Risk factors for cervical cancer

A risk factor is something that increases the risk of developing cancer. It could be a behaviour, substance or condition. Most cancers are the result of many risk factors. Infection with the human papillomavirus (HPV) is the main risk factor for cervical cancer, but it does not always cause the disease by itself. We now know that other risk factors (co-factors) act along with HPV to increase the risk for cervical cancer.

Most cases of cervical cancer occur in women younger than 50 years of age. Cervical cancer tends to affect women of African ancestry more often than Caucasian women. Women of certain religions (for example, Catholic nuns and Amish and Mormon women) also tend to have lower rates of cervical cancer. This is likely due to having fewer sexual partners, which can lower their exposure to HPV.

Women with lower incomes and women with less education have a higher risk for cervical cancer. This may be because women in these groups do not have regular cervical screening or have other risk factors, such as higher rates of smoking.

Precancerous conditions of the cervix include squamous intraepithelial lesions (SILs). This isn’t cancer, but it can sometimes become cervical cancer if it isn’t treated. Some of the risk factors for cervical cancer may also cause these precancerous conditions. Find out more about precancerous conditions of the cervix.

Risk factors are generally listed in order from most to least important. But in most cases, it is impossible to rank them with absolute certainty.

Infection with human papillomavirus (HPV)

Most women who develop cervical cancer have had an HPV infection. But having an HPV infection doesn’t mean that you will develop cervical cancer. Many different types of HPV can infect the cervix, but only some of them cause abnormal changes to cells that may turn into cancer.

Find out more about human papillomavirus (HPV).

Sexual activity

Being sexually active means more than just having intercourse with someone. It can mean:

  • any genital skin-to-skin contact
  • having oral sex

All women who have ever been sexually active are at risk for developing cervical cancer. This is because sexual activity potentially exposes you to HPV. Women who have never been sexually active rarely develop cervical cancer. 

Becoming sexually active at a young age can increase the risk for cervical cancer. Researchers think this increased risk is because the cervix changes during puberty. These changes make the area more vulnerable to damage.

Certain types of sexual behaviour increase a woman’s risk of infection with HPV. Having intercourse with many partners can increase exposure to HPV, which is transmitted by sexual contact. For this reason, having many sexual partners is linked with a higher risk of cervical cancer. But a woman can have HPV even when she has had only one sexual partner.

Women also seem to be at a higher risk for developing cervical cancer if their male partners have had many sexual partners or female partners with cervical cancer.

Smoking

Smoking increases the chance of an HPV infection not going away on its own. If an HPV infection doesn’t go away, it can lead to the development of SIL, which is a precancerous condition of the cervix, and cervical cancer.

Giving birth many times

Parity is the number of times a woman has given birth. Multiparity, or giving birth more than once, has been linked with a higher risk for cervical cancer in women with an HPV infection. The more children a woman gives birth to, the greater her risk for cervical cancer. But there isn’t a specific number of births that increases the risk.

We don’t yet fully understand how giving birth increases the risk for cervical cancer. It may be because of changes in hormones during pregnancy, or the trauma to the cervix during birth. Some research has suggested that women who have caesarean sections do not have a higher risk of developing cervical cancer.

Infection with human immunodeficiency virus (HIV)

The human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) weakens the immune system. A weakened immune system increases the risk of getting other infections, including HPV. Having a weakened immune system also increases the chances that an HPV infection won’t go away. HIV increases the risk that precancerous changes to the cells in the cervix can develop into cervical cancer.

Women who are HIV positive have a higher risk for cervical cancer, and precancerous cells change to cervical cancer faster in HIV-positive women than in HIV-negative women.

History of sexually transmitted infections (STIs)

Chlamydia trachomatis is a type of bacteria. It is spread by sexual contact and can infect a woman’s genital tract. Women with both HPV and chlamydia infections have a higher risk for cervical cancer. Researchers think that long-term inflammation caused by chlamydia makes it harder for the body to clear the HPV infection, especially with repeated chlamydia infections.

Herpes simplex virus type 2 is also called human herpesvirus 2 or HHV-2. Infection with this virus may also be linked with a higher risk of developing cervical cancer in women with HPV.

Oral contraceptives

Oral contraceptives are commonly called the pill. Taking oral contraceptives over a long time may increase the risk of an HPV infection developing into cervical cancer. This risk does not appear to be related to having an HPV infection. Women who take oral contraceptives for more than 5 years appear to have the highest risk for cervical cancer. This risk goes down over time after you stop taking oral contraceptives. After 10 years of not taking them, your risk for cervical cancer is no longer high.

Diethylstilbestrol (DES)

Diethylstilbestrol (DES) is a form of estrogen. It was used between 1940 and 1971 to treat women with certain problems during pregnancy, such as miscarriages. It has not been approved for use in pregnant women since the 1970s.

Daughters of women who took DES during their pregnancy have a higher than average risk of developing a rare type of cervical cancer called clear cell carcinoma. Some studies also suggest that daughters of women who took DES may have a higher risk of developing precancerous changes of the cervix and squamous cell carcinoma (SCC) of the cervix.

Possible risk factors

Using immunosuppressant drugs is a possible risk factor for cervical cancer. This means that it has been linked with cervical cancer, but there is not enough evidence to show for sure that it is a risk factor.

There is some evidence that these drugs may increase the risk for cervical cancer in women who have received an organ transplant. The evidence for women taking immunosuppressant drugs for immune disorders like systemic lupus erythematosus or inflammatory bowel disease (ulcerative colitis or Crohn’s disease) is inconclusive.

Questions to ask your healthcare team

To make the decisions that are right for you, ask your healthcare team questions about risks.

Expert review and references

  • American Cancer Society. What are the risk factors for cervical cancer?. 2017.
  • Cancer Research UK. Cervical cancer: risks and causes. Cancer Research UK; 2017.
  • Franceschi S, El-Serag HB, Forman D, Newton R, Plummer M . Infectious agents. Thun MJ (ed.). Schottenfeld and Fraumeni Cancer Epidemiology and Prevention. 4th ed. New York, NY: Oxford University Press; 2018: 24: 433-460.
  • Herrero R and Murillo R . Cervical cancer. Thun MJ (ed.). Schottenfeld and Fraumeni Cancer Epidemiology and Prevention. 4th ed. New York, NY: Oxford University Press; 2018: 48: 925-945.
  • Hoover RN, Black A, Troisi R . Hormones and cancer. Thun MJ (ed.). Schottenfeld and Fraumeni Cancer Epidemiology and Prevention. 4th ed. New York, NY: Oxford University Press; 2018: 22:395-410.
  • International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC). Volume 100E: Personal Habits and Indoor Combustions. 2012: http://monographs.iarc.fr/ENG/Monographs/vol100E/mono100E.pdf.
  • International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC). Volume 100B: Biological agents: a review of human carcinogens. 2012: http://monographs.iarc.fr/ENG/Monographs/vol100B/mono100B.pdf.
  • Klopp AH, Eifel PJ, Berek JS, Konstantinopoulos PA . Cancer of the cervix, vagina and vulva. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, Rosenberg SA. Cancer: Principles and Practice of Oncology. 10th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2015: 72:1013-1047.
  • Kroenke C, Kawachi I . Socioeconomic disparities in cancer incidence and mortality. Thun MJ (ed.). Schottenfeld and Fraumeni Cancer Epidemiology and Prevention. 4th ed. New York, NY: Oxford University Press; 2018: 9: 14-168.
  • National Toxicology Program. 14th Report on Carcinogens. Department of Health and Human Services; 2016: http://ntp.niehs.nih.gov/pubhealth/roc/index-1.html.

Reducing your risk for cervical cancer

Ways of reducing your risk for cervical cancer include reducing exposure to HPV. Learn how to lower your risk of developing cervical cancer.

Facteurs de risque du cancer du col de l’utérus

Un facteur de risque est quelque chose, comme un comportement, une substance ou un état, qui accroît le risque d’apparition d’un cancer. La plupart des cancers sont attribuables à de nombreux facteurs de risque. Le plus important facteur de risque du cancer du col de l’utérus est l’infection au virus du papillome humain (VPH), mais elle ne cause pas toujours la maladie à elle seule. Nous savons maintenant que d’autres facteurs de risque (cofacteurs) agissent de concert avec le VPH pour accroître le risque de cancer du col de l’utérus.

La majorité des cancers du col de l'utérus apparaît chez des personnes âgées de moins de 50 ans. Le cancer du col de l'utérus a tendance à affecter davantage les personnes d'origine africaine que les personnes blanches. Les taux de cancer du col de l'utérus tendent aussi à être plus faibles chez les personnes appartenant à certaines communautés religieuses, comme les religieuses catholiques, les amish ou les mormones. C'est probablement à cause du petit nombre de partenaires sexuels qu'ont ces personnes, ce qui pourrait réduire leur exposition au VPH.

Les personnes dont le revenu est faible et celles qui sont moins éduquées risquent davantage d’être atteintes du cancer du col de l’utérus. C’est peut-être parce que ces personnes ne passent pas régulièrement de test de dépistage ou parce qu’elles présentent d’autres facteurs de risque, comme un taux de tabagisme plus élevé.

Les états précancéreux du col de l’utérus comprennent les lésions malpighiennes intra-épithéliales (SIL). Ce n’est pas un cancer, mais elle peut parfois se transformer en cancer du col de l'utérus si elle n’est pas traitée. Certains des facteurs de risque du cancer du col de l’utérus peuvent aussi causer ces états précancéreux. Apprenez-en davantage sur les états précancéreux du col de l’utérus.

Les facteurs de risque sont habituellement classés du plus important au moins important. Mais, dans la plupart des cas, il est impossible de les classer avec une certitude absolue.

Infection au virus du papillome humain (VPH)

La majorité des femmes qui sont atteintes du cancer du col de l'utérus ont déjà eu une infection au VPH. Mais avoir une infection au VPH ne signifie pas que vous serez atteinte d’un cancer du col de l’utérus. Beaucoup de types différents de VPH peuvent infecter le col, mais seuls quelques-uns causent des changements anormaux dans les cellules qui peuvent évoluer en cancer.

Apprenez-en davantage sur le virus du papillome humain (VPH).

Activité sexuelle

Être actif sexuellement signifie plus que seulement avoir une relation sexuelle avec quelqu‘un. Ce pourrait être :

  • n’importe quel contact cutané (peau sur peau) génital;
  • des rapports sexuels oraux.

Toutes les femmes qui ont déjà été actives sexuellement risquent d'être atteintes du cancer du col de l'utérus puisque l’activité sexuelle peut les exposer au VPH. Ce type de cancer apparaît rarement chez les femmes qui n'ont jamais été actives sexuellement.

Devenir sexuellement active à un jeune âge peut accroître le risque d’apparition du cancer du col de l’utérus. Les chercheurs croient que cette hausse du risque serait attribuable aux changements qui se produisent dans le col lors de la puberté et qui rendent cette région plus vulnérable aux lésions.

Certains types de comportements sexuels font augmenter le risque d’infection au VPH chez la femme. Avoir des relations sexuelles avec de nombreux partenaires peut accroître l’exposition au VPH, qui est transmis sexuellement. C’est pour cette raison qu’on a établi un lien entre de nombreux partenaires sexuels et une hausse du risque de cancer du col de l’utérus. Cependant, une femme peut être infectée par le VPH même si elle n’a eu qu’un seul partenaire sexuel.

Il semble que les femmes soient également plus à risque d’avoir le cancer du col de l’utérus si leurs partenaires masculins ont eu de nombreux partenaires sexuels ou des partenaires féminines atteintes du cancer du col de l’utérus.

Tabagisme

Le tabagisme fait en sorte qu’une infection au VPH risque davantage de ne pas disparaître d’elle-même. Si une infection au VPH ne disparaît pas, elle peut engendrer la formation d’une lésion malpighienne intra-épithéliale (SIL), qui est un état précancéreux du col de l’utérus, ainsi que l’apparition d’un cancer du col de l’utérus.

Accouchements multiples

La parité, c’est le nombre de fois qu’une femme a donné naissance à un enfant, ou accouché. On a établi un lien entre la multiparité, c’est-à-dire accoucher plus d’une fois, et le risque de cancer du col de l’utérus chez les femmes ayant une infection au VPH. Ce risque augmente en fonction du nombre de fois qu’une femme accouche. Mais le risque n’augmente pas en fonction d’un nombre spécifique d’accouchements.

On ne comprend pas encore tout à fait comment les accouchements font augmenter le risque de cancer du col de l’utérus. C’est peut-être à cause des changements hormonaux qui se produisent en cours de grossesse ou du traumatisme subi par le col lors de l’accouchement. Certaines recherches laissent entendre que les femmes qui ont des césariennes ne risquent pas davantage d’avoir un cancer du col de l’utérus.

Infection au virus de l'immunodéficience humaine (VIH)

Le virus de l’immunodéficience humaine (VIH) affaiblit le système immunitaire. Un système immunitaire affaibli fait augmenter le risque d’attraper d’autres infections, dont le VPH. Avoir un système immunitaire plus faible accroît aussi le risque qu’une infection au VPH ne disparaisse pas. Le VIH fait augmenter le risque que des changements précancéreux dans les cellules du col de l’utérus évoluent en cancer du col de l’utérus.

Les femmes qui sont séropositives pour le VIH risquent davantage d’avoir le cancer du col de l’utérus, et les cellules précancéreuses se transforment plus rapidement en cancer chez les femmes séropositives pour le VIH que chez les femmes séronégatives pour le VIH.

Antécédents d'infections transmissibles sexuellement (ITS)

Le chlamydia trachomatis est un type de bactérie. Il se propage par contact sexuel et peut infecter le tractus génital de la femme. Les femmes porteuses du VPH et d’infections au chlamydia risquent davantage d’avoir un cancer du col de l’utérus. Des chercheurs croient qu’une inflammation prolongée causée par le chlamydia donne plus de difficulté au corps à se débarrasser de l’infection au VPH, en particulier si les infections au chlamydia se succèdent.

Le virus de l’herpès simplex de type 2 est aussi appelé herpès-virus humain 2 ou HHV-2. On peut aussi établir un lien entre l’infection au HHV-2 et une hausse du risque de cancer du col de l’utérus chez les femmes atteintes du VPH.

Contraceptifs oraux

Les contraceptifs oraux sont communément appelés la pilule. L’emploi à long terme de contraceptifs oraux peut accroître le risque que l’infection au VPH évolue en cancer du col de l’utérus. Ce risque ne semble pas lié à la présence d’une infection au VPH. Les femmes qui prennent des contraceptifs oraux pendant plus de 5 ans semblent être les plus susceptibles d’avoir le cancer du col de l’utérus. Cependant, ce risque diminue avec le temps une fois que vous avez cessé de prendre des contraceptifs oraux. Dix ans après avoir cessé de prendre des contraceptifs oraux, le risque de cancer du col de l’utérus n’est plus élevé.

Diéthylstilbestrol (DES)

Le diéthylstilbestrol (DES) est une forme d’œstrogène qui a été employée entre 1940 et 1971 pour traiter les femmes ayant certains problèmes en cours de grossesse, comme les fausses couches. On n’a pas approuvé son usage chez les femmes enceintes depuis 1970.

Les filles de femmes qui ont pris du DES lors de leur grossesse présentent un risque plus élevé que la moyenne d'être atteintes d'un type rare de cancer du col de l'utérus appelé carcinome à cellules claires. Certaines études laissent également entendre que les filles des femmes qui ont pris du DES pourraient être plus à risque de changements précancéreux dans le col de l'utérus et de carcinome épidermoïde du col de l'utérus.

Facteurs de risque possibles

La prise d’immunosuppresseurs est un facteur de risque possible du cancer du col de l’utérus. Cela signifie qu’on a établi un lien entre les immunosuppresseurs et le cancer du col de l’utérus, mais on ne possède pas suffisamment de preuves pour affirmer qu'il s’agit d’un facteur de risque.

Certaines données permettent de dire que ces médicaments peuvent faire augmenter le risque de cancer du col de l’utérus chez les femmes qui ont reçu une greffe d’organe. Les résultats chez les femmes qui prennent des immunosuppresseurs pour un trouble immunitaire comme le lupus érythémateux disséminé ou une maladie inflammatoire de l’intestin (colite ulcéreuse ou maladie de Crohn) ne sont pas concluants.

Questions à poser à votre équipe de soins

Afin de prendre les bonnes décisions pour vous, posez des questions sur les risques à votre équipe de soins.

Révision par les experts et références

  • American Cancer Society. What are the risk factors for cervical cancer?. 2017.
  • Cancer Research UK. Cervical cancer: risks and causes. Cancer Research UK; 2017.
  • Franceschi S, El-Serag HB, Forman D, Newton R, Plummer M . Infectious agents. Thun MJ (ed.). Schottenfeld and Fraumeni Cancer Epidemiology and Prevention. 4th ed. New York, NY: Oxford University Press; 2018: 24: 433-460.
  • Herrero R and Murillo R . Cervical cancer. Thun MJ (ed.). Schottenfeld and Fraumeni Cancer Epidemiology and Prevention. 4th ed. New York, NY: Oxford University Press; 2018: 48: 925-945.
  • Hoover RN, Black A, Troisi R . Hormones and cancer. Thun MJ (ed.). Schottenfeld and Fraumeni Cancer Epidemiology and Prevention. 4th ed. New York, NY: Oxford University Press; 2018: 22:395-410.
  • International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC). Volume 100E: Personal Habits and Indoor Combustions. 2012: http://monographs.iarc.fr/ENG/Monographs/vol100E/mono100E.pdf.
  • International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC). Volume 100B: Biological agents: a review of human carcinogens. 2012: http://monographs.iarc.fr/ENG/Monographs/vol100B/mono100B.pdf.
  • Klopp AH, Eifel PJ, Berek JS, Konstantinopoulos PA . Cancer of the cervix, vagina and vulva. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, Rosenberg SA. Cancer: Principles and Practice of Oncology. 10th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2015: 72:1013-1047.
  • Kroenke C, Kawachi I . Socioeconomic disparities in cancer incidence and mortality. Thun MJ (ed.). Schottenfeld and Fraumeni Cancer Epidemiology and Prevention. 4th ed. New York, NY: Oxford University Press; 2018: 9: 14-168.
  • National Toxicology Program. 14th Report on Carcinogens. Department of Health and Human Services; 2016: http://ntp.niehs.nih.gov/pubhealth/roc/index-1.html.

Réduire le risque de cancer du col de l'utérus

Découvrez comment réduire votre risque d’être atteinte du cancer du col de l’utérus, entres autres en réduisant votre exposition au VPH.