Helicobacter pylori

What is H. pylori?

Helicobacter pylori (H. pylori) is a bacterium that grows in the inner lining of the stomach. It causes a common stomach infection. It is also a main cause of stomach cancer and some types of lymphoma of the stomach.

What you need to know about H. pylori

 H. pylori can be found in about half of the world’s population. Generally, rates of H. pylori infection are higher in developing countries than in developed countries. Some groups of people have much higher infection rates, including First Nations communities and immigrants from countries such as Japan, Korea and China, where there is a high incidence of H. pylori infection.

Most H. pylori infections occur in childhood. H. pylori infection usually lasts for life unless it is treated. Most people infected with H. pylori don’t have any symptoms or health problems related to the bacterium. Some people with long-lasting infection develop symptoms, such as stomach pain, nausea or vomiting. H. pylori can cause long-lasting inflammation of the inner lining of the stomach (gastritis) and stomach ulcers. About 10% to 15% of people with H. pylori infection develop peptic ulcer disease (sores or ulcers in the lining of the stomach or duodenum of the small intestine).

How is H. pylori spread?
It’s not known for sure how H. pylori spreads, but it’s thought to spread through food that’s not been washed well or cooked properly. People may also get it from drinking water from an unclean source. It may also be passed from person to person through direct contact with the saliva or poo of an infected person.
What are the risk factors for H. pylori?

Risk factors related to H. pylori infection include:

  • crowded living conditions
  • poor sanitation
  • lower socio-economic status

H. pylori and cancer

H. pylori infection causes some cancers and other illnesses.
Stomach cancer

H. pylori infection is a major cause of stomach (gastric) cancer. H. pylori causes long-lasting gastritis, which is thought to be the first step in developing stomach cancer.

But it’s important to know that fewer than 3% of people with H. pylori infection develop stomach cancer.

MALT lymphoma

H. pylori infection is related to a higher risk of MALT lymphoma of the stomach. This is a type of non-Hodgkin lymphoma. Nearly all MALT lymphomas of the stomach are related to H. pylori infection. People infected with H. pylori have a low risk of developing MALT lymphoma (less than 1%).

Testing, treating and reducing risk of H. pylori

Routine testing for H. pylori is not recommended if you don’t have any symptoms or a history of peptic ulcer disease. Most experts agree that most people don’t need to be tested for H. pylori infection, but there is evidence to support testing and treating H. pylori in certain high-risk individuals.

There are 4 ways to test for H. pylori:

  • breath test
  • blood test
  • stool test
  • endoscopy

Treating H. pylori infection

People infected with H. pylori are usually given a combination of antibiotics and a drug to help reduce acid in the stomach for 7 to 14 days. It cures H. pylori infection in 80% to 90% of people.

How to reduce your risk of H. pylori infection

The source of H. pylori isn’t known, so there aren’t specific recommendations for avoiding infection. In general, it’s always wise for you to:

  • wash your hands well or use a hand sanitizer
  • eat food that has been properly prepared
  • drink water from a safe, clean source

Helicobacter pylori

Qu’est-ce que H. pylori?

Helicobacter pylori (H. pylori) est une bactérie qui croît dans le revêtement interne de l’estomac. Elle est à l’origine d’une infection courante de l’estomac. H. pylori est aussi une des principales causes de cancer de l’estomac et de certains types de lymphome de l’estomac.

Ce qu’il faut savoir à propos de H. pylori

H. pylori est présente chez environ la moitié de la population mondiale. En général, les taux d’infection à H. pylori sont plus élevés dans les pays en développement que dans les pays développés. Les taux d’infection sont beaucoup plus élevés chez certains groupes de population, entre autres chez les peuples des Premières Nations et les immigrants du Japon, de la Corée et de la Chine, où l’incidence de l’infection à H. pylori est élevée.

La plupart des infections à H. pylori apparaissent durant l’enfance. À moins d’être traité, ce type d’infection durera généralement toute la vie. La majorité des personnes atteintes d’une infection à H. pylori ne présentent pas de symptômes ou de problèmes de santé liés à la bactérie. Certaines personnes dont l’infection est chronique éprouvent des symptômes, comme une douleur à l’estomac, des nausées ou des vomissements. H. pylori peut causer une inflammation chronique du revêtement interne de l’estomac (gastrite) et des ulcères à l’estomac. Environ 10 à 15 % des personnes atteintes d’une infection à H. pylori développeront une maladie ulcéreuse gastroduodénale, soit des lésions ou des ulcères dans le revêtement de l’estomac ou du duodénum (première partie de l’intestin grêle).

Comment se propage H. pylori?
On ne sait pas exactement comment H. pylori se propage, mais on croit que c’est par de la nourriture qui n’a pas été lavée ou cuite correctement. On peut aussi être contaminé en buvant de l’eau provenant d’une source souillée. La bactérie est également transmissible par contact direct avec la salive ou les selles d’une personne infectée.
Quels sont les facteurs de risque associés à H. pylori?

Les facteurs de risque liés à l’infection par H. pylori sont, entre autres, ceux-ci :

  • logement surpeuplé
  • mauvaise hygiène
  • statut socio-économique moins élevé

H. pylori et cancer

L'infection à H. pylori cause certains cancers et d’autres maladies.
Cancer de l’estomac

L’infection à H. pylori est une cause majeure du cancer de l’estomac (cancer gastrique). Le H. pylori provoque la gastrite chronique, qu’on croit être la première étape de l’apparition du cancer de l’estomac.

Il ne faut toutefois pas perdre de vue que moins de 3 % des personnes qui ont une infection à H. pylori seront un jour atteintes d’un cancer de l’estomac.

Lymphome du MALT

L’infection à H. pylori est liée à une hausse du risque d’apparition d’un lymphome du MALT de l’estomac, un type de lymphome non hodgkinien. Presque tous les lymphomes du MALT de l’estomac sont liés à l’infection à H. pylori. Les personnes infectées par H. pylori risquent peu d’être atteintes d’un lymphome du MALT (moins de 1 %).

Dépistage, traitement et réduction du risque d’infection par H. pylori

On ne recommande pas le dépistage systématique de la bactérie H. pylori chez les personnes qui ne présentent pas de symptômes ou qui n’ont pas d’antécédents de maladie ulcéreuse gastroduodénale. La majorité des experts s’entend pour dire que la plupart des gens n’ont pas besoin de passer de tests; les données scientifiques justifient toutefois le dépistage et le traitement du H. pylori chez certaines personnes à risque élevé.

Il existe quatre façons de détecter H. pylori :

  • test respiratoire
  • analyse sanguine
  • analyse des selles
  • endoscopie

Traitement de l’infection à H. pylori

Les personnes infectées par H. pylori sont habituellement traitées au moyen d’antibiotiques et d’un médicament réduisant la production d’acide gastrique. Ce traitement, d’une durée de 7 à 14 jours, guérit l’infection par H. pylori dans 80 à 90 % des cas.

Comment réduire votre risque d’infection par H. pylori

Comme on ne sait pas encore d’où provient H. pylori, il n’existe pas de recommandations spécifiques pour éviter l’infection. En général, il est toujours sage de :

  • se laver les mains à fond ou d’utiliser un désinfectant;
  • consommer des aliments qui ont été préparés adéquatement;
  • boire de l’eau provenant d’une source salubre et sécuritaire.