The stomach

Last medical review:

The stomach is a muscular, J-shaped organ in the upper part of the abdomen. It is a part of the digestive system that holds and breaks down food. The size of the stomach varies from person to person and meal to meal.

The top of the stomach is connected to the esophagus. The area where the esophagus joins the stomach is called the gastroesophageal (GE) junction. The bottom of the stomach connects to the first part of the small intestine (the duodenum). The stomach is surrounded by many lymph nodes.

Diagram of the digestive system
Diagram of the digestive system

Areas of the stomach

The stomach is divided into 5 areas:

  • The cardia is the first part of the stomach, which is connected to the esophagus. It contains the cardiac sphincter, which is a thin ring of muscle that helps to prevent stomach contents from going back up into the esophagus.
  • The fundus is the top, rounded area that lies to the left of the cardia.
  • The body is the largest and main part of the stomach. This is where food is mixed and starts to break down.
  • The antrum is the lower part of the stomach. It holds the broken-down food until it is ready to move into the small intestine.
  • The pylorus is the part of the stomach that connects to the small intestine. It includes the pyloric sphincter, which is a thick ring of muscle that acts as a valve to control the emptying of stomach contents (chyme) into the duodenum (first part of the small intestine). The pyloric sphincter also prevents the contents of the duodenum from going back into the stomach.
Diagram of the stomach
Diagram of the stomach

Layers of the stomach wall

The stomach is made up of several layers of tissue:

  • The mucosa (mucous membrane) is the inner lining of the stomach. It is made up of glands and specialized cells that make mucus, hydrochloric acid and enzymes. The mucosa has ridges (rugae) when the stomach is empty. The ridges flatten out as the stomach fills with food.
  • The submucosa is a layer of connective tissue that surrounds the mucosa. It contains larger blood and lymph vessels, nerve cells and fibres.
  • The muscularis propria (muscularis externa) is the next layer that covers the submucosa. It is the main muscle of the stomach and is made up of 2 layers of muscle.
  • The serosa is the fibrous membrane that covers the outside of the stomach. The serosa of the stomach is also called the visceral peritoneum.

How the stomach works

When you see, smell or think of food, your central nervous system (CNS) sends a message to your stomach to make acids, enzymes and mucus for digestion (called gastric juice). Endocrine cells in the stomach release the hormone gastrin into the blood to help control the function of the stomach.

After food and liquids are swallowed, they travel through the esophagus to the stomach. The muscles of the stomach wall tighten (contract) and relax (expand), which mixes the food with the acids and enzymes. Mucus helps protect the lining of the stomach from the acids.

Food and liquids are broken down into a thick, acidic, soupy mixture called chyme. Once chyme is formed, the pyloric sphincter relaxes. Then the stomach muscles tighten and relax to help move the chyme into the duodenum where digestion continues and many nutrients are absorbed (taken up).

The stomach does not have a big role in absorption of food. It absorbs only water, alcohol and some drugs.

L’estomac

Dernière révision médicale :

L’estomac est un organe musculaire en forme de J qui est situé dans la partie supérieure de l’abdomen. C'est une partie de l’appareil digestif qui contient les aliments et où ceux-ci sont décomposés. La taille de l’estomac varie d’une personne à l’autre et d'un repas à l'autre.

Le haut de l'estomac est relié à l'œsophage. Le point de contact entre l’œsophage et l’estomac est appelé jonction œsophago-gastrique (OG). Le bas de l'estomac est rattaché à la première partie de l'intestin grêle (duodénum). L’estomac est entouré de nombreux ganglions lymphatiques.

Schéma de l'appareil digestif
Schéma de l'appareil digestif

Régions de l'estomac

L’estomac est divisé en 5 régions.

  • Le cardia est la région initiale de l’estomac; il communique avec l’œsophage. Il renferme le sphincter cardial, un mince anneau musculaire qui empêche le contenu de l'estomac de remonter dans l’œsophage.
  • Le fundus est la région supérieure, de forme arrondie, qui est située à gauche du cardia.
  • Le corps est la principale et la plus grande partie de l’estomac. C'est là que les aliments sont mélangés et commencent à se désintégrer.
  • L' antre est la partie inférieure de l’estomac. Il retient les aliments décomposés jusqu’à ce qu’ils soient prêts à passer dans l’intestin grêle.
  • Le pylore est la partie de l’estomac qui communique avec l’intestin grêle. Il comprend le sphincter pylorique, un anneau de muscles épais qui agit comme une valve pour régler la vidange du contenu de l’estomac (chyme) dans le duodénum (première partie de l’intestin grêle). Le sphincter pylorique empêche aussi le contenu du duodénum de remonter dans l’estomac.
Schéma de l'estomac
Schéma de l'estomac

Couches de la paroi de l’estomac

L’estomac est constitué de plusieurs couches de tissu.

  • La muqueuse (membrane muqueuse) est le revêtement interne de l’estomac. Elle est faite de glandes et de cellules spécialisées qui fabriquent du mucus, de l'acide chlorhydrique et des enzymes. Des replis (rides) se forment sur la muqueuse lorsque l'estomac est vide. Ces replis s'aplanissent à mesure que l'estomac se remplit de nourriture.
  • La sous-muqueuse est une couche de tissu conjonctif qui entoure la muqueuse. Elle comprend de gros vaisseaux sanguins et lymphatiques, des cellules nerveuses et des fibres.
  • La musculeuse (musculeuse externe ou muscularis propria) est la couche suivante, qui couvre la sous-muqueuse. C’est le muscle principal de l’estomac et il est constitué de 2 couches de muscles.
  • La séreuse est la membrane fibreuse qui recouvre l’extérieur de l’estomac. La séreuse de l’estomac est aussi appelée péritoine viscéral.

Fonctionnement de l'estomac

Lorsque vous voyez ou sentez des aliments, ou que vous pensez à de la nourriture, votre système nerveux central (SNC) envoie un message à votre estomac afin qu'il produise des substances acides, des enzymes et du mucus (appelés sucs gastriques) pour effectuer la digestion. Les cellules endocrines de l'estomac libèrent dans le sang la gastrine, une hormone qui aide à contrôler le fonctionnement de l'estomac.

Après avoir été avalés, les aliments et les liquides descendent dans l'œsophage jusqu'à l'estomac. Les muscles de la paroi de l'estomac se resserrent (contraction) et se relâchent (expansion), ce qui permet aux aliments de se mêler aux acides et aux enzymes. Le mucus aide à protéger la paroi de l'estomac des substances acides.

La nourriture et les liquides sont décomposés en une mixture épaisse, acide et trouble appelée chyme. Une fois que le chyme est formé, le sphincter pylorique se relâche. Ensuite, les muscles de l'estomac se resserrent puis se relâchent pour faciliter le mouvement du chyme vers le duodénum, où la digestion se poursuit et où de nombreux nutriments sont absorbés.

L'estomac ne joue pas un grand rôle dans l'absorption des aliments. Il n'absorbe que l'eau, l'alcool et certains médicaments.