Treatments for neuroendocrine carcinoma of unknown primary

Neuroendocrine carcinoma of unknown primary (CUP) is usually treated with chemotherapy or targeted therapy. Your healthcare team may suggest chemotherapy or targeted therapy based on your needs and work with you to develop a treatment plan.

Chemotherapy

Combination chemotherapy is the main treatment for neuroendocrine CUP. The drugs given will depend on if the cancer is poorly differentiated or well differentiated.

Poorly differentiated neuroendocrine CUP and small cell CUP are usually treated with either:

  • cisplatin (Platinol AQ) and etoposide (Vepesid, VP-16)
  • carboplatin (Paraplatin, Paraplatin AQ) and etoposide

Well differentiated neuroendocrine CUP may be treated with streptozocin (Zanosar) and 5-fluorouracil (Adrucil, 5-FU).

Targeted therapy

Targeted therapy may be offered to people with neuroendocrine carcinoma of unknown primary. The drugs used are:

  • sunitinib (Sutent)
  • everolimus (Afinitor)

If you can’t have or don’t want cancer treatment

You may want to consider a type of care to make you feel better rather than treat the cancer itself. This may be because the cancer treatments don’t work anymore, they’re not likely to improve your condition or they may cause side effects that are hard to cope with. There may also be other reasons why you can’t have or don’t want cancer treatment.

Talk to your healthcare team. They can help you choose care and treatment for advanced cancer.

Clinical trials

You may be asked if you want to join a clinical trial for cancer of unknown primary. Find out more about clinical trials.

Expert review and references

  • Bhosale P, Shah A, Wei W, Varadhachary G, Johnson V, Shah V, and Kundra V . Carcinoid tumours: predicting the location of the primary neoplasm based on the sites of metastases. European Radiology. Springer; 2012.
  • Fizazi K, Greco FA, Pavlidis N, et al . Cancers of unknown primary site: ESMO Clinical Practice Guidelines for diagnosis, treatment and follow-up. Annals of Oncology. Oxford University Press; 2011.
  • Greco FA & Hainsworth JD . Cancer of unknown primary site. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, & Rosenberg SA. Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology. 10th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2015: 113:1720-1737.
  • Hainsworth JD, Greco FA . Chemotherapy of carcinoma of unknown primary site. Perry MC, Doll DC, Freter CE. Perry's The Chemotherapy Source Book. 5th ed. Lippincott Williams Wilkins; 2012: Chapter 37. http://www.lwwoncology.com.
  • Lisovsky M, Tafe LJ, Lefferts JA . Molecular diagnostics of metastatic malignancies. Tan D, Lynch, HT (eds.). Principles of Molecular Diagnostics and Personalized Cancer Medicine. Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2013: Chapter 42.
  • National Comprehensive Cancer Network. Occult Primary (Cancer of Unknown Primary [CUP]) (Version 3.2014). http://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/pdf/occult.pdf.

Traitements du carcinome neuroendocrinien de siège primitif inconnu

On traite généralement le carcinome neuroendocrinien de siège primitif inconnu au moyen d’une chimiothérapie ou d’un traitement ciblé. Selon vos besoins, votre équipe de soins pourrait vous proposer ces traitements et elle discutera avec vous afin d’élaborer un plan de traitement.

Chimiothérapie

La chimiothérapie d’association est le traitement principal du carcinome neuroendocrinien de siège primitif inconnu. Les médicaments administrés varient selon que le cancer est peu différencié ou bien différencié.

Dans le cas du carcinome neuroendocrinien peu différencié de siège primitif inconnu et du carcinome à petites cellules de siège primitif inconnu, on a habituellement recours aux associations suivantes :

  • cisplatine (Platinol AQ) et étoposide (Vepesid, VP-16)
  • carboplatine (Paraplatin, Paraplatin AQ) et étoposide

Dans le cas du carcinome neuroendocrinien bien différencié de siège primitif inconnu, on peut employer une association de streptozocine (Zanosar) et de 5-fluorouracile (Adrucil, 5-FU).

Traitement ciblé

On peut proposer un traitement ciblé aux personnes atteintes d’un carcinome neuroendocrinien de siège primitif inconnu. Les médicaments employés sont :

  • sunitinib (Sutent)
  • évérolimus (Afinitor)

Si vous ne pouvez pas ou ne voulez pas recevoir de traitement du cancer

Vous pourriez envisager des soins qui visent à vous faire sentir mieux plutôt qu’à traiter le cancer lui-même, peut-être parce que les traitements du cancer n’agissent plus, qu’il n’est plus probable qu’ils améliorent votre état ou que leurs effets secondaires sont difficiles à tolérer. D’autres raisons peuvent expliquer pourquoi vous ne pouvez pas ou ne voulez pas recevoir de traitement du cancer.

Discutez avec les membres de votre équipe de soins. Ils peuvent vous aider à choisir les soins et le traitement pour un cancer avancé.

Essais cliniques

On peut vous demander si vous voulez participer à un essai clinique sur le cancer primitif inconnu (CPI). Apprenez-en davantage sur les essais cliniques.

Révision par les experts et références

  • Bhosale P, Shah A, Wei W, Varadhachary G, Johnson V, Shah V, and Kundra V . Carcinoid tumours: predicting the location of the primary neoplasm based on the sites of metastases. European Radiology. Springer; 2012.
  • Fizazi K, Greco FA, Pavlidis N, et al . Cancers of unknown primary site: ESMO Clinical Practice Guidelines for diagnosis, treatment and follow-up. Annals of Oncology. Oxford University Press; 2011.
  • Greco FA & Hainsworth JD . Cancer of unknown primary site. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, & Rosenberg SA. Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology. 10th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2015: 113:1720-1737.
  • Hainsworth JD, Greco FA . Chemotherapy of carcinoma of unknown primary site. Perry MC, Doll DC, Freter CE. Perry's The Chemotherapy Source Book. 5th ed. Lippincott Williams Wilkins; 2012: Chapter 37. http://www.lwwoncology.com.
  • Lisovsky M, Tafe LJ, Lefferts JA . Molecular diagnostics of metastatic malignancies. Tan D, Lynch, HT (eds.). Principles of Molecular Diagnostics and Personalized Cancer Medicine. Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2013: Chapter 42.
  • National Comprehensive Cancer Network. Occult Primary (Cancer of Unknown Primary [CUP]) (Version 3.2014). http://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/pdf/occult.pdf.