a woman with her son riding on her shoulders smiles at the camera
HOW WE CAN HELP

Child, youth and young adult supports

We offer year-round programs and supports for children and young adults who have been diagnosed with cancer, as well as their families.

To best protect the health, safety and well-being of our campers, volunteers and staff during COVID-19, we have suspended in-person programs. Please visit campgoodtimes.org for up-to-date information on when we will be offering in-person programs again. 

We are currently offering programs to provide support, connection and laughter virtually through Goodtimes at Home.

Supporting children and youth on their cancer journey

The Canadian Cancer Society offers summer camps and year-round recreational programs for children and youth with cancer, as well as their families. Our programs are designed to foster independence, increase confidence and create an environment of understanding and support. There is medical supervision on site whenever possible.

Camp Goodtimes

Camp Goodtimes provides unique summer and year-round recreation programs. These programs are designed for children and youth 0 to 18 years of age with a cancer diagnosis, their families and bereaved families. Through these programs, children and teens living with cancer or beyond build resilience, strength and independence to see that life is bigger than cancer.

At Camp Goodtimes, campers and families can enjoy traditional camp activities while receiving care from staff and our 24-hour medical team. Camp creates an open and accepting environment where lifelong friendships can be made.

Summer Camps

We offer week-long camps for children, teens and families at our rented facilities at Loon Lake Lodge and Retreat Centre in Maple Ridge, BC, and Pringle Retreat and Camp on Shawnigan Lake, BC. Camp Goodtimes is accredited by the British Columbia Camps Association and the Children’s Oncology Camping Association.

Year-Round Programs

Camp Goodtimes offers day and weekend programs throughout the year. They are available in different regions of BC and range from afternoon picnics to weekend retreats.

Breaking Borders

Breaking Borders is a program pioneered by Camp Quality, an international family of non-profit camps that provide summer programs for children affected by cancer, as well as their siblings.

Breaking Borders was developed to help young people who are moving from being treated for childhood cancers into adult follow-up clinics. These youths are the fastest growing and most underserved group of cancer survivors.

Our program is a series of sessions held once a month from October to September. These sessions lead up to a final multi-day expedition or final project in September. Participants learn about project management, teamwork, responsibility, goal setting and much more. By stepping out of their comfort zone, they find support among their peers to persevere, gain self-confidence and learn that growth occurs when we reach outside ourselves and break down borders.

This program is available to people aged 19 to 25 years who have a cancer diagnosis and live in British Columbia.

We offer week-long camps for kids and weekend family camp programs at Camp Rotary in Sunnyside Beach, New Brunswick. Camp Goodtimes is accredited by the New Brunswick Camping Association and the Children’s Oncology Camping Association.

We offer week-long camps for kids and weekend family camp programs at Brigadoon Village in Aylesford, Nova Scotia. Camp Goodtimes is accredited by the Camping Association of NS and PEI and the Children’s Oncology Camping Association.

Related stories

Read stories from other people who have been affected by childhood cancer.

Femme portant son fils sur ses épaules et souriant à la caméra.
Ce que nous pouvons faire pour vous

Services de soutien pour enfants, jeunes et jeunes adultes

Tout au long de l’année, nous offrons des programmes et des services de soutien aux enfants et aux jeunes adultes qui ont reçu un diagnostic de cancer, ainsi qu’à leurs familles.

Afin de mieux protéger la santé, la sécurité et le bien-être de nos campeurs, de nos bénévoles et des membres de notre personnel pendant la pandémie de COVID-19, nous avons suspendu les programmes en personne. Visitez campgoodtimes.org pour obtenir des renseignements à jour sur la reprise de nos programmes en personne.

Nous offrons actuellement des programmes de soutien en ligne permettant de tisser des liens et de s’amuser par le biais de Goodtimes à la maison.

Du soutien pour les enfants et les jeunes qui vivent une expérience de cancer

La Société canadienne du cancer offre des camps d’été et des programmes de loisirs tout au long de l’année aux enfants et aux jeunes atteints de cancer, ainsi qu’à leurs familles. Nos programmes sont conçus pour favoriser l’indépendance, accroître la confiance en soi, et créer un environnement de compréhension et de soutien. Dans la mesure du possible, une supervision médicale est offerte sur place.

Camp Goodtimes

Le Camp Goodtimes offre des programmes de loisirs sans pareils en été et durant toute l’année. Ces programmes sont conçus pour les enfants et les jeunes âgés de 0 à 18 ans qui ont reçu un diagnostic de cancer, leurs familles ainsi que les familles endeuillées. Ces programmes permettent aux enfants et aux adolescents qui sont touchés par le cancer ou qui l’ont déjà été de développer leur résilience, leur force et leur indépendance pour réaliser que la vie est plus grande que le cancer.

Au Camp Goodtimes, les campeurs et leurs proches peuvent profiter d’activités de camp traditionnelles tout en bénéficiant des soins de notre personnel et de notre équipe médicale, 24 heures sur 24. Le camp procure un environnement ouvert et accueillant où il est possible de se faire des amis pour la vie.

Camps d’été

Nous offrons des séjours d’une semaine au camp pour les enfants, les adolescents et les familles dans les installations que nous louons au Loon Lake Lodge et au Retreat Centre à Maple Ridge (BC) ainsi qu’au Pringle Retreat and Camp à Shawnigan Lake (BC). Le Camp Goodtimes est accrédité par la British Columbia Camps Association et la Children’s Oncology Camping Association.

Programmes à l’année

Le Camp Goodtimes offre des programmes de jour et de fin de semaine tout au long de l’année. Accessibles dans différentes régions de la Colombie-Britannique, ces activités prennent diverses formes allant des pique-niques en après-midi aux retraites de fin de semaine.

Breaking Borders

Breaking Borders est un programme mis en place par Camp Quality, un regroupement international de camps à but non lucratif qui offrent des activités estivales aux enfants touchés par le cancer ainsi qu’à leurs frères et sœurs.

Breaking Borders a été créé pour aider les jeunes à faire la transition entre le traitement d’un cancer infantile et le suivi dans des cliniques pour adultes. Ces jeunes constituent le groupe de survivants du cancer qui connaît la croissance la plus rapide, mais c’est aussi celui qui est le moins bien desservi.

Notre programme consiste en une série de séances qui ont lieu une fois par mois, d’octobre à septembre. La série se termine par une expédition de plusieurs jours ou d’un projet final en septembre. Les participants se familiarisent avec la gestion de projet, le travail en équipe, la prise de responsabilités, l’établissement d’objectifs et bien plus. Amenés à sortir de leur zone de confort, les jeunes apprennent à s’entraider pour mieux persévérer, développent leur confiance en eux et découvrent que c’est en allant au-delà de soi et en éliminant les frontières qu’on grandit.

Ce programme est offert aux personnes de 19 à 25 ans qui ont reçu un diagnostic de cancer et qui vivent en Colombie-Britannique.

Nous offrons des séjours d’une semaine au camp pour les enfants ainsi que des camps familiaux de fin de semaine au Camp Rotary à Sunnyside Beach (NB). Le Camp Goodtimes est accrédité par l’Association des camps du Nouveau-Brunswick et la Children’s Oncology Camping Association.

Nous offrons des séjours d’une semaine au camp pour les enfants ainsi que des camps familiaux de fin de semaine au Brigadoon Village à Aylesford (NS). Le Camp Goodtimes est accrédité par la Camping Association of NS and PEI et la Children’s Oncology Camping Association.

Histoires à découvrir

Lisez les histoires d’autres personnes qui ont été touchées par un cancer dans leur enfance.