Watchful waiting for neuroblastoma

Watchful waiting is also called observation or surveillance. It means that the healthcare team watches closely for signs or symptoms of disease rather than giving treatment right away. Treatment is given when the signs and symptoms of neuroblastoma develop or change.

Watchful waiting may be a treatment option for babies younger than 12 months who have stage 4S neuroblastoma with favourable prognostic factors and no symptoms. These tumours often disappear without treatment (called spontaneous regression) or develop into a non-cancerous ganglioneuroma.

This approach helps avoid problems or side effects that can happen with other treatments. Try to keep this in mind if you are worried that nothing is being done to treat your child. Talk to your child’s healthcare team for more information about watchful waiting.

There isn’t any evidence so far that watchful waiting reduces long-term survival or has other negative effects if or when the child starts treatment.

Expert review and references

  • American Society of Clinical Oncology. Neuroblastoma. 2014.
  • Bartholomew, J . Neuroblastoma. Baggott C, Fochtman D, Foley GV & Patterson Kelly, K (eds.). Nursing Care of Children and Adolescents with Cancer and Blood Disorders. 4th ed. APHON; 2011: 30: pp. 1038-1053.
  • Brodeur GM, Hogarty MC, et al . Neuroblastoma. Pizzo, P. A. & Poplack, D. G. (Eds.). Principles and Practice of Pediatric Oncology. 6th ed. Philadelphia: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2011: 30:886-922.
  • National Cancer Institute. Neuroblastoma Treatment (PDQ®) Health Professional Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2014.
  • National Cancer Institute. Neuroblastoma Treatment (PDQ®) Patient Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2014.

Observation vigilante du neuroblastome

Dernière révision médicale :

L’observation vigilante est aussi appelée surveillance active. L’équipe de soins surveille attentivement l’apparition de signes ou de symptômes de la maladie plutôt que d’administrer immédiatement un traitement. On entame un traitement lorsque les signes et symptômes du neuroblastome apparaissent ou évoluent.

L’observation vigilante peut être une option de traitement pour les bébés de moins de 12 mois qui sont atteints d’un neuroblastome de stade 4S et qui présentent des facteurs pronostiques favorables et aucun symptôme. Ces tumeurs disparaissent souvent sans traitement (régression spontanée) ou se transforment en ganglioneurome non cancéreux.

L’observation vigilante permet d’éviter des problèmes ou des effets secondaires susceptibles de survenir avec d’autres traitements. Essayez de ne pas oublier cela si vous êtes inquiet et avez parfois l’impression qu’on ne fait rien pour traiter votre enfant. Parlez avec l’équipe de soins de votre enfant pour en apprendre davantage sur l’observation vigilante.

À ce jour, aucune donnée n’indique que l’observation vigilante réduit la survie à long terme ni qu’elle est associée à d’autres effets négatifs lorsqu’on commence le traitement (si on le commence).

Révision par les experts et références

  • Meredith Irwin, MD
  • Daniel Morgenstern, MD
  • American Society of Clinical Oncology. Neuroblastoma. 2018: https://www.cancer.net/cancer-types/neuroblastoma-childhood/view-all.
  • Lacayo NJ. Pediatric Neuroblastoma. eMedicine/Medscape; 2017: https://emedicine.medscape.com/.
  • Cancer Research UK. Neuroblastoma. Cancer Research UK; 2014.
  • PDQ® Pediatric Treatment Editorial Board. Neuroblastoma Treatment (PDQ®)–Health ProfessionalVersion. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute ; 2020: https://www.cancer.gov/.
  • Brodeur GM, Hogarty MD, Bagatell R, Mosse YP, Maris JM. Neuroblastoma. Pizzo PA, Poplack DG, eds.. Principles and Practice of Pediatric Oncology . 7th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Wolters Kluwer; 2016: 30:772–797.
  • American Cancer Society. After Neuroblastoma Treatment. 2018: https://www.cancer.org/.
  • PDQ® Pediatric Treatment Editorial Board. Neuroblastoma Treatment (PDQ®)–Patient Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2021: https://www.cancer.gov/types/neuroblastoma/patient/neuroblastoma-treatment-pdq.
  • Bartholomew, J . Neuroblastoma. Baggott C, Fochtman D, Foley GV & Patterson Kelly, K (eds.). Nursing Care of Children and Adolescents with Cancer and Blood Disorders. 4th ed. APHON; 2011: 30: pp. 1038-1053.