how we can help

Cancer and COVID-19 vaccines

Information about COVID-19 vaccines for people with cancer is evolving. You may have questions and feel uncertain, frustrated or overwhelmed as vaccines roll out across Canada. At the Canadian Cancer Society (CCS), we’re working to stay up to date with the latest information and recommendations for people with cancer and survivors. We are reviewing research and guidance regularly so that we can continue to keep you informed. We will keep this page updated with new information as we receive it.

Is CCS adopting a mandatory vaccination policy?

Yes. Effective November 8, 2021, all CCS staff as well as volunteers who work in our lodges, offices and with clients through our transportation program will be required to be fully vaccinated against COVID-19 unless they have a medical or religious exemption. The health and well-being of our staff, volunteers and the people we serve is our top priority and we must do everything we can to protect one another, those facing cancer and our broader communities. Vaccination is the most effective tool to reduce the risk of COVID-19. Learn more about our mandatory vaccination policy.

Can I get the COVID-19 vaccine if I have cancer?

The COVID-19 vaccine is safe for most people with cancer. Talk to your healthcare team about if you should receive the vaccine. They will be able to determine if the benefits outweigh the risks for you. They can also determine which of the approved COVID-19 vaccines is right for you, and the best timing of the first, second and a possible additional dose, based on your unique circumstance.

Vaccines work by stimulating the immune system to produce antibodies to fight a disease. You may be immunosuppressed (have a weak immune system) due to cancer or its treatment. Currently, the COVID-19 vaccine is offered to people who are immunosuppressed and who meet the required age for use. But the vaccine may not be able to stimulate your immune system well enough to protect against COVID-19.

Not everyone with cancer is immunosuppressed. Talk to your healthcare team for more information.

Does my cancer treatment affect whether I can get the vaccine?

The University Health Network (UHN) is a healthcare and medical research organization in Toronto. They have provided more information on the COVID-19 vaccine and different types of cancer treatment: 
Chemotherapy

People getting chemotherapy can get the COVID-19 vaccine. But because chemotherapy suppresses (stops or slows down) your immune response, it may reduce how well the vaccine works. Your oncologist (cancer doctor) may adjust your treatment to allow the vaccine to work better. Talk to your oncologist about the vaccine and your treatment plan.

Radiation therapy
People getting radiation therapy can get the COVID-19 vaccine. Radiation therapy does not seem to affect how well the vaccine works. People getting radiation therapy can get the vaccine at any time before, during or after treatment.
Immunotherapy
People getting immunotherapy (for example, checkpoint inhibitors) may be able to get the COVID-19 vaccine. If you get the vaccine, your cancer care team will need to watch you closely for any vaccine side effects. Talk to your oncologist about getting the vaccine.
Stem cell transplant or adoptive cell therapy
People getting stem cell transplants or adoptive cell therapy may have a weak immune system for a short time. A weak immune system may reduce how well the COVID-19 vaccine works. You may have to wait until your immune system recovers after treatment before getting the vaccine. Some people may also need to get the vaccine again at a later date. Talk to your oncologist about when you can expect to get the vaccine.
Immunosuppressive therapy
Whether people getting immunosuppressive therapy can get the COVID-19 vaccine depends on the type of therapy. If you are getting rituximab, it may reduce how well the vaccine works. Talk to your oncologist about when it is safe for you to get the vaccine. Immunosuppressive therapy may reduce how well the vaccine works. If it is safe for you to get the vaccine, your healthcare team will try to give you the vaccine at one of the following times:

• before you start immunosuppressive therapy
• during treatment when your immune system is not at its lowest level

Talk to your oncologist before getting any vaccine, including the COVID-19 vaccine.
It takes time for your body to build up an immune response to protect you.

If you get a vaccine that requires 2 doses, you will have some protection after the first dose. You need the second dose for full protection.

If you get a vaccine that needs just one dose, it takes at least 2 weeks for the vaccine to protect you.

Depending on cancer type and treatment, some people may not get as much protection from a vaccine as other people. But any amount of protection will keep you safer than none. We don’t know yet if some people with cancer will need to get a vaccine again after they finish treatment. More studies are needed to know how well the vaccines work for people with cancer.
 
Take the same steps to protect yourself when you go to get vaccinated as you do when you are in other indoor public spaces. Wear a mask, practise physical distancing as much as you can and use hand sanitizer.
Vaccines are an important public health measure for the COVID-19 pandemic. But even after people start to get the vaccine, everyone should continue to practise physical distancing, wash their hands and wear a mask.
COVID-19 vaccines are safe and effective. Health Canada ensures that all vaccines meet very strict safety and efficacy standards before they are approved for use. 
 
As with other vaccines, some people may develop mild side effects in the days after a dose. Most side effects will go away on their own.

The most common side effects from the COVID-19 vaccines are:
• fatigue (tiredness)
• headache
• muscle aches
• pain where you got the vaccine
• redness and swelling where you got the vaccine
• joint pain
• mild fever
• swollen glands (this happens less often)

If you get a vaccine that has 2 doses, these side effects are more likely to happen after the second dose.
 
There are currently no specific interactions listed for the COVID-19 vaccines. But it is important to tell your healthcare team about all the medicines you take, including any drugs, vitamins, minerals, natural supplements or alternative medicines.
If you have lymphedema or have had a lymph node dissection in one arm, you should get vaccinated in the other arm. People with lymphedema are at increased risk of infection and should avoid vaccinations in the affected arm. If you have lymphedema in both arms, your thigh can be used as an alternate injection site for the vaccine.

In either case – if you have any lymphedema or have had a lymph node dissection – make sure you tell the people working at the vaccination site.
 

Currently, 4 vaccines are authorized for use in Canada. The Pfizer-BioNTech and Moderna COVID-19 vaccines are approved for people 12 years of age and older. The AstraZeneca and Janssen (Johnson & Johnson) COVID-19 vaccines are approved for people 18 years of age and older.



There are 2 types of approved COVID-19 vaccines: mRNA vaccines and viral vector-based vaccines. Neither vaccine type uses the live virus that causes COVID-19.

COVID-19 mRNA vaccines teach our cells how to make the spike protein on the COVID-19 virus that will trigger an immune response. Once triggered, our body then makes antibodies to help fight the infection if the real virus enters our body in the future. Find out more about mRNA vaccines for COVID-19.

Viral vector-based vaccines use a harmless virus as a delivery system. The vector virus used is not the virus that causes COVID-19. Once injected into the body, the virus contained within the vaccine produces the SARS-CoV-2 spike protein. Through this process, the body is able to mount a strong immune response against the spike protein without exposing you to the virus that causes COVID-19. Find out more about viral vector-based vaccines for COVID-19.

The Pfizer-BioNTech and Moderna COVID-19 vaccines are both mRNA vaccines. The AstraZeneca and Janssen COVID-19 vaccines are both viral vector-based vaccines for COVID-19. Talk to your healthcare team about which vaccine is best for you.

These are not new types of vaccines. Scientists have been researching and developing viral vector-based vaccines for about 30 years and mRNA vaccines for about 10 years. These are some of the reasons scientists were able to develop the COVID-19 vaccines so quickly: 
 
• The COVID-19 virus is similar to other viruses. Researchers already knew a lot about these types of viruses. 
• Scientists around the world started to work on the vaccines right away when the COVID-19 virus was first found. 
• Scientists around the world shared information with each other. 
• Researchers were able to sign up a large number of people in clinical trials very quickly to test the vaccines. For example, over 200,000 people in the UK took part in clinical trials for COVID-19 vaccines. 
 
Find out more about how vaccines are developed.

 

Yes. If you have had COVID-19 you should get a vaccine after you recover from the virus. The vaccine trials included people who were infected with COVID-19 and the vaccines were found to be safe.

Experts do not know how long antibodies last after someone has had COVID-19. A vaccine may help your body fight a future COVID-19 infection. Talk to your healthcare team about when you should get a vaccine after you recover.
 

How is the vaccine being rolled out in my province or territory? When should I get my first and second doses?

Provinces and territories are rolling out vaccines differently. Some governments are recommending that people with cancer receive the COVID-19 vaccine at the dose interval according to manufacturer’s schedule. You can review your province or territory’s vaccine plan and contact them with your questions or concerns. You can also talk to your healthcare team about the ideal timing of doses for you.

What is CCS doing to advocate for people with cancer to be prioritized to receive the first dose of the vaccine?

The COVID-19 vaccine will help make the world safer for everyone, including people with cancer and cancer survivors. We know that people with cancer may be at risk for more serious outcomes of COVID-19, which is why we are advocating to governments to make sure that Canadians with cancer are prioritized as vaccines roll out.

CCS strives to be the voice for Canadians affected by cancer. We have asked governments to:

• clearly identify when people with cancer and survivors will be vaccinated
• prioritize people with cancer and survivors with others who are at risk of more severe disease, and ensure that they have access to both the first and second doses of the vaccine before the general population
• support more research and monitoring of the outcomes of COVID-19 vaccines for people with cancer and survivors
• empower healthcare providers to determine the best timing of the first and second doses for their patients based on their unique circumstances

We will continue to advocate for important issues facing Canadians affected by cancer, which include timely access to vaccines for high-risk and vulnerable populations. We will also continue to call on governments to make information more accessible and broadly known.
 

Read our statement on vaccine prioritization for people with cancer.

What is CCS doing to advocate for people with cancer to receive the second dose of the vaccine according to the manufacturer’s schedule?

The timing of the vaccine doses for people with cancer is important. CCS is calling on governments to prioritize the vaccine for people with cancer and survivors. We are monitoring emerging evidence related to the protection provided by the first dose of the COVID-19 vaccine in people with cancer and the most effective timing of the second dose.

Healthcare providers should be empowered to determine the best timing for the second dose based on the unique circumstances of their patients. We are working to ensure that people with cancer are prioritized to receive the second dose of the COVID-19 vaccine before the general population. We are also calling for continued tracking and assessment so that we know for the future what the ideal timing is for people with cancer. More data will help us better understand the impact of delayed second doses for people living with cancer and survivors.

In April 2021 we sent a letter with our vaccination program concerns to all provincial governments. We also presented the broader impacts the pandemic has on cancer care to the federal Standing Committee on Health. In June 2021 we sent a joint letter with other health organizations to the federal minister of health. We are committed to continuing this advocacy at the provincial and federal levels to ensure governments are aware of the concerns we’re hearing from Canadians affected by cancer and ensure they are prioritized during the vaccine rollout. People with cancer cannot afford to wait.

Through our helpline and online community, we have heard from many Canadians that they are concerned with the timing of their second dose and are having trouble navigating the system. We are quickly bringing these concerns to the decision-makers who can effect change.

I need help with a personal situation or unique circumstance related to cancer and the pandemic. How can CCS help me?

We are sorry that you have to manage so much right now. We know how overwhelming cancer can be at the best of times, and the pandemic is adding further stress and emotional burden to many people across the country.

We have free and confidential services available to help you find community and connection from the comfort of your home. You can connect with us and others across the country through CancerConnection.ca or call our toll-free Cancer Information Helpline at 1-888-939-3333. We also have cancer and COVID-19 resources available.
 

I have concerns about the vaccine rollout. How can I make my voice heard?

If you are concerned about the vaccine rollout in your province or territory, you can add your voice to our efforts to bring about change. We have created a  toolkit for self-advocacy and we encourage you to lend your support and share your concerns.

Sharing your concerns directly with your elected officials is one of the best things you can do to hold them accountable and ensure they know the vaccine rollout is important to their constituents. You can find your local representative in our key contacts list.

We also have a dedicated volunteer group for advocacy called CCS Voices For Change. You can sign up to get more information and help us support people with cancer through the pandemic.
 

What is CCS doing to advocate for people with cancer during the pandemic?

Since the beginning of the pandemic, we have been working with government to ensure people with cancer are not forgotten during these unprecedented times. You can read about our work to support people with cancer during the pandemic here, including our guiding principles for all governments and health organizations to apply to their healthcare decision-making for COVID-19.

Is CCS partnering with other organizations to help people stay safe during COVID-19 and get vaccinated?

CCS has partnered with 19 To Zero, a group of academics, public health experts, behavioural economists and creative professionals that are dedicated to promoting safe behaviour and vaccinations during COVID-19. CCS and 19 To Zero are united against COVID-19 and know that vaccinations save lives.

Find out more about 19 To Zero.

Le cancer et les vaccins contre la COVID-19

L’information sur la vaccination des personnes atteintes de cancer contre la COVID-19 ne cesse d’évoluer. Alors que la campagne de vaccination se déploie au Canada, vous vous posez peut-être des questions, ou bien vous hésitez, vous éprouvez de la frustration ou vous vous sentez dépassé. La Société canadienne du cancer a à cœur d’être toujours au fait des plus récentes données et recommandations concernant les personnes atteintes de cancer et les survivants de la maladie. Nous nous penchons régulièrement sur la recherche et les lignes directrices afin de pouvoir continuer à bien vous informer. Nous veillerons à mettre cette page à jour au fur et à mesure que de nouveaux éléments d’information nous parviendront.

La SCC adopte-t-elle une politique de vaccination obligatoire?

Oui. À compter du 8 novembre 2021, tous les employés de la SCC ainsi que les bénévoles qui travaillent dans nos maisons d’hébergement et à nos bureaux ainsi qu’avec des clients dans le cadre de notre programme de transport devront être pleinement vaccinés contre la COVID-19 à moins qu’ils n’aient une exemption médicale ou religieuse. La santé et le bien-être de nos employés, de nos bénévoles et des personnes à qui nous offrons des services constituent nos priorités absolues et nous devons mettre tout en œuvre pour protéger les personnes qui nous entourent, celles qui font face au cancer et l’ensemble de nos communautés. La vaccination est l’outil le plus efficace pour réduire le risque de COVID-19. Cliquez ici  pour en savoir plus sur notre politique de vaccination obligatoire.

Puis-je recevoir le vaccin contre la COVID-19 si j’ai le cancer?

Le vaccin contre la COVID-19 est sûr pour la plupart des personnes atteintes de cancer. Voyez avec les membres de votre équipe de soins si vous devriez recevoir ce vaccin. Ils seront en mesure d’évaluer si les avantages sont supérieurs aux risques pour vous. Ils pourront également déterminer lequel des vaccins approuvés contre la COVID-19 vous convient et quel est le meilleur calendrier d’administration des première et deuxième doses ainsi que d’une dose additionnelle, en fonction de votre situation personnelle.

Les vaccins agissent en stimulant le système immunitaire de sorte qu’il produise des anticorps pour combattre une maladie. Il se peut que vous soyez immunodéprimé (c’est-à-dire que votre système immunitaire est affaibli) en raison du cancer ou de son traitement. Actuellement, le vaccin contre la COVID-19 peut être offert aux personnes immunodéprimées appartenant à un groupe d’âge autorisé. Il est toutefois possible que le vaccin ne puisse pas stimuler votre système immunitaire suffisamment pour vous protéger de la COVID-19.

Les personnes atteintes de cancer ne sont pas toutes immunodéprimées. Parlez avec votre équipe de soins pour en savoir plus.


 Mon traitement du cancer change-t-il quelque chose au fait que je puisse ou non ne faire vacciner?

Voyez avec votre équipe soignante lequel des vaccins approuvés contre la COVID-19 vous convient et quel est le meilleur calendrier d’administration des doses, en fonction de votre situation personnelle. 
Votre corps a besoin de temps pour développer une réponse immunitaire qui vous protégera.

Si vous recevez un vaccin nécessitant 2 doses, vous bénéficierez d’une certaine protection après la première dose. Il vous faut une deuxième dose pour vous protéger davantage, et une troisième pour une meilleure protection encore.

Selon le type de cancer dont elles sont atteintes et le traitement qu’elles reçoivent, certaines personnes pourraient ne pas bénéficier de la même protection que d’autres. Tout niveau de protection, quel qu’il soit, est toutefois préférable à l’absence totale de protection. Nous ne savons pas encore si certaines personnes atteintes de cancer devront se faire vacciner de nouveau après la fin de leur traitement. Il faudra mener d’autres études pour savoir dans quelle mesure les vaccins sont efficaces pour les personnes atteintes de cancer.
 
Lorsque vous irez vous faire vacciner, prenez les mêmes mesures de protection que lorsque vous allez dans d’autres espaces publics intérieurs. Portez un masque bien conçu, bien ajusté et constitué de plusieurs couches, respectez l’éloignement physique autant que possible et utilisez un désinfectant pour les mains.
Les vaccins constituent une importante mesure de santé publique dans le contexte de la pandémie de COVID-19. Même après avoir reçu le vaccin, vous devriez continuer à porter un masque, à mettre en pratique l’éloignement physique et à vous laver les mains. 
Les vaccins contre la COVID-19 sont sûrs et efficaces. Avant d’approuver leur utilisation, Santé Canada s’assure que tous les vaccins répondent à des normes très rigoureuses de sécurité et d’efficacité. 
 

Comme dans le cas d’autres vaccins, certaines personnes peuvent éprouver des effets secondaires légers dans les jours suivant l’administration d’une dose. La plupart de ces effets disparaîtront d’eux-mêmes.

Les effets secondaires les plus courants des vaccins contre la COVID-19 sont les suivants :

  • fatigue;
  • maux de tête;
  • douleurs musculaires;
  • sensibilité à l’endroit où le vaccin a été injecté;
  • rougeur et enflure a à l’endroit où le vaccin a été injecté
  • douleurs articulaires;
  • fièvre légère;
  • gonflement des ganglions (moins fréquent).

Si vous recevez un vaccin nécessitant 2 doses, ces effets secondaires risquent davantage de se manifester après la deuxième dose.


Il n’y a actuellement aucune indication d’interactions spécifiques pour les vaccins contre la COVID-19. Il est toutefois important d’informer votre équipe de soins de tous les produits que vous prenez, ce qui inclut les médicaments d’ordonnance, les vitamines, les minéraux, les suppléments naturels et les remèdes non traditionnels.
Si vous souffrez de lymphœdème ou avez subi un curage ganglionnaire dans un bras, vous devriez recevoir le vaccin dans l’autre bras. Les personnes atteintes de lymphœdème risquent davantage de développer une infection et devraient éviter la vaccination dans le bras touché. Si le lymphœdème est présent dans vos deux bras, le vaccin pourrait vous être administré plutôt dans une cuisse.

Dans l’un et l’autre cas (si vous souffrez de lymphœdème ou si vous avez subi un curage ganglionnaire), veillez à en informer le personnel du site de vaccination.
 

À l’heure actuelle, 4 vaccins sont autorisés au Canada :


  • Le vaccin de Pfizer-BioNTech (Comirnaty) est approuvé pour les personnes de 5 ans et plus.
  • Le vaccin de Moderna (Spikevax) est approuvé pour les personnes de 12 ans et plus.
  • Le vaccin d’AstraZeneca (Vaxzevria) est approuvé pour les personnes de 18 ans et plus.
  • Le vaccin de Janssen (Johnson & Johnson) est approuvé pour les personnes de 18 ans et plus.

Deux types de vaccins contre la COVID-19 ont été approuvés : les vaccins à base d’ARNm (ARN messager) et les vaccins à base de vecteurs viraux. Ni l’un ni l’autre type ne fait appel au virus vivant à l’origine de la COVID-19. 

Les vaccins à ARNm contre la COVID-19 enseignent aux cellules comment fabriquer la protéine de spicule (spike, en anglais) qui est présente sur le virus de la COVID-19 et qui déclenchera une réponse immunitaire. Une fois cette réponse déclenchée, l’organisme est capable de produire des anticorps qui aideront à combattre l'infection si le véritable virus s’introduit plus tard dans le corps. Apprenez-en davantage sur les vaccins à ARNm contre la COVID-19.

Les vaccins à base de vecteurs viraux utilisent un virus inoffensif comme système de transport. Le vecteur viral utilisé n'est pas le virus qui cause la COVID-19. Une fois qu'il est injecté dans le corps, le virus contenu dans le vaccin produit la protéine de spicule du SRAS-CoV-2. Ce processus permet au corps de mettre en place une forte réponse immunitaire contre la protéine de spicule sans l’exposer au virus qui cause la COVID-19. Apprenez-en davantage sur les vaccins contre la COVID-19 à vecteurs viraux.

Les vaccins de Pfizer-BioNTech et de Moderna contre la COVID-19 sont tous deux des vaccins à ARNm. Les vaccins d’AstraZeneca et de Janssen contre la COVID-19 sont tous deux des vaccins à base de vecteurs viraux. Voyez avec votre équipe de soins quel serait le meilleur vaccin pour vous.
 
Il ne s’agit pas de nouveaux types de vaccins. Les chercheurs étudient et mettent au point des vaccins à base de vecteurs viraux depuis environ 30 ans et des vaccins à ARNm depuis environ 10 ans. Voici certaines des raisons expliquant la rapidité avec laquelle les équipes de recherche ont pu développer des vaccins contre la COVID-19 :

• Le virus de la COVID-19 ressemble à d’autres virus. Les chercheurs avaient déjà beaucoup de connaissances sur ces types de virus.
• Les équipes de recherche du monde entier ont commencé à travailler à l’élaboration d’un vaccin dès la découverte du virus de la COVID-19.
• Des équipes de recherche du monde entier ont partagé leurs données.
• Un grand nombre de personnes se sont rapidement inscrites aux essais cliniques pour tester les vaccins. Au Royaume-Uni, par exemple, plus de 200 000 personnes ont participé à des essais cliniques.

Voyez plus en détail comment les vaccins sont créés.
 
Oui. Si vous avez eu la COVID-19, vous devriez recevoir un vaccin après vous être rétabli de la maladie. Les essais du vaccin ont porté entre autres sur des personnes infectées par le virus de la COVID-19 et les vaccins se sont avérés sûrs.

Les experts ne savent pas combien de temps durent les anticorps après qu’une personne a contracté la COVID-19. Un vaccin pourrait aider votre corps à combattre une future infection par le virus de la COVID-19. Demandez à votre équipe de soins à quel moment vous devriez recevoir un vaccin après vous être rétabli.
 

Comment la vaccination se déroule-t-elle dans ma province ou mon territoire? À quel moment devrais-je recevoir mes doses?

Voyez avec votre équipe soignante quel est le meilleur calendrier d’administration de chacune de vos doses de vaccin, en fonction de votre situation personnelle.

Le déploiement de la vaccination diffère selon les provinces et les territoires. Vérifiez votre admissibilité à chacune de vos doses sur le site Web de votre gouvernement provincial ou territorial. Contactez les autorités compétentes si vous avez des questions ou des préoccupations.

 

Qu’a fait la SCC pour réclamer que les personnes atteintes de cancer figurent parmi les groupes prioritaires pour l’administration du vaccin contre la COVID-19?

Le vaccin contre la COVID-19 a contribué à la sécurité de tous, y compris les personnes atteintes de cancer et les survivants de la maladie. Nous savons que les personnes atteintes de cancer pourraient courir un plus grand risque de graves complications liées à la COVID-19. Voilà pourquoi nous avons demandé aux gouvernements de veiller à ce que ces Canadiens soient vaccinés en priorité.

 

La SCC s’efforce de faire entendre la voix des hommes et des femmes qui sont touchés par le cancer. Nous avons demandé aux gouvernements qu’ils :

  • indiquent clairement à quel moment les personnes atteintes de cancer et les survivants de la maladie seront vaccinés;
  • accordent la priorité aux personnes atteintes de cancer et aux survivants de la maladie ainsi qu’aux autres personnes qui risquent de développer une forme plus grave de la COVID-19, et s’assurent de leur donner accès aux première et deuxième doses ainsi qu’à une dose additionnelle du vaccin avant la population générale;
  • financent plus de recherches et surveillent les effets des vaccins contre la COVID-19 chez les personnes atteintes de cancer et les survivants de la maladie;
  • habilitent les fournisseurs de soins de santé à déterminer le meilleur calendrier d’administration des doses pour leurs patients, en fonction de leur situation personnelle;
  • rendent obligatoire la vaccination des travailleurs de la santé dans tous les établissements publics et privés;
  • mettent en œuvre des stratégies qui facilitent l’accès aux vaccins, en éliminant notamment les obstacles auxquels se heurtent les communautés mal desservies et racialisées.

Nous allons continuer à défendre d’importants dossiers au nom des Canadiens touchés par le cancer, notamment l’accès à la vaccination en temps opportun pour les populations à haut risque et vulnérables. Nous poursuivrons également nos interventions auprès des gouvernements pour que l’information soit plus accessible et largement diffusée.

Lisez notre déclaration sur la priorité de vaccination des personnes atteintes de cancer.
 

J’ai besoin d’aide en raison de ma situation personnelle ou de circonstances particulières liées au cancer et à la pandémie. En quoi la SCC peut-elle m’aider?

Nous sommes désolés que vous soyez actuellement aux prises avec une situation difficile. Nous savons à quel point le cancer peut peser lourd, même dans les meilleurs moments; pour bien des gens au Canada, la pandémie ne fait qu’ajouter à ce stress et à la charge émotionnelle de la maladie.

Nous vous offrons des services gratuits et confidentiels pour vous aider à trouver une communauté et à tisser des liens, dans le confort de votre foyer. Vous pouvez entrer en contact avec nous et avec d’autres personnes partout au pays sur ParlonsCancer.ca ou appeler sans frais notre Ligne d’aide et d’information sur le cancer au 1 888 939-3333. Nous mettons également à votre disposition des ressources sur le cancer et la COVID-19.
 

J’ai des préoccupations quant au déploiement de la vaccination. Comment puis-je me faire entendre?

Si vous avez des inquiétudes au sujet du déploiement de la vaccination dans votre province ou territoire, vous pouvez participer à nos efforts afin de favoriser le changement. Nous avons créé un guide pour la défense de vos droits ; nous vous invitons à nous appuyer et à partager vos réflexions.

Faire part de vos préoccupations directement à vos représentants élus est l’une des meilleures choses que vous puissiez faire pour les responsabiliser et pour vous assurer qu’ils sont conscients de l’importance que leurs électeurs accordent au déploiement de la vaccination. Vous trouverez les coordonnées de votre représentant local sur notre liste de contacts clés.

Nous avons aussi créé un groupe de bénévoles dédié à la défense de l’intérêt public, un mouvement appelé Les voix du changement de la SCC. Nous vous invitons à vous inscrire pour en savoir plus et nous aider à soutenir les personnes touchées par le cancer durant la pandémie.
 

Que fait la SCC pour faire valoir les intérêts des personnes atteintes de cancer durant la pandémie?

Depuis le début de la pandémie, nous travaillons avec le gouvernement pour veiller à ce que les personnes touchées par le cancer ne soient pas laissées pour compte en ces temps inédits. Nous vous invitons à consulter cancer.ca pour savoir ce que nous faisons pour soutenir les personnes atteintes de cancer durant la pandémie. Vous pouvez également prendre connaissance des principes directeurs que nous recommandons à tous les gouvernements et organismes de santé d’appliquer pour la prise de décisions en matière de santé dans le contexte de la COVID-19.

Est-ce que la SCC s’associe à d’autres organismes pour aider les gens à se protéger durant la pandémie de COVID-19 et à se faire vacciner?

La SCC s’est associée à l’organisation 19 To Zero, un groupe d’universitaires, d’experts en santé publique, d’économistes comportementaux et de professionnels de la création ayant à cœur de promouvoir les comportements sains et la vaccination durant la pandémie de COVID-19. La SCC et 19 To Zero ont entrepris de faire front commun contre la COVID-19, sachant que la vaccination sauve des vies.

Apprenez-en davantage sur 19 To Zero (en anglais seulement).