Barrett's esophagus

Precancerous conditions of the esophagus are changes to esophagus cells that make them more likely to develop into cancer. These conditions are not yet cancer. But if they aren't treated, there is a chance that these abnormal changes may become esophageal cancer.

Barrett's esophagus is the most common precancerous condition of the esophagus. In Barrett's esophagus, the normal cells lining the esophagus are replaced by cells that are like the lining of the stomach or intestine. This is called intestinal metaplasia. It is most often found in the gastroesophageal (GE) junction, which is where the esophagus joins the stomach.

People with Barrett's esophagus have a higher risk of developing abnormal cells, called dysplasia. Dysplasia describes how abnormal cells look. With low-grade dysplasia, the abnormal cells look somewhat different from normal cells. In high-grade dysplasia, the cells look very abnormal.

Dysplasia increases the risk of developing esophageal cancer. High-grade dysplasia increases the risk more than low-grade dysplasia or metaplasia.

Risk factors

The main risk factor for developing Barrett's esophagus is gastroesophageal reflux disease (GERD). But not everyone with GERD will develop Barret esophagus, and not everyone with Barrett's esophagus will develop cancer.

Other risk factors for Barrett's esophagus include obesity, smoking and drinking alcohol.

Symptoms

The symptoms of Barrett's esophagus may include:

  • stomach acid moving up into the esophagus (acid reflux)
  • heartburn
  • indigestion
  • chronic cough
  • hoarseness
  • having frequent lung infections (pneumonia)
  • back up of stomach contents into the mouth (regurgitation)
  • nausea and vomiting
  • changes to the teeth caused by regurgitation

Diagnosis

If you have symptoms or your doctor thinks you might have Barrett’s esophagus, you will be sent for tests. Tests used to diagnose Barrett’s esophagus may include:

  • upper gastrointestinal (GI) endoscopy
  • biopsy
  • endoscopic ultrasound (EUS)

Treatments

Treatments for Barrett’s esophagus may include:

Medicines such as proton pump inhibitors or H2 blockers may be given to treat GERD. These medicines control the amount of acid made in the stomach and reduce acid reflux.

Endoscopic mucosal resection (EMR) may be used to treat high-grade dysplasia in the esophagus. EMR removes the inner lining of the esophagus where there are abnormal cells.

Radiofrequency ablation (RFA) uses a high-frequency electrical current to remove abnormal cells. A balloon is connected to the end of an endoscope. The endoscope is inserted into the esophagus and the balloon is inflated so that the balloon can cover the area of abnormal cells. The radiofrequency current is given through the wall of the balloon.

Photodynamic therapy (PDT) uses a drug that makes cells sensitive to light. The drug is given intravenously, and the abnormal cells take it up from the blood stream. Using an endoscope inserted into the esophagus, the doctor exposes the abnormal cells to a light to destroy them.

Surgery to remove all or part of the esophagus is called an esophagectomy. It may be used to treat high-grade dysplasia in Barrett's esophagus, if there are very large or many areas of dysplasia. You must be healthy enough to have surgery.

Expert review and references

  • Abraham SC, Wu T . Esophageal Cancer: Pathology. Kelsen, D. P., Daly, J. M., Kern, S. E., Levin, B., Tepper, J. E., & Van Cutsem, E. (eds.). Principles and Practice of Gastrointestinal Oncology. 2nd ed. Philadelphia: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2008: 16: 179-191.
  • American Cancer Society. Esophagus Cancer. Atlanta, GA: American Cancer Society; 2013.
  • Cancer Research UK. Barrett's oesophagus. Cancer Research UK; 2014.
  • Dellon ES & Shaheen NJ . Esophageal cancer: epidemiology, screening, and prevention. Kelsen, D. P., Daly, J. M., Kern, S. E., Levin, B., Tepper, J. E., & Van Cutsem, E. (eds.). Principles and Practice of Gastrointestinal Oncology. 2nd ed. Philadelphia: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2008: 14: pp. 157-165.
  • Hart J . Barrett's esophagus with high-grade dysplasia and/or esophageal adenocarcinoma. Posner, M. C., Vokes, E. E. & Weichselbaum, R. R. Cancer of the Upper Gastrointestinal Tract. Hamilton: BC Decker Inc.; 2002: 4: 67-84.
  • Johnston, M. H. et al . Barrett esophagus. eMedicine.com. Omaha: eMedicine, Inc; 2014.
  • Longstreth GF . Anti-reflux surgery. National Cancer Institute & National Library of Medicine. MedlinePlus: Trusted Health Information For You: Medical Encyclopedia. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute & National Library of Medicine; 2009.
  • Barrett's oesophagus. Macmillan Cancer Support. Macmillan Cancer Support. London, UK: Macmillan Cancer Support; 2013.
  • National Cancer Institute. Esophageal Cancer Treatment (PDQ®) Patient Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2013.
  • National Cancer Institute. Esophageal Cancer Treatment (PDQ®) Health Professional Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2014.
  • Barrett's esophagus. National Cancer Institute & National Library of Medicine. MedlinePlus: Trusted Health Information For You: Medical Encyclopedia. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute & National Library of Medicine; 2013.

Œsophage de Barrett

Les états précancéreux de l’œsophage sont des changements subis par les cellules de l’œsophage qui les rendent plus susceptibles de devenir cancéreuses. Ces états ne sont pas encore cancéreux, mais les changements anormaux dans les cellules pourraient se transformer en cancer de l’œsophage s’ils ne sont pas traités.

L'œsophage de Barrett est l’état précancéreux de l’œsophage le plus fréquent. Les cellules normales qui tapissent l'œsophage sont remplacées par des cellules qui ressemblent à celles du revêtement de l'estomac ou de l'intestin. C’est ce qu’on appelle métaplasie intestinale. On l’observe le plus souvent dans la jonction œsophago-gastrique (OG), c’est-à-dire là où l'œsophage se joint à l'estomac.

Chez les personnes atteintes de l’œsophage de Barrett, les cellules risquent davantage de se développer anormalement, ce qu’on appelle dysplasie. La dysplasie décrit à quel point les cellules semblent anormales. Dans le cas de la dysplasie de bas grade, l’aspect des cellules anormales diffère un peu de celui des cellules normales. Dans le cas de la dysplasie de haut grade, les cellules semblent très anormales.

La dysplasie accroît le risque de cancer de l’œsophage. La dysplasie de haut grade fait davantage augmenter le risque comparativement à la dysplasie de bas grade ou à la métaplasie.

Facteurs de risque

Le principal facteur de risque de l’œsophage de Barrett est le reflux gastro-œsophagien pathologique (RGOP). Mais ce ne sont pas toutes les personnes qui font du RGOP qui développeront un œsophage de Barrett, ni toutes les personnes atteintes de l’œsophage de Barrett qui auront un jour un cancer.

Il y a d’autres facteurs de risque de l’œsophage de Barrett, dont l’obésité, le tabagisme et la consommation d’alcool.

Symptômes

Les symptômes de l’œsophage de Barrett peuvent être ceux-ci :

  • retour d’acide gastrique dans l’œsophage (reflux gastrique);
  • brûlures d'estomac;
  • difficulté à digérer;
  • toux chronique;
  • enrouement;
  • infections pulmonaires fréquentes (pneumonie);
  • retour du contenu de l’estomac dans la bouche (régurgitation);
  • nausées et vomissements;
  • changements des dents causés par la régurgitation.

Diagnostic

Si vous éprouvez des symptômes de l’œsophage de Barrett ou si votre médecin pense que vous pourriez en être atteint, vous passerez des examens. Les tests qui permettent de diagnostiquer l’œsophage de Barrett peuvent comprendre ceux-ci  :

  • endoscopie digestive haute (EDH);
  • biopsie;
  • échographie endoscopique, ou échoendoscopie (EE).

Traitements

Les options de traitement de l’œsophage de Barrett peuvent comprendre celles qui suivent.

Des médicaments comme les inhibiteurs de la pompe à protons ou les anti-H2 pourraient être administrés comme traitement du RGOP. Ces médicaments contrôlent la quantité d’acide produite dans l’estomac et atténuent le reflux gastrique.

La résection muqueuse endoscopique (REM) pourrait servir à traiter une dysplasie de haut grade dans l’œsophage. Lors de cette intervention, on enlève le revêtement interne de l’œsophage où il y a des cellules anormales.

L’ablation par radiofréquence (ARF) a recours à un courant électrique de haute fréquence pour enlever les cellules anormales. On fixe un ballonnet à l'extrémité d'un endoscope. On insère ensuite l’endoscope dans l’œsophage, puis on gonfle le ballonnet afin qu’il puisse couvrir la région contenant les cellules anormales. Le courant de radiofréquence est émis à travers la paroi du ballonnet.

La thérapie photodynamique (TPD) a recours à un médicament qui rend les cellules sensibles à la lumière. On administre le médicament par intraveineuse, alors il circule dans le sang, où les cellules anormales l’absorbent. À l’aide d’un endoscope inséré dans l’œsophage, le médecin expose les cellules anormales à la lumière afin de les détruire.

La chirurgie pratiquée pour enlever l’œsophage en partie ou en totalité est appelée œsophagectomie. On peut y avoir recours pour traiter la dysplasie de haut grade en présence de l’œsophage de Barrett, s’il y a de très grandes régions ou de nombreuses régions atteintes par la dysplasie. Vous devez être en assez bonne santé pour subir cette chirurgie.

Révision par les experts et références

  • Abraham SC, Wu T . Esophageal Cancer: Pathology. Kelsen, D. P., Daly, J. M., Kern, S. E., Levin, B., Tepper, J. E., & Van Cutsem, E. (eds.). Principles and Practice of Gastrointestinal Oncology. 2nd ed. Philadelphia: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2008: 16: 179-191.
  • American Cancer Society. Esophagus Cancer. Atlanta, GA: American Cancer Society; 2013.
  • Cancer Research UK. Barrett's oesophagus. Cancer Research UK; 2014.
  • Dellon ES & Shaheen NJ . Esophageal cancer: epidemiology, screening, and prevention. Kelsen, D. P., Daly, J. M., Kern, S. E., Levin, B., Tepper, J. E., & Van Cutsem, E. (eds.). Principles and Practice of Gastrointestinal Oncology. 2nd ed. Philadelphia: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2008: 14: pp. 157-165.
  • Hart J . Barrett's esophagus with high-grade dysplasia and/or esophageal adenocarcinoma. Posner, M. C., Vokes, E. E. & Weichselbaum, R. R. Cancer of the Upper Gastrointestinal Tract. Hamilton: BC Decker Inc.; 2002: 4: 67-84.
  • Johnston, M. H. et al . Barrett esophagus. eMedicine.com. Omaha: eMedicine, Inc; 2014.
  • Longstreth GF . Anti-reflux surgery. National Cancer Institute & National Library of Medicine. MedlinePlus: Trusted Health Information For You: Medical Encyclopedia. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute & National Library of Medicine; 2009.
  • Barrett's oesophagus. Macmillan Cancer Support. Macmillan Cancer Support. London, UK: Macmillan Cancer Support; 2013.
  • National Cancer Institute. Esophageal Cancer Treatment (PDQ®) Patient Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2013.
  • National Cancer Institute. Esophageal Cancer Treatment (PDQ®) Health Professional Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2014.
  • Barrett's esophagus. National Cancer Institute & National Library of Medicine. MedlinePlus: Trusted Health Information For You: Medical Encyclopedia. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute & National Library of Medicine; 2013.