Prognosis and survival for small intestine cancer

If you have small intestine cancer, you may have questions about your prognosis. A prognosis is the doctor’s best estimate of how cancer will affect a person and how it will respond to treatment. Prognosis and survival depend on many factors. Only a doctor familiar with your health history, the type, stage and characteristics of the cancer, the treatments chosen and the response to treatment can put all of this information together with survival statistics to arrive at a prognosis.

A prognostic factor is an aspect of the cancer or a characteristic of the person that the doctor will consider when making a prognosis. The following are prognostic factors for small intestine cancer.

Stage

The stage is the most important prognostic factor for small intestine cancer. The lower the stage at diagnosis, the better the prognosis. Tumours that are only in the small intestine have a more favourable prognosis than those that have grown through the wall of the small intestine, have spread to lymph nodes or have spread to other organs farther from the small intestine (called distant metastases).

What is removed with surgery

Tumours that can be completely removed with surgery have a better prognosis than tumours that can’t be completely removed.

If 8 or more lymph nodes are surgically removed, there is less risk that the cancer will recur than if 7 or fewer lymph nodes are removed. So people who have 8 or more lymph nodes removed have a better prognosis.

Type of tumour

The prognosis is different for different types of small intestine cancer. In general, the types of small intestine cancer with the most favourable to least favourable prognosis are:

  • neuroendocrine tumours (NETs)
  • lymphoma (follicular lymphoma has the best prognosis of all small intestine lymphomas)
  • gastrointestinal stromal tumours (GISTs)
  • soft tissue sarcoma
  • adenocarcinoma

Expert review and references

  • Aparicio T, Zaanan A, Svrcek M, Laurent-Puig P, Carrere N, Manfredi S, Locher C, Afchain P . Small bowel adenocarcinoma: epidemiology, risk factors, diagnosis and treatment. Digestive and Liver Disease. 2014: http://www.dldjournalonline.com/article/S1590-8658(13)00184-9/fulltext.
  • Arber N, Moshkowitz M . Small intestinal cancers. Jankowiski J, Hawk E (eds.). Handbook of Gastrointestinal Cancer. Wiley-Blackwell; 2013: 4: 67-85.
  • Chamberlain RS, Mahendraraj K, Shah SA . Cancer of the small bowel. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, & Rosenberg SA. Cancer: Principles and Practice of Oncology. 10th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2015: 54: 734-744. http://lwwhealthlibrary.com/signin.aspx.
  • Khan K, Peckitt C, Sclafani F, Watkins D, Rao S, Starling N, Jain V, et al . Prognostic factors and treatment outcomes in patients with Small Bowel Adenocarcinoma (SBA): The Royal Marsden Hospital (RMH) experience. BMC Cancer. 2015: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4305243/.
  • National Cancer Institute. Small Intestine Cancer Treatment (PDQ®) Health Professional Version. 2014: http://www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/pdq/treatment/smallintestine/HealthProfessional.
  • Qubaiah O, Devesa SS, Platz CE, et al . Small intestinal cancer: a population-based study of incidence and survival patterns in the United States, 1992 to 2006. Cancer Epidemiology Biomarkers & Prevention. American Association for Cancer Research; 2010.

Survival statistics for small intestine cancer

Survival is different for each stage of small intestine cancer. Learn about small intestine cancer survival statistics by stage.

Pronostic et survie pour le cancer de l’intestin grêle

Si vous êtes atteint d’un cancer de l’intestin grêle, vous vous posez peut-être des questions sur votre pronostic. Un pronostic est l’acte par lequel le médecin évalue le mieux comment le cancer affectera un individu et comment il réagira au traitement. Le pronostic et la survie dépendent de nombreux facteurs. Seul un médecin qui connaît bien vos antécédents de santé, le type, le stade et les caractéristiques du cancer dont vous êtes atteint, les traitements choisis et la réaction au traitement peut examiner toutes ces données de concert avec les statistiques de survie pour en arriver à un pronostic.

Un facteur pronostique est un aspect du cancer ou une caractéristique de la personne atteinte que le médecin considère lorsqu’il établit un pronostic. Les éléments suivants sont des facteurs pronostiques du cancer de l’intestin grêle.

Stade

Le stade est le facteur pronostique le plus important dans le cas du cancer de l’intestin grêle. Plus le stade est précoce au moment du diagnostic, meilleur est le pronostic. Les tumeurs qui sont confinées à l’intestin grêle ont un pronostic plus favorable que celles qui ont traversé la paroi de l’intestin, qui se sont propagées à des ganglions lymphatiques ou qui se sont propagées à des organes éloignés de l’intestin grêle (métastases à distance).

Ce qui est enlevé par chirurgie

Les tumeurs qu’on peut complètement enlever par chirurgie engendrent un meilleur pronostic que les tumeurs qu’on ne peut pas enlever en entier.

Si on retire 8 ganglions lymphatiques ou plus, le risque que le cancer revienne (récidive) est moins grand que lorsqu’on retire 7 ganglions ou moins. Le pronostic des personnes chez qui on a enlevé 8 ganglions lymphatiques ou plus est donc meilleur.

Type de tumeur

Le pronostic varie selon le type de cancer de l’intestin grêle. En général, voici les types de cancer de l’intestin grêle classés du pronostic le plus favorable au moins favorable :

  • tumeurs neuroendocrines (TNE)
  • lymphome (le lymphome folliculaire engendre le meilleur pronostic de tous les lymphomes de l’intestin grêle)
  • tumeurs stromales gastro-intestinales (TSGI)
  • sarcome des tissus mous
  • adénocarcinome

Révision par les experts et références

  • Aparicio T, Zaanan A, Svrcek M, Laurent-Puig P, Carrere N, Manfredi S, Locher C, Afchain P . Small bowel adenocarcinoma: epidemiology, risk factors, diagnosis and treatment. Digestive and Liver Disease. 2014: http://www.dldjournalonline.com/article/S1590-8658(13)00184-9/fulltext.
  • Arber N, Moshkowitz M . Small intestinal cancers. Jankowiski J, Hawk E (eds.). Handbook of Gastrointestinal Cancer. Wiley-Blackwell; 2013: 4: 67-85.
  • Chamberlain RS, Mahendraraj K, Shah SA . Cancer of the small bowel. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, & Rosenberg SA. Cancer: Principles and Practice of Oncology. 10th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2015: 54: 734-744. http://lwwhealthlibrary.com/signin.aspx.
  • Khan K, Peckitt C, Sclafani F, Watkins D, Rao S, Starling N, Jain V, et al . Prognostic factors and treatment outcomes in patients with Small Bowel Adenocarcinoma (SBA): The Royal Marsden Hospital (RMH) experience. BMC Cancer. 2015: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4305243/.
  • National Cancer Institute. Small Intestine Cancer Treatment (PDQ®) Health Professional Version. 2014: http://www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/pdq/treatment/smallintestine/HealthProfessional.
  • Qubaiah O, Devesa SS, Platz CE, et al . Small intestinal cancer: a population-based study of incidence and survival patterns in the United States, 1992 to 2006. Cancer Epidemiology Biomarkers & Prevention. American Association for Cancer Research; 2010.

Statistiques de survie au cancer de l’intestin grêle

Les statistiques de survie au cancer de l’intestin grêle sont des estimations très générales qui doivent être interprétées avec grande prudence. Puisqu'elles sont fondées sur l'expérience de groupes de personnes, elles ne permettent pas de prévoir les chances de survie d'une personne en particulier.