Risk factors for gallbladder cancer

A risk factor is something that increases the risk of developing cancer. It could be a behaviour, substance or condition. Most cancers are the result of many risk factors. Having gallstones is the most important risk factor for gallbladder cancer.

Gallbladder cancer increases with age. Most people diagnosed with gallbladder cancer are over age 65.

More women than men develop gallbladder cancer. Women have higher rates of gallstones and gallbladder inflammation, and this may contribute to their higher risk.

Gallbladder cancer rates are higher in certain countries and ethnic groups. Higher than average rates of gallbladder cancer occur in Israel, India, Latin America, eastern Asia and Europe. In North America, the number of people who get gallbladder cancer is low, but the rate of gallbladder cancer for Indigenous people of Canada and Native and Hispanic Americans is higher than average

Risk factors are generally listed in order from most to least important. But in most cases, it is impossible to rank them with absolute certainty.

Gallstones

The presence of gallstones in the gallbladder is called cholelithiasis. Gallstones are hard deposits of cholesterol and other substances. Having gallstones is a common condition and is more common in women. Having a history of gallstones is the most common risk factor for developing gallbladder cancer, but only a very small number of people with gallstones will develop gallbladder cancer.

Chronic inflammation

Inflammation of the gallbladder is called cholecystitis. Chronic inflammation of the gallbladder can increase your risk of developing gallbladder cancer. Many risk factors for gallbladder cancer, including gallstones and bacterial infection, can cause inflammation. Primary sclerosing cholangitis, a disease of the bile ducts, can also cause chronic inflammation and a higher risk for gallbladder cancer.

Choledochal cysts

Choledodal cysts are rare. They are also called congenital cystic disease of the biliary tree. They can develop if you are born with bile ducts that are larger than normal. Choledodal cysts can cause inflammation and an abnormal flow of bile in the bile ducts and gallbladder.

Abnormalities of the pancreaticobiliary duct junction

The pancreaticobiliary duct junction is the point where the pancreatic duct and the bile ducts join outside the first part of the small intestine (duodenum). An abnormality at this junction is called an anomalous junction of the pancreaticobiliary duct. It is rare and if you have it, you are born with it. It causes the pancreatic digestive juices to flow back into the bile ducts instead of into the small intestine. This can lead to chronic irritation of the gallbladder.

Bacterial infection

Chronic bacterial infections may cause chronic inflammation or irritation of the gallbladder and increase the risk of gallbladder cancer. These infections include:

Salmonella typhi (S. typhi) causes typhoid fever. Sometimes you can have the bacteria in your body but not have any symptoms. People in this carrier state often get gallstones, which may contribute to a higher risk of gallbladder cancer.

Helicobacter bilis (H. bilis) and Helicobacter pylori (H. pylori) have been linked to a higher risk of gallbladder cancer. Helicobacter infection may lead to gallstones and chronic inflammation.

Porcelain gallbladder

Porcelain gallbladder is an uncommon condition. Calcium builds up on the walls of the gallbladder, causing it to harden (calcify). It may be caused by chronic inflammation of the gallbladder, usually because of gallstones.

Overweight or obesity

Overweight or obesity is a risk factor for gallbladder cancer. Obesity is linked with gallstones, the most common risk factor for gallbladder cancer.

Polyps

A gallbladder polyp is a growth on the inside lining of the gallbladder. Most polyps are non-cancerous. Polyps larger than 1 cm are more likely to become cancerous. Cancerous gallbladder polyps are found more often in older people.

Thorotrast exposure

Thorotrast (thorium dioxide) is a contrast medium that was used for imaging tests in the past. Studies show that people who were injected with Thorotrast have a higher risk for gallbladder cancer.

Possible risk factors

The following factors have been linked with gallbladder cancer, but there is not enough evidence to show for sure that they are risk factors. More research is needed to clarify the role of these factors for gallbladder cancer.

  • family history
  • diabetes
  • number of pregnancies

Questions to ask your healthcare team

To make the decisions that are right for you, ask your healthcare team questions about risks.

Expert review and references

  • American Cancer Society. Gallbladder Cancer. 2018: https://www.cancer.org/cancer/gallbladder-cancer.html.
  • Elias B, Kliewer EV, Hall M, et al . The burden of cancer risk in Canada's indigenous population: a comparative study of known risks in a Canadian region. International Journal of General Medicine. Dove Press; 2011.
  • Hall MJ, Abrams JA, & Neugut AI . Cancer of the gallbladder and biliary tree: epidemiology. Kelsen, D. P., Daly, J. M., Kern, S. E., Levin, B., Tepper, J. E., & Van Cutsem, E. (eds.). Principles and Practice of Gastrointestinal Oncology. 2nd ed. Philadelphia: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2008: Chapter 34: pp. 463-474.
  • Koshiol J, Ferreccio C, Devesa SS, Roa JC, Fraumeni JF, Jr. . Biliary tract cancer. Thun MJ (ed.). Schottenfeld and Fraumeni Cancer Epidemiology and Prevention. 4th ed. New York, NY: Oxford University Press; 2018: 34: 661 - 670.
  • Patel,T. and Borad, M.J. . Cancer of the biliary tree. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, & Rosenberg SA. Cancer: Principles and Practice of Oncology. 10th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2015: 53:715-733.
  • Stuver S and Tricholpoulos D . Cancer of the liver and biliary tract. Adami, H-O., Hunter, D., & Trichopoulos, D. Textbook of Cancer Epidemiology. 2nd ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press; 2008: 12: pp. 308-332.
  • World Cancer Research Fund, American Institute for Cancer Research. Diet, Nutrition, Physical Activity and Cancer: A Global Perspective. Third Expert Report ed. London: World Cancer Research Fund International; 2018: https://www.wcrf.org/dietandcancer/contents.

Reducing your risk for gallbladder cancer

Ways of reducing your risk for gallbladder cancer include leading a healthy lifestyle. Learn how to take action to lower your risk of gallbladder cancer.

Facteurs de risque du cancer de la vésicule biliaire

Un facteur de risque est quelque chose, comme un comportement, une substance ou un état, qui accroît le risque d’apparition d’un cancer. La plupart des cancers sont attribuables à de nombreux facteurs de risque. La présence de calculs biliaires est le plus important facteur de risque du cancer de la vésicule biliaire.

Le nombre de cas de cancer de la vésicule biliaire augmente avec l'âge. La plupart des personnes qui reçoivent un diagnostic de cancer de la vésicule biliaire ont plus de 65 ans.

Les femmes sont plus souvent atteintes du cancer de la vésicule biliaire que les hommes. Les calculs biliaires et l'inflammation de la vésicule biliaire surviennent plus fréquemment chez la femme, ce qui peut faire augmenter leur risque de cancer de la vésicule biliaire.

Le taux de cancer de la vésicule biliaire est supérieur dans certains pays et certains groupes ethniques. Il est plus élevé que la moyenne en Israël, en Inde, en Amérique latine, dans l'est de l'Asie et en Europe. En Amérique du Nord, le nombre de personnes atteintes du cancer de la vésicule biliaire est peu élevé, mais le taux de ce cancer chez les peuples autochtones du Canada de même que chez les Amérindiens et les Hispano-Américains est supérieur à la moyenne.

Les facteurs de risque sont habituellement classés du plus important au moins important. Mais dans la plupart des cas, il est impossible de les classer avec une certitude absolue.

Facteurs de risque

Calculs biliaires

Inflammation chronique

Kystes cholédociens

Anomalies de la jonction pancréaticobiliaire

Infection bactérienne

Vésicule porcelaine

Embonpoint ou obésité

Polypes

Exposition au Thorotrast

Des preuves convaincantes permettent d’affirmer que les facteurs suivants font augmenter votre risque de cancer de la vésicule biliaire.

Calculs biliaires

La présence de calculs biliaires dans la vésicule biliaire est appelée lithiase biliaire. Les calculs biliaires sont de petits dépôts solides de cholestérol et d'autres substances. La formation de calculs biliaires est courante et plus fréquente chez la femme. Des antécédents de calculs biliaires sont le facteur de risque le plus courant du cancer de la vésicule biliaire, mais seulement un très petit nombre de personnes ayant des antécédents de calculs biliaires sera atteint du cancer de la vésicule biliaire.

Inflammation chronique

L’inflammation de la vésicule biliaire est appelée cholécystite. Une inflammation chronique de la vésicule biliaire peut accroître votre risque de cancer de la vésicule biliaire. De nombreux facteurs de risque du cancer de la vésicule biliaire, y compris les calculs biliaires et l’infection bactérienne, peuvent causer de l’inflammation. La cholangite sclérosante primitive, une maladie affectant les canaux biliaires, peut aussi causer une inflammation chronique et un risque accru de cancer de la vésicule biliaire.

Kystes cholédociens

Les kystes cholédociens, ou maladie kystique congénitale de l’arbre biliaire, sont rares. Ils peuvent apparaître si vous êtes né avec des canaux biliaires plus gros que la normale. Les kystes cholédociens peuvent causer de l’inflammation et une circulation anormale de la bile dans les canaux biliaires et la vésicule biliaire.

Anomalies de la jonction pancréaticobiliaire

La jonction pancréaticobiliaire est l'endroit où le canal pancréatique et le canal cholédoque se rejoignent, à l'extérieur du premier segment de l'intestin grêle (duodénum). Lorsqu'il y a une anomalie de cette jonction, on parle d'une jonction pancréaticobiliaire anormale. Il s’agit d’une anomalie rare; si vous l’avez, c’est parce qu’elle était présente à votre naissance. Cette anomalie force les sucs digestifs du pancréas à retourner dans les canaux biliaires plutôt que dans l'intestin grêle, ce qui peut causer une irritation chronique de la vésicule biliaire.

Infection bactérienne

Les infections bactériennes chroniques peuvent causer une inflammation chronique ou une irritation chronique de la vésicule biliaire et accroître le risque de cancer de la vésicule biliaire. Ces infections peuvent comprendre les suivantes :

  • La bactérie Salmonella typhi (S. typhi) cause la fièvre typhoïde. Cette bactérie peut parfois être présente dans votre corps sans que vous ayez de symptômes. Les personnes porteuses ont souvent des calculs biliaires, ce qui peut contribuer à la hausse du risque de cancer de la vésicule biliaire.
  • Les bactéries Helicobacter bilis (H. bilis) et Helicobacter pylori (H. pylori) ont toutes deux été associées à un risque accru de cancer de la vésicule biliaire. La présence d’une infection à Helicobacter peut engendrer des calculs biliaires et une inflammation chronique.

Vésicule porcelaine

La vésicule porcelaine est une affection peu courante. Des particules de calcium se fixent sur les parois de la vésicule biliaire, qui durcissent (se calcifient). Cette affection peut être causée par une inflammation chronique de la vésicule biliaire, habituellement en raison de la présence de calculs biliaires.

Embonpoint et obésité

L’embonpoint et l’obésité sont des facteurs de risque du cancer de la vésicule biliaire. On a établi un lien entre l’obésité et les calculs biliaires, qui est le facteur de risque le plus courant du cancer de la vésicule biliaire.

Polypes

Un polype vésical est une masse qui se forme dans le revêtement interne de la vésicule biliaire. La plupart des polypes ne sont pas cancéreux. Les polypes de plus de 1 cm de diamètre sont plus susceptibles de devenir cancéreux. On détecte des polypes vésicaux cancéreux plus souvent chez les personnes âgées.

Exposition au Thorotrast

Le Thorotrast (dioxyde de thorium) est un produit de contraste qui était employé autrefois pour les examens d'imagerie. Des études montrent que les personnes à qui on a injecté du Thorotrast risquent davantage d’être un jour atteintes d’un cancer de la vésicule biliaire.

Facteurs de risque possibles

On a établi un certain lien entre les facteurs qui suivent et le cancer de la vésicule biliaire, mais on ne possède pas suffisamment de preuves pour affirmer qu'ils sont des facteurs de risque. On doit faire plus de recherches pour clarifier le rôle de ces facteurs dans l’apparition du cancer de la vésicule biliaire.

  • antécédents familiaux
  • diabète
  • nombre de grossesses

Questions à poser à votre équipe de soins

Afin de prendre les bonnes décisions pour vous, posez des questions sur les risques à votre équipe de soins.

Révision par les experts et références

  • American Cancer Society. Gallbladder Cancer. 2018: https://www.cancer.org/cancer/gallbladder-cancer.html.
  • Elias B, Kliewer EV, Hall M, et al . The burden of cancer risk in Canada's indigenous population: a comparative study of known risks in a Canadian region. International Journal of General Medicine. Dove Press; 2011.
  • Hall MJ, Abrams JA, & Neugut AI . Cancer of the gallbladder and biliary tree: epidemiology. Kelsen, D. P., Daly, J. M., Kern, S. E., Levin, B., Tepper, J. E., & Van Cutsem, E. (eds.). Principles and Practice of Gastrointestinal Oncology. 2nd ed. Philadelphia: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2008: Chapter 34: pp. 463-474.
  • Koshiol J, Ferreccio C, Devesa SS, Roa JC, Fraumeni JF, Jr. . Biliary tract cancer. Thun MJ (ed.). Schottenfeld and Fraumeni Cancer Epidemiology and Prevention. 4th ed. New York, NY: Oxford University Press; 2018: 34: 661 - 670.
  • Patel,T. and Borad, M.J. . Cancer of the biliary tree. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, & Rosenberg SA. Cancer: Principles and Practice of Oncology. 10th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2015: 53:715-733.
  • Stuver S and Tricholpoulos D . Cancer of the liver and biliary tract. Adami, H-O., Hunter, D., & Trichopoulos, D. Textbook of Cancer Epidemiology. 2nd ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press; 2008: 12: pp. 308-332.
  • World Cancer Research Fund, American Institute for Cancer Research. Diet, Nutrition, Physical Activity and Cancer: A Global Perspective. Third Expert Report ed. London: World Cancer Research Fund International; 2018: https://www.wcrf.org/dietandcancer/contents.

Réduire le risque de cancer de la vésicule biliaire

Vous pouvez réduire votre risque de cancer de la vésicule biliaire en adoptant un mode de vie sain. Découvrez comment réduire votre risque.