.php.
  • London TW & McGlynn KA . Liver cancer. Schottenfeld, D. & Fraumeni, J. F. Jr. (eds.). Cancer Epidemiology and Prevention. 3rd ed. New York: Oxford University Press; 2006: 39: pp. 763-86.
  • Maheshwari S, Sarraj A, Kramer J, El-Serag HB . Oral contraception and the risk of hepatocellular carcinoma. Journal of Hepatology. Oxford: Elsevier; 2007.
  • National Cancer Institute. Adult Primary Liver Cancer Treatment (PDQ®) Health Professional Version. 2016.
  • Rui R, Lou J, Zou L, et al . Excess body mass index and risk of liver cancer: a nonlinear dose-response meta-analysis of prospective studies. PloS One. Public Library of Science (PLoS); 2012.
  • Scott CS and Jinot J . Trichloroethylene and cancer: systematic and quantitative review of epidemiologic evidence for identifying hazards. International Journal of Environmental Research and Public Health. MDPI Publishing; 2011.
  • Wang C, Wang X, Gong G, et al . Increased risk of hepatocellular carcinoma in patients with diabetes mellitus: a systematic review and meta-analysis of cohort studies. International Journal of Cancer. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley-Liss, Inc; 2012.
  • Wen CP, Tsai MK, Chung WS, et al . Cancer risks from betel quid chewing beyond oral cancer: a multiple-site carcinogen when acting with smoking. Cancer Causes & Control. Springer; 2010.
  • World Cancer Research Fund (WCRF) / American Institute for Cancer Research (AICR). Continuous Update Project Interim Report Summary. Diet, Nutrition, Physical Activity, and Liver Cancer. WCRF /AICR; 2015.
  • Fong Y, Dupuy DE, Feng M, Abou-Alfa G. Cancer of the liver. DeVita VT Jr., Lawrence TS, Rosenberg SA, eds.. DeVita, Hellman, and Rosenberg's Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology. 11th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Wolters Kluwer; 2019: 57:844–865.
  • American Cancer Society . Liver Cancer Risk Factors . 2019 : https://www.cancer.org/cancer/liver-cancer/causes-risks-prevention/risk-factors.htm.
  • Cancer Research UK . Liver Cancer Risks and Causes . 2019 : https://www.cancerresearchuk.org/about-cancer/liver-cancer/risks-causes.
  • American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) . Cancer.net: Liver Cancer: Risk Factors and Prevention . 2019 : https://www.cancer.net/cancer-types/liver-cancer/risk-factors-and-prevention.
  • American Institute for Cancer Research, World Cancer Research Fund. Continuous Update Project Report: Diet, Nutrition, Physical Activity and Liver Cancer. 2018: https://www.wcrf.org/dietandcancer/liver-cancer/.
  • PDQ® Adult Treatment Editorial Board. Liver (Hepatocellular) Cancer Prevention (PDQ®) – Patient Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2021: https://www.cancer.gov/types/liver/patient/liver-prevention-pdq.
  • PDQ® Adult Treatment Editorial Board. Adult Primary Liver Cancer Treatment (PDQ­®) – Health Professional Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2019: https://www.cancer.gov/types/liver/patient/adult-liver-treatment-pdq.
  • PDQ® Adult Treatment Editorial Board . Liver (Hepatocellular) Cancer Prevention (PDQ®) – Health Professional Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2021: https://www.cancer.gov/types/liver/hp/liver-prevention-pdq.
  • London WT, Petrick JL, McGlynn KA. Liver cancer. Thun MJ, Linet MS, Cerhan JR, Haiman CA Schottenfeld, eds.. Schottenfeld and Fraumeni Cancer Epidemiology and Prevention. 4th ed. New York, NY: Oxford University Press; 2018.
  • National Toxicology Program. 14th Report on Carcinogens. Department of Health and Human Services; 2016: http://ntp.niehs.nih.gov/pubhealth/roc/index-1.html.

Risques de cancer du foie

Dernière révision médicale :

Certains comportements, substances ou états peuvent affecter votre risque, ou probabilité, d’avoir le cancer. Il y a des choses qui font augmenter votre risque alors que d’autres le font diminuer. La plupart des cancers sont attribuables à de nombreux risques. Mais le cancer apparaît parfois chez des personnes qui ne présentent aucun risque.

La cirrhose du foie et l’infection au virus de l’hépatite B ou C sont les plus importants risques de cancer du foie. Le risque d’être atteint d’un cancer du foie augmente avec l’âge. Plus d’hommes que de femmes développent un cancer du foie. Le cancer du foie est plus fréquent dans les pays où les taux d'infection au virus de l'hépatite B et de l'hépatite C sont élevés.

Certaines personnes atteintes de troubles génétiques particuliers présentent un risque plus élevé que la moyenne d’avoir un cancer du foie. Discutez de votre risque avec votre médecin. Si vous êtes atteint d’un trouble génétique qui fait augmenter votre risque d’avoir un cancer du foie, vous pourriez devoir consulter votre médecin plus souvent pour vérifier la présence d’un cancer du foie. Votre médecin vous indiquera quels examens passer et à quelle fréquence.

Les éléments qui suivent peuvent accroître ou réduire votre risque de cancer du foie. Vous pouvez faire certaines choses pour réduire votre risque et aider à vous protéger du cancer. Mais certains de ces risques ne peuvent pas être changés.

Infection au virus de l’hépatite B ou C

Cirrhose du foie

Alcool

Fumer du tabac

Troubles métaboliques

Stéatohépatite non alcoolique (NASH)

Excès de poids

Contact avec l'aflatoxine

Contact avec des produits chimiques au travail

Contact avec le dioxyde de thorium

Diabète de type 2

Activité physique

Infection au virus de l’hépatite B ou C

Le virus de l’hépatite B (VHB) et le virus de l'hépatite C (VHC) peuvent causer une inflammation du foie appelée hépatite. Le VHB peut se transmettre d'une personne à une autre par le sang ou un autre liquide corporel comme le sperme ou le liquide vaginal. Quant au VHC, il se transmet seulement par un contact avec du sang infecté. Une infection à l'un ou l'autre de ces virus accroît le risque de cancer du foie.

Apprenez-en davantage sur le virus de l'hépatite B (VHB) et le virus de l'hépatite C (VHC) de même que sur les façons de réduire votre risque.

Cirrhose du foie

Les personnes atteintes d’une cirrhose du foie risquent davantage d’avoir un cancer du foie. La cirrhose apparaît lorsque du tissu cicatriciel remplace le tissu sain du foie. Le tissu cicatriciel bloque la circulation du sang dans le foie, l’empêchant ainsi de fonctionner normalement. La cirrhose peut être causée par :

  • une infection au virus de l'hépatite B ou C;
  • la consommation de grandes quantités d'alcool pendant une période prolongée;
  • des troubles métaboliques à l'origine de dommages au foie.

Une infection au virus de l'hépatite conjuguée à la consommation d'alcool augmente grandement votre risque de cirrhose et de cancer du foie.

Alcool

La consommation d'alcool accroît votre risque de cirrhose, qui à son tour augmente votre risque de cancer du foie. Plus vous buvez, et plus votre risque augmente.

Apprenez-en davantage sur les façons de limiter la consommation d’alcool.

Fumer du tabac

Fumer du tabac accroît votre risque de cancer du foie. Toutes les formes de tabac, dont la cigarette, le cigare et la pipe, font augmenter votre risque.

Plus vous fumez et plus vous fumez longtemps, plus votre risque est élevé. Après que vous avez cessé de fumer, le risque d’avoir un cancer du foie diminue avec le temps.

Apprenez-en davantage sur les façons de vivre sans fumée.

Troubles métaboliques

Les personnes atteintes de certaines affections génétiques qui nuisent au métabolisme risquent davantage d'avoir un cancer du foie. Ces affections peuvent engendrer une insuffisance hépatique ou une cirrhose du foie.

L'hémochromatose (aussi appelée surcharge de fer) est un trouble qui fait que le corps entrepose une quantité de fer plus élevée que la normale. Cet excès de fer s'accumule dans divers tissus, en particulier dans le foie. Quand le foie emmagasine trop de fer et que l’affection n'est pas traitée, il peut subir des dommages. Les personnes atteintes d'une hémochromatose non traitée risquent davantage d’avoir un cancer du foie.

Les autres troubles métaboliques susceptibles d’accroître le risque de cancer du foie sont notamment ceux-ci :

  • déficit en alpha-1 antitrypsine;
  • porphyrie cutanée tardive et porphyrie aiguë intermittente;
  • tyrosinémie héréditaire;
  • glycogénose de types I et III.

Stéatohépatite non alcoolique (NASH)

La stéatohépatite non alcoolique (NASH) est une forme plus avancée de la maladie du foie gras non alcoolique (NAFLD). La NAFLD se caractérise par l'accumulation de cellules graisseuses dans le foie de personnes qui ne consomment que très peu d'alcool. Le principal facteur de risque de la NAFLD est l'obésité.

La NASH est caractérisée par l’inflammation du tissu graisseux du foie, ce qui provoque la formation de tissu cicatriciel (cirrhose).

La NAFLD en soi n'endommage pas le foie de façon significative et n'augmente pas le risque de cancer du foie. Mais la NASH peut finir par causer des dommages au foie et une cirrhose, ce qui accroît le risque de cancer du foie.

Excès de poids

L’embonpoint et l’obésité augmentent le risque de cancer du foie. Cela peut être dû au fait qu'un excès de poids est susceptible d'accroître le risque de NASH et de cirrhose.

Apprenez-en davantage sur les façons de maintenir un poids santé.

Contact avec l'aflatoxine

L’aflatoxine est un type de toxine produite par des moisissures et des champignons et qu’on appelle mycotoxine. Elle peut contaminer différents aliments dont le maïs, le riz et le blé ainsi que les arachides, les fèves de soya et les graines de tournesol. On peut également l’observer dans des épices comme le gingembre et le piment de Cayenne, ainsi que dans des noix telles que les amandes, les noix de Grenoble et les pistaches.

Les aflatoxines peuvent être un problème dans les pays où le climat est chaud et humide et les installations d'entreposage inadéquates. Les gens sont plus susceptibles d'entrer en contact avec des aflatoxines en Afrique et en Asie en raison du taux élevé de contamination des aliments, des grains entreposés, du sol et de l'eau.

Les aflatoxines ne causent pas d'inquiétudes au Canada. L'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments surveille et analyse les noix, les produits de noix et certains produits laitiers pour détecter, s'il y a lieu, une contamination possible aux aflatoxines.

Contact avec des produits chimiques au travail

Le fait d'entrer en contact avec les produits chimiques qui suivent, en milieu de travail, augmente le risque de cancer du foie.

Le chlorure de vinyle est utilisé dans l'industrie des matières plastiques pour fabriquer du polychlorure de vinyle (PVC), qu'on trouve dans de nombreux produits. Le contact avec le chlorure de vinyle accroît le risque de développer un angiosarcome (un type rare de cancer du foie) ainsi qu'un carcinome hépatocellulaire.

Le plutonium est une substance radioactive. Les travailleurs qui inhalent accidentellement du plutonium risquent davantage d’être atteints d’un angiosarcome.

Apprenez-en davantage sur ce que vous pouvez faire pour travailler en toute sécurité.

Contact avec le dioxyde de thorium

Le dioxyde de thorium (Thorotrast) est une solution radioactive. Elle était employée comme produit de contraste dans les années 1950 pour améliorer les radiographies du système sanguin, des voies nasales et des cavités des sinus. Une fois injecté, ce produit s'accumule dans le foie, la rate et la moelle osseuse.

Les personnes qui ont été en contact avec le dioxyde de thorium ont un plus grand risque d'être atteintes d'un angiosarcome. Plus la dose est élevée, plus le risque est grand. Le cancer peut apparaître jusqu'à 45 ans après le contact avec le produit.

Diabète de type 2

Les personnes atteintes de diabète de type 2 pourraient présenter un risque accru de cancer du foie. Des études démontrent que les personnes atteintes de diabète de type 2 qui développent un cancer du foie ont parfois d’autres facteurs de risque comme une consommation excessive d’alcool, une infection au virus de l’hépatite ou bien les deux. De plus, de nombreuses personnes atteintes de diabète de type 2 ont tendance à avoir un surplus de poids, ce qui peut également accroître leur risque de cancer du foie.

Activité physique

Être physiquement actif réduit votre risque de cancer du foie.

Apprenez-en davantage sur les moyens de bouger plus et passer moins de temps assis.

Risques possibles

On a établi un certain lien entre les éléments qui suivent et le cancer du foie, mais on ne possède pas suffisamment de preuves pour affirmer qu'ils sont des risques. On doit faire plus de recherches dans ces domaines :

  • contraceptifs oraux;
  • infection par une douve du foie (un parasite qui infecte le foie);
  • contact avec l'arsenic, le trichloroéthylène, les biphényles polychlorés (BPC) ou le dichlorodiphényltrichloroéthane (DDT);
  • utilisation de chique de bétel;
  • consommation de poisson.

Comprendre votre risque de cancer

Afin de prendre les bonnes décisions pour vous, posez des questions sur les risques à votre médecin. Sachez comment on peut prévenir le cancer et ce que vous pouvez faire pour réduire votre risque.

Révision par les experts et références

  • Canadian Cancer Society | Société canadienne du cancer