Survival statistics for chronic lymphocytic leukemia

Survival statistics for chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL) are very general estimates and must be interpreted very carefully. Because these statistics are based on the experience of groups of people, they cannot be used to predict a particular person’s chances of survival.

There are many different ways to measure and report cancer survival statistics. Your doctor can explain the statistics for CLL and what they mean to you.

Net survival

Net survival represents the probability of surviving cancer in the absence of other causes of death. It is used to give an estimate of the percentage of people who will survive their cancer.

In Canada, the 5-year net survival for CLL is 83%. This means that about 83% of people diagnosed with CLL will survive for at least 5 years.

Median survival

Survival for CLL is reported as median survival. Median survival is the period of time (usually months or years) at which half of the people with cancer are still alive. The other half will live less than this amount of time.

The median survival varies with each stage of CLL. The stages of CLL are divided into levels of risk that indicate how likely the disease is to worsen. Age, the pattern of lymphocytes in the bone marrow, chromosome changes and other characteristics of the CLL can also affect survival.

Staging system

Stage

Level of risk

Median survival

Rai

0

low

more than 12.5 years

1 and 2

intermediate

7 years
3 and 4 high 1.5 years

Binet

A

low

More than 10 years

B

intermediate

5–7 years
C high 2–3 years

Questions about survival

If you have CLL, talk to your doctor about your prognosis. Prognosis depends on many factors, including:

  • your medical history
  • type of cancer
  • stage
  • characteristics of the cancer
  • treatments chosen
  • response to treatment

Only a doctor familiar with these factors can put all of this information together with survival statistics to arrive at a prognosis.

Expert review and references

  • Borthakur G, O'Brien S . Treatment of chronic lymphocytic leukemia and related disorders. Wiernik PH, Goldman JM, Dutcher JP & Kyle RA (eds.). Neoplastic Diseases of the Blood. 5th ed. Springer; 2013: 9: pp. 121-119.
  • Canadian Cancer Statistics Advisory Committee. Canadian Cancer Statistics 2019 . Toronto, ON : Canadian Cancer Society; 2019: https://www.cancer.ca/en/cancer-information/cancer-101/canadian-cancer-statistics/past-editions-canadian-cancer-statistics/.
  • National Cancer Institute. Chronic lymphocytic leukemia Treatment (PDQ®) Health Professional Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2014.
  • Wierda WG, O'Brien S . Chronic lymphocytic leukemia. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, & Rosenberg SA. Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology. 9th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2014: 134: pp. 1973-1987.

Statistiques de survie pour la leucémie lymphoïde chronique

Les statistiques de survie à la leucémie lymphoïde chronique (LLC) sont des estimations très générales qui doivent être interprétées avec prudence. Puisqu'elles sont fondées sur l'expérience de groupes de personnes, elles ne permettent pas de prévoir les chances de survie d'une personne en particulier.

Il existe de nombreuses méthodes différentes pour évaluer et consigner les statistiques de survie au cancer. Votre médecin peut vous expliquer les statistiques sur la LLC et ce qu’elles signifient pour vous.

Survie nette

La survie nette représente la probabilité de survivre au cancer en l’absence d’autres causes de décès. Elle permet d’estimer le pourcentage de personnes qui survivront à leur cancer.

Au Canada, la survie nette après 5 ans pour la LLC est de 83 %, ce qui signifie qu’environ 83 % des personnes ayant reçu un diagnostic de LLC survivront au moins 5 ans.

Survie médiane

La survie à la LLC est consignée sous forme de survie médiane. La survie médiane correspond à la période, habituellement calculée en mois ou en années, au bout de laquelle la moitié des personnes atteintes de cancer seront encore en vie. L’autre moitié des gens aura vécu moins longtemps que cette période.

La survie médiane varie selon le stade de la LLC. Les stades de la LLC sont divisés en catégories de risque qui décrivent la probabilité d’aggravation de la maladie. L’âge, l’aspect des lymphocytes dans la moelle osseuse, les changements chromosomiques ainsi que d’autres caractéristiques de la LLC peuvent aussi affecter la survie.

Survie à la LLC

Système de stadification

Stade

Catégorie de risque

Survie médiane

Rai

0

faible

plus de 12,5 ans

1 et 2

moyen

7 ans

3 et 4

élevé

1,5 an

Binet

A

faible

plus de 10 ans

B

moyen

5 à 7 ans

C

élevé

2 à 3 ans

Questions sur la survie

Si vous êtes atteint de LLC, discutez avec votre médecin de votre pronostic. Le pronostic repose sur de nombreux facteurs dont ceux qui suivent :

  • antécédents médicaux
  • type de cancer
  • stade
  • caractéristiques du cancer
  • traitements choisis
  • réponse au traitement

Seul un médecin qui connaît bien ces facteurs pourra examiner toutes ces données de concert avec les statistiques de survie pour en arriver à un pronostic.

Révision par les experts et références

  • Borthakur G, O'Brien S . Treatment of chronic lymphocytic leukemia and related disorders. Wiernik PH, Goldman JM, Dutcher JP & Kyle RA (eds.). Neoplastic Diseases of the Blood. 5th ed. Springer; 2013: 9: pp. 121-119.
  • Canadian Cancer Statistics Advisory Committee. Canadian Cancer Statistics 2019 . Toronto, ON : Canadian Cancer Society; 2019: https://www.cancer.ca/en/cancer-information/cancer-101/canadian-cancer-statistics/past-editions-canadian-cancer-statistics/.
  • National Cancer Institute. Chronic lymphocytic leukemia Treatment (PDQ®) Health Professional Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2014.
  • Wierda WG, O'Brien S . Chronic lymphocytic leukemia. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, & Rosenberg SA. Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology. 9th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2014: 134: pp. 1973-1987.