Two yellow maple leaves on a blue background

Canadian cancer statistics

Canadian Cancer Statistics provides comprehensive surveillance statistics on cancer in Canada. The full publication is produced every second year and includes detailed statistics on incidence, mortality and survival by sex, age group, geographic region and time period for 20+ cancer types. In alternate years, a special report is released as well as current-year projected estimates of incidence and mortality. 

The publication is written for health professionals, researchers and policy makers, but other audiences will also find the information useful. 

Canadian Cancer Statistics is developed by the Canadian Cancer Statistics Advisory Committee in collaboration with the Canadian Cancer Society, Statistics Canada and the Public Health Agency of Canada, with data provided by the provincial and territorial cancer registries.  


This 2020 special report provides statistics on lung cancer incidence, mortality, survival and prevalence. Where relevant, the statistics are presented by sex, age, geography, stage, histology and time. It also includes new statistics on lung cancer prevention, screening and disparities.

Material in this publication may be reproduced with the following suggested reference: Canadian Cancer Statistics Advisory Committee. Canadian Cancer Statistics: A 2020 special report on lung cancer. Toronto, ON: Canadian Cancer Society; 2020. Available at: cancer.ca/Canadian-Cancer-Statistics-2020-EN (accessed [date]).

Past editions

For the most up-to-date statistics on the probability of developing and dying of cancer, incidence and mortality trends over time and survival for 23 cancer types, see Canadian Cancer Statistics 2019. Previous editions are also available.

Deux feuilles d'érable jaune sur fond bleu

Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer

Les Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer fournissent des statistiques exhaustives sur la surveillance du cancer au Canada. La publication intégrale est produite tous les deux ans et comprend des statistiques détaillées sur l’incidence, la mortalité et la survie par sexe, groupe d’âge, région géographique et période pour plus de 20 types de cancer. Un rapport spécial et les estimations prévues de l’incidence et de la mortalité pour l’année courante sont diffusés les autres années.

La publication est rédigée à l’intention des professionnels de la santé, des chercheurs et des décideurs, mais son contenu se révélera également utile pour d’autres publics.

Les rapports et publications Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer sont élaborés par le Comité consultatif des statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer en collaboration avec la Société canadienne du cancer, Statistique Canada et l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada, à partir de données provenant des registres provinciaux et territoriaux du cancer.

Ce rapport spécial 2020 sur le cancer du poumon fournit des statistiques sur l’incidence, la mortalité, la survie et la prévalence. Lorsqu’elles sont pertinentes, les statistiques sont présentées par sexe, âge, région géographique, stade, histologie et période. Le rapport contient aussi de nouvelles statistiques sur la prévention, le dépistage et les disparités pour le cancer du poumon.

Il est possible de reproduire le contenu de cette publication en indiquant la référence suggérée suivante : Comité consultatif des statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer. Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer : Rapport spécial 2020 sur le cancer du poumon. Toronto, Ontario, Société canadienne du cancer; 2020. Accessible à cancer.ca/Canadian-Cancer-Statistics-2020-FR (consulté le [date]).

Éditions antérieures

Pour les statistiques les plus à jour sur la probabilité d’avoir un cancer et d’y succomber, les tendances de l’incidence et de la mortalité au fil du temps et la survie pour 23 types de cancer, veuillez consulter les Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer 2019.

Les éditions antérieures sont également disponibles.