What is non-melanoma skin cancer?

Last medical review:

Non-melanoma skin cancer starts in the cells of the skin. A cancerous (malignant) growth is a group of cancer cells that can grow into and destroy nearby tissue. It can also spread (metastasize) to other parts of the body, but this is rare with non-melanoma skin cancer.

The skin is the body’s largest organ. It covers your entire body and protects you against harmful factors from the environment such as the sun, hot temperatures and germs. The skin controls body temperature, removes waste products from the body through sweat and provides the sense of touch. It also helps make vitamin D.

Cells in the skin sometimes change and no longer grow or behave normally. These changes may lead to non-cancerous (benign) growths such as dermatofibromas, moles, skin tags and warts.

Changes to cells of the skin can also cause precancerous conditions. This means that the abnormal cells are not yet cancer, but there is a chance that they may become cancer if they aren’t treated. A precancerous condition of the skin is actinic keratosis.

But in some cases, changes to skin cells can cause non-melanoma skin cancer. Most often, non-melanoma skin cancer starts in round cells called basal cells found in the top layer of the skin (epidermis). This type of cancer is called basal cell carcinoma (BCC) and makes up about 75%–80% of all skin cancers. Non-melanoma skin cancer can also start in squamous cells of the skin, which are flat cells found in the outer part of the epidermis. This type of cancer is called squamous cell carcinoma (SCC) and makes up about 20% of all skin cancers. BCC and SCC tend to grow slowly and are often found early.

Rare types of non-melanoma skin cancer can also develop. These include Merkel cell carcinoma and cutaneous T-cell lymphoma.

Expert review and references

  • American Cancer Society. Skin Cancer: Basal and Squamous Cell. Atlanta: American Cancer Society; 2014.
  • Mahon SM and Yackzan SG . Skin cancer. Yarbro CH, Wujcki D, Holmes Gobel B (eds.). Cancer Nursing: Principles and Practice. 7th ed. Sudbury, MA: Jones and Bartlett; 2011: 66:1650-1682.
  • Thomas, V.D., Aasi, S.Z., & Wilson, L.D., et al . Cancer of the skin. Devita, V. T., Jr., Lawrence, T. S., & Rosenberg, S. A. Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology. 8th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2008: 47: pp. 1863-1887.

Merkel cell carcinoma

Merkel cell carcinoma is a rare type of non-melanoma skin cancer. Learn about Merkel cell carcinoma, including treatment options.

The skin

The skin is the body’s largest organ. Learn about functions of the skin and the skin’s different layers.

Types of non-melanoma skin cancer

There are 2 main types of non-melanoma – basal cell carcinoma (BCC) and squamous cell carcinoma (SCC). Learn about types of non-melanoma skin cancer.

Precancerous conditions of the skin

Learn about a precancerous condition of the skin, actinic keratosis, which may develop into non-melanoma skin cancer if it isn’t treated.

Non-cancerous tumours of the skin

Learn about non-cancerous skin growths, such as moles and skin tags, which do not spread to other parts of the body and are not usually life-threatening.

Qu’est-ce que le cancer de la peau autre que le mélanome?

Dernière révision médicale :

Le cancer de la peau autre que le mélanome prend naissance dans les cellules de la peau. Une masse cancéreuse (maligne) est un amas de cellules cancéreuses qui peut envahir et détruire les tissus qui l’entourent. Elle peut aussi se propager (métastases) à d’autres parties du corps, mais cela se produit rarement dans le cas du cancer de la peau autre que le mélanome.

La peau est le plus gros organe du corps humain. Elle recouvre tout votre corps et vous protège contre les éléments nocifs de l’environnement comme le soleil, les températures chaudes et les germes. La peau contrôle la température corporelle, elle élimine les déchets du corps par la sueur et procure le toucher. Elle aide aussi à fabriquer la vitamine D.

Les cellules de la peau subissent parfois des changements qui rendent leur mode de croissance ou leur comportement anormal. Ces changements peuvent engendrer la formation de masses non cancéreuses (bénignes) comme les dermatofibromes, les grains de beauté, les acrochordons et les verrues.

Des changements dans les cellules de la peau peuvent aussi causer un état précancéreux. Cela signifie que les cellules anormales ne sont pas encore cancéreuses, mais qu’elles risquent de le devenir si on ne les traite pas. La kératose sénile est un état précancéreux de la peau.

Mais dans certains cas, les changements subis par les cellules de la peau peuvent mener au cancer de la peau autre que le mélanome. Le cancer de la peau autre que le mélanome prend le plus souvent naissance dans les cellules rondes appelées cellules basales qui sont présentes dans la couche supérieure de la peau (épiderme). Ce type de cancer est un carcinome basocellulaire (CBC) et il représente environ 75 à 80 % de tous les cancers de la peau. Le cancer de la peau autre que le mélanome peut aussi prendre naissance dans les cellules squameuses de la peau, qui sont des cellules plates présentes dans la partie externe de l’épiderme. Ce type de cancer est un carcinome spinocellulaire (CSC) et il représente environ 20 % de tous les cancers de la peau. Le CBC et le CSC ont tendance à se développer lentement et on les détecte souvent tôt.

Des types rares de cancer de la peau autre que le mélanome peuvent aussi se manifester. Le carcinome à cellules de Merkel et le lymphome T cutané en sont des exemples.

Révision par les experts et références

  • American Cancer Society. Skin Cancer: Basal and Squamous Cell. Atlanta: American Cancer Society; 2014.
  • Mahon SM and Yackzan SG . Skin cancer. Yarbro CH, Wujcki D, Holmes Gobel B (eds.). Cancer Nursing: Principles and Practice. 7th ed. Sudbury, MA: Jones and Bartlett; 2011: 66:1650-1682.
  • Thomas, V.D., Aasi, S.Z., & Wilson, L.D., et al . Cancer of the skin. Devita, V. T., Jr., Lawrence, T. S., & Rosenberg, S. A. Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology. 8th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2008: 47: pp. 1863-1887.

Carcinome à cellules de Merkel

Le carcinome à cellules de Merkel est un type rare de cancer qui représente moins de 1 % de tous les cancers de la peau autres que le mélanome.

La peau

La peau est le plus gros organe du corps. Elle crée une barrière entre l'environnement extérieur et nos organes internes. La peau accomplit plusieurs fonctions importantes qui sont essentielles à la vie humaine.

Types de cancer de la peau autre que le mélanome

Le CBC prend naissance dans les cellules basales qui se trouvent dans la couche la plus profonde de l'épiderme. Le CBC est le type de cancer de la peau le plus courant puisqu’il représente environ 75 % de tous les diagnostics de cancer de la peau autre que le mélanome.

États précancéreux de la peau

Un état précancéreux de la peau peut se transformer en cancer de la peau autre que le mélanome.

Tumeurs de la peau non cancéreuses

Une tumeur bénigne de la peau est une masse non cancéreuse qui ne se propage pas vers d'autres parties du corps (pas de métastases) et qui ne met habituellement pas la vie en danger.