What is bladder cancer?

Bladder cancer starts in the cells of the bladder. A cancerous (malignant) tumour is a group of cancer cells that can grow into nearby tissue and destroy it. The tumour can also spread (metastasize) to other parts of the body.

The bladder is part of the urinary system. It is a hollow organ in the pelvis that stores urine (pee) (a liquid waste product) before it passes out of the body.

Diagram of the location of the bladder
Diagram of the location of the bladder

Cells in the bladder sometimes change and no longer grow or behave normally. These changes may lead to non-cancerous (benign) tumours such as papillomas. They can also lead to non-cancerous conditions such as urinary tract infections (UTIs).

But in some cases, changes to bladder cells can cause bladder cancer. Most often, bladder cancer starts in urothelial cells that line the inside of the bladder. This type of cancer is called urothelial carcinoma of the bladder (also called transitional cell carcinoma). Urothelial carcinomas make up more than 90% of all bladder cancers. They are often diagnosed at an early stage and have not grown into the deeper muscle layer of the bladder wall.

Rare types of bladder cancer can also develop. These include squamous cell carcinoma and adenocarcinoma of the bladder.

Expert review and references

  • Al-Ahmadie H, Lin O, Reuter VE . Pathology and cytology of tumors of the urinary tract. Scardino PT, Lineham WM, Zelefsky MJ, Vogelzang NJ (eds.). Comprehensive Textbook of Genitourinary Oncology. 4th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2011: 16:295-316.
  • American Society of Clinical Oncology. Bladder Cancer. 2017: https://www.cancer.net/cancer-types/bladder-cancer.
  • Feldman AS, Efstathiou JA, Lee RJ, Dahl DM, Michaelson MD, Zietman AL . Cancer of the bladder, ureter, and renal pelvis. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, Rosenberg SA. Cancer: Principles and Practice of Oncology. 10th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2015: 65:896-916.
  • Martini FH, Timmons MJ, Tallitsch RB. Human Anatomy. 7th ed. San Francisco: Pearson Benjamin Cummings; 2012.
  • Penn Medicine. All About Bladder Cancer. University of Pennsylvania; 2017: https://www.oncolink.org/cancers/urinary-tract/bladder-cancer/all-about-bladder-cancer.

The bladder

The bladder is part of the urinary system. Learn about the bladder, including the structure and function of the bladder.

Cancerous tumours of the bladder

Learn about the most common type of cancerous tumour of the bladder called urothelial carcinoma. It is also called transitional cell carcinoma (TCC).

Non-cancerous tumours and conditions of the bladder

Learn about non-cancerous tumours of the bladder. They do not spread to other parts of the body and are not usually life-threatening.

Qu’est-ce que le cancer de la vessie?

Le cancer de la vessie prend naissance dans les cellules de la vessie. La tumeur cancéreuse (maligne) est un groupe de cellules cancéreuses qui peuvent envahir les tissus voisins et les détruire. La tumeur peut aussi se propager (métastases) à d’autres parties du corps.

La vessie fait partie de l’appareil urinaire. C’est un organe creux du bassin qui sert à emmagasiner l’urine (déchet liquide) avant qu’elle ne soit évacuée du corps.

Emplacement de la vessie
Emplacement de la vessie

Les cellules de la vessie subissent parfois des changements qui rendent leur mode de croissance ou leur comportement anormal. Ces changements peuvent engendrer la formation de tumeurs non cancéreuses (bénignes) comme des papillomes. Ils peuvent aussi provoquer l’apparition d’affections non cancéreuses comme des infections des voies urinaires (IVU), communément appelées infections urinaires.

Mais dans certains cas, les changements qui affectent les cellules de la vessie peuvent causer un cancer de la vessie. La plupart du temps, le cancer de la vessie prend naissance dans les cellules urothéliales qui tapissent l’intérieur de la vessie. Ce type de cancer porte le nom de carcinome urothélial de la vessie, ou carcinome transitionnel de la vessie. Les carcinomes urothéliaux représentent plus de 90 % de tous les cancers de la vessie. On les diagnostique souvent à un stade précoce et ils n’ont pas envahi la couche musculaire plus profonde de la paroi de la vessie.

Des types rares de cancer de la vessie peuvent aussi se manifester. Le carcinome épidermoïde et l’adénocarcinome en sont des exemples.

Révision par les experts et références

  • Al-Ahmadie H, Lin O, Reuter VE . Pathology and cytology of tumors of the urinary tract. Scardino PT, Lineham WM, Zelefsky MJ, Vogelzang NJ (eds.). Comprehensive Textbook of Genitourinary Oncology. 4th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2011: 16:295-316.
  • American Society of Clinical Oncology. Bladder Cancer. 2017: https://www.cancer.net/cancer-types/bladder-cancer.
  • Feldman AS, Efstathiou JA, Lee RJ, Dahl DM, Michaelson MD, Zietman AL . Cancer of the bladder, ureter, and renal pelvis. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, Rosenberg SA. Cancer: Principles and Practice of Oncology. 10th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2015: 65:896-916.
  • Martini FH, Timmons MJ, Tallitsch RB. Human Anatomy. 7th ed. San Francisco: Pearson Benjamin Cummings; 2012.
  • Penn Medicine. All About Bladder Cancer. University of Pennsylvania; 2017: https://www.oncolink.org/cancers/urinary-tract/bladder-cancer/all-about-bladder-cancer.

La vessie

La vessie fait partie de l’appareil urinaire. Renseignez-vous sur la vessie, dont sa structure et sa fonction.

Tumeurs cancéreuses de la vessie

Renseignez-vous sur le type le plus courant de tumeur cancéreuse de la vessie appelé carcinome urothélial. On le nomme aussi carcinome transitionnel.

Tumeurs et affections non cancéreuses de la vessie

Renseignez-vous sur les tumeurs non cancéreuses de la vessie. Ces masses ne se propagent pas à d’autres parties du corps et ne mettent habituellement pas la vie en danger.