Prognosis and survival for liver cancer

If you have liver cancer, you may have questions about your prognosis. A prognosis is the doctor’s best estimate of how cancer will affect someone and how it will respond to treatment. Prognosis and survival depend on many factors. Only a doctor familiar with your medical history, the type and stage and other features of the cancer, treatments chosen and the response to treatment can put all of this information together with survival statistics to arrive at a prognosis.

A prognostic factor is an aspect of the cancer or a characteristic of the person that the doctor will consider when making a prognosis. A predictive factor influences how a cancer will respond to a certain treatment. Prognostic and predictive factors are often discussed together. They both play a part in deciding on a treatment plan and a prognosis.

The following are prognostic and predictive factors for liver cancer.

Stage

The stage is one of the most important factors for liver cancer. People with liver cancer that is BCLC stage 0 or A have a more favourable prognosis than people with liver cancer that is BCLC stage B, C or D.

Liver function

People with poor liver function caused by the tumour, scarring of the liver (called cirrhosis) or hepatitis have a poor prognosis.

The Child-Pugh score

The Child-Pugh score is an estimate of how well the liver is working. It is used to decide if it is safe to do surgery. It is a scoring system that measures the level of liver damage or failure caused by cirrhosis. It looks at the following factors (each factor is given between 1 and 3 points):

  • if there is a buildup of fluid in the abdomen (called ascites)

  • if there are symptoms of hepatic encephalopathy (a condition that develops when the liver doesn’t work properly and waste products build up in the blood)

  • bilirubin level

  • albumin level

  • how long it takes the blood to clot (called prothrombin time, or PT)

Child-Pugh classification of liver damage
Factor Number of points given
  1 2 3
ascites absent mild moderate or severe
hepatic encephalopathy none grade 1 – mild

some changes to mental and physical function

grade 2 – moderate

many changes to mental and physical function

grade 3 – poor

significant changes to mental and physical function

grade 4 – severe

significant changes to mental and physical function or coma

bilirubin (mg/dL) less than 2 2 to 3 greater than 3
albumin (g/dL) greater than 3.5 2.8 to 3.5 less than 2.8
prothrombin time (seconds) 1 to 3 4 to 6 greater than 6

The total number of points across the categories are added together to get the Child-Pugh score:

  • A = 5 to 6 points

  • B = 7 to 9 points

  • C = 10 to 15 points

A high Child-Pugh score means that surgery is not safe to do and should not be performed. People who can’t have surgery have a poorer prognosis than people who can have surgery to remove liver cancer.

Performance status

Performance status measures how well you can do daily activities and is based on the Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) score. People with a good or fair performance status have a better prognosis than people with a poor performance status.

Tumour characteristics

People with only one tumour in the liver have a better prognosis than people with many tumours. When the tumours are all in one lobe, the prognosis is better than when the tumours are in both lobes of the liver.

A tumour growing inside or that has grown into blood vessels has a poor prognosis.

A tumour smaller than 5 cm has a better prognosis than larger tumours.

Type of tumour

Fibrolamellar carcinoma has a better prognosis than other types of liver cancer. These tumours do not grow very deeply into the surrounding tissues, so doctors can usually completely remove them with surgery.

Expert review and references

  • Bruix J, Sherman M. AASLD Practice Guideline: Management of hepatocellular carcinoma: an update. 2010: http://www.aasld.org/practiceguidelines/Documents/Bookmarked%20Practice%20Guidelines/HCCUpdate2010.pdf.
  • National Cancer Institute. Adult Primary Liver Cancer Treatment (PDQ®) Health Professional Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2010.
  • Palmer DH & Johnson PJ . Hepatocellular carcinoma. Gospodarowicz, M. K., O'Sullivan, B., Sobin, L. H., et al. (Eds.). Prognostic Factors in Cancer. 3rd ed. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, Inc.; 2006: 16: pp. 143-6.

Survival statistics for liver cancer

Survival is different for each stage of liver cancer. Learn about liver cancer survival statistics by stage.

Pronostic et survie pour le cancer du foie

Si vous êtes atteint d'un cancer du foie, vous vous posez peut-être des questions sur votre pronostic. Le pronostic est l’acte par lequel le médecin évalue le mieux comment le cancer affectera une personne et comment il répondra au traitement. Le pronostic et la survie dépendent de nombreux facteurs. Seul un médecin qui connaît bien vos antécédents médicaux, le type de cancer dont vous êtes atteint, son stade et d’autres caractéristiques de la maladie, les traitements choisis et la réponse au traitement peut examiner toutes ces données de concert avec les statistiques de survie pour en arriver à un pronostic.

Un facteur pronostique est un aspect du cancer ou une caractéristique de la personne que le médecin prend en considération lorsqu'il fait un pronostic. Un facteur prédictif influence la façon dont le cancer répond à un certain traitement. On aborde souvent les facteurs pronostiques et les facteurs prédictifs ensemble. Ils jouent tous les deux un rôle dans le choix du plan de traitement et dans l’établissement du pronostic.

Les éléments suivants sont des facteurs pronostiques et des facteurs prédictifs du cancer du foie.

Stade

Le stade est l’un des facteurs les plus importants du cancer du foie. Le pronostic des personnes atteintes d’un cancer du foie de stade BCLC 0 ou A est plus favorable que celui des personnes atteintes d’un cancer du foie de stade BCLC B, C ou D.

Fonction hépatique

Les personnes dont la fonction hépatique est réduite à cause de la tumeur, d’une cicatrisation du foie (cirrhose) ou d’une hépatite ont un pronostic sombre.

Classification de Child-Pugh

Le score de Child-Pugh est une estimation du degré de fonctionnement du foie. On l'utilise pour déterminer s'il est possible de pratiquer une chirurgie en toute sécurité. Il s'agit d'un système de pointage qui mesure le degré d’atteinte ou d’insuffisance hépatique due à une cirrhose. La classification de Child-Pugh tient compte des facteurs suivants (on attribue entre 1 et 3 points à chaque facteur) :

  • présence d’une accumulation de liquide dans l’abdomen (ascite);

  • présence de symptômes d’une encéphalopathie hépatique (une affection qui survient lorsque le foie ne fonctionne pas correctement et que des déchets s’accumulent dans le sang);

  • taux de bilirubine;

  • taux d’albumine;

  • temps nécessaire à la coagulation du sang (appelé temps de Quick, TQ, ou temps de prothrombine, TP).

Classification de Child-Pugh de l’atteinte hépatique
Facteur Nombre de points accordé
  1 2 3
ascite absente minime modérée ou grave
encéphalopathie hépatique absente grade 1 – légère

quelques changements des fonctions mentales et physiques

grade 2 – modérée

de nombreux changements des fonctions mentales et physiques

grade 3 – défavorable

changements importants des fonctions mentales et physiques

grade 4 – grave

changements importants des fonctions mentales et physiques ou coma

bilirubine (mg/dL) inférieur à 2 entre 2 et 3 supérieur à 3
taux d'albumine (g/dL) supérieur à 3,5 entre 2,8 et 3,5 inférieur à 2,8
temps de Quick (secondes) entre 1 et 3 entre 4 et 6 supérieure à 6

On additionne ensuite le nombre de points attribué à chaque catégorie pour obtenir le score de Child-Pugh :

  • A = 5 à 6 points

  • B = 7 à 9 points

  • C = 10 à 15 points

Un score de Child-Pugh élevé signifie qu’on ne devrait pas pratiquer une chirurgie parce qu’il serait risqué de le faire. Le pronostic des personnes qui ne peuvent pas subir de chirurgie est plus sombre que celui des personnes qui peuvent subir une chirurgie pour enlever le cancer du foie.

Indice fonctionnel

L'indice fonctionnel, qui évalue votre capacité à exercer vos activités quotidiennes, est déterminé à l’aide du score de l’Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG). Les personnes dont l’indice fonctionnel est bon ou acceptable ont un meilleur pronostic que celles dont l’indice fonctionnel est faible.

Caractéristiques de la tumeur

Les personnes qui n'ont qu’une seule tumeur au foie ont un meilleur pronostic que celles qui ont de nombreuses tumeurs. Si les tumeurs se trouvent toutes dans un seul lobe, le pronostic est meilleur que si elles se trouvent dans les deux lobes du foie.

Une tumeur qui se développe à l’intérieur des vaisseaux sanguins ou qui les a envahis engendre un pronostic sombre.

Une tumeur de moins de 5 cm engendre un meilleur pronostic que les tumeurs plus grosses.

Type de tumeur

Le carcinome fibrolamellaire engendre un meilleur pronostic que d’autres types de cancer du foie. Ce type de tumeur n’envahit pas les tissus avoisinants très en profondeur, donc les médecins sont habituellement en mesure de l’enlever complètement au cours d’une chirurgie.

Révision par les experts et références

  • Bruix J, Sherman M. AASLD Practice Guideline: Management of hepatocellular carcinoma: an update. 2010: http://www.aasld.org/practiceguidelines/Documents/Bookmarked%20Practice%20Guidelines/HCCUpdate2010.pdf.
  • National Cancer Institute. Adult Primary Liver Cancer Treatment (PDQ®) Health Professional Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2010.
  • Palmer DH & Johnson PJ . Hepatocellular carcinoma. Gospodarowicz, M. K., O'Sullivan, B., Sobin, L. H., et al. (Eds.). Prognostic Factors in Cancer. 3rd ed. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, Inc.; 2006: 16: pp. 143-6.

Statistiques de survie pour le cancer du foie

La survie diffère pour chaque stade du cancer du foie. Renseignez-vous sur les statistiques de survie au cancer du foie selon le stade.