Hearing problems

Hearing problems can develop after some types of cancer treatment. They can happen in the first 2 years after treatment or later on.

If you are experiencing hearing loss, it's important to talk to your healthcare team. Sometimes hearing loss can also be a sign of other problems, such as a tumour pressing against a structure that helps with hearing.

The ears are fully formed at birth, but hearing is a big part of speech and language development during the first 3 years of life when the brain is developing and maturing. Babies and children have a higher risk of developing hearing problems after cancer treatment. Late effects from some treatments can cause permanent and severe (profound) hearing loss, which can make it difficult for children to learn to talk.

How the ears work

The ears collect and process sound and send signals to the brain. They also help with balance. Each ear is made up of 3 main parts.

The outer ear includes the visible part of the ear, which collects sound. It also includes the ear canal, where wax is made. Earwax helps fight infections by collecting dirt to keep the ear canal clean.

The middle ear is made up of 3 tiny bones that form a chain connecting the eardrum to the inner ear. The eardrum separates the outer ear from the middle ear. The middle ear is normally filled with air. Sound waves are turned into vibrations as they move through the eardrum to the inner ear. The middle ear also contains the Eustachian tube. It lies in the skull between the nasal cavity and the inner ear. It connects to the upper part of the throat. The Eustachian tube balances the air pressure in the ear so that it is the same on both sides of the eardrum.

The inner ear has the cochlea, which is a small, curled tube that is filled with liquid and lined with tiny nerve hairs. When sound reaches the cochlea, the vibrations cause the hairs to move, creating nerve signals that are transmitted to the brain.

Diagram of the ear
Diagram of the ear

Causes

The following cancer treatments and other factors can cause hearing problems.

Chemotherapy

Platinum chemotherapy drugs, such as cisplatin and carboplatin, can damage the cochlea in the inner ear.

The risk of damage to the cochlea is greater with higher doses of chemotherapy. This damage may cause permanent hearing loss or changes in balance.

Some people can have severe hearing loss from certain chemotherapy drugs even when they are given at low doses, while other people don't have any hearing loss when the same drugs are given at higher doses. Researchers are trying to find out if genetics may be involved in how chemotherapy drugs can affect hearing.

Radiation therapy

Radiation therapy to the head, ear or brain can cause hearing problems. These problems often occur within 3 years after treatment and can worsen over time. People who receive a high dose of radiation to the cochlea or are younger than 4 years of age during treatment have a higher risk for hearing problems. The risk of hearing problems can also increase if platinum chemotherapy drugs are given along with radiation therapy.

Radiation to the ear can harden earwax, irritate tissues or cause swelling of the Eustachian tube so that fluid builds up in the inner ear. These problems may be temporary and can go away a few months after radiation therapy is finished.

High doses of radiation can cause more permanent hearing problems and hearing loss. These problems may develop if radiation changes the little bones inside the middle ear or causes problems with the Eustachian tube.

Surgery

Surgery involving the brain, ear or auditory nerve may cause hearing problems.

Certain medicines

Medicines that can cause hearing problems include:

  • antibiotics, such as erythromycin, neomycin, gentamicin, streptomycin or tobramycin
  • diuretics, such as furosemide (Lasix) or ethacrynic acid (Edecrin)

Other factors

The following can increase the risk for hearing problems:

  • being younger than 4 years old at the time of treatment
  • receiving both chemotherapy and radiation therapy
  • having hearing problems or a risk for them before cancer treatment
  • having a tumour, surgery or an infection in your brain, ear or auditory nerve can cause a buildup of fluid in the brain that can affect hearing

Types of hearing problems

Hearing problems that can develop after cancer treatment include hearing loss and ringing in the ears (tinnitus). Hearing loss can be mild, severe or somewhere in between. You may have hearing loss, tinnitus or both.

There are 2 main types of hearing loss:

Conductive hearing loss is caused by a blockage in the ear, such as a buildup of fluid or earwax, that prevents sound from travelling to the inner ear. Conductive hearing loss can be caused by problems with the Eustachian tube in the middle ear (called Eustachian tube dysfunction). If the tube doesn't open enough, the pressure in the middle ear changes. If the tube stays closed, fluid will fill the middle ear. Conductive hearing loss is often temporary and can be treated. Hearing usually returns to normal after the problem causing hearing loss is treated.

Sensorineural hearing loss is caused by damage to the tiny nerve hairs in the cochlea, to the auditory nerve in the inner ear or to the part of the brain that processes sound. This makes it difficult to hear soft sounds and to tell the difference between certain sounds. High-pitch sounds are usually the first to be affected by sensorineural hearing loss. Middle- and lower-pitch sounds can also be affected. Sensorineural hearing loss is usually permanent.

You can have both types of hearing loss. This is called mixed hearing loss.

Symptoms

Symptoms can vary depending on the type of hearing problem and include:

  • ringing or tinkling sounds in the ears
  • difficulty hearing or being easily distracted by background noise
  • missing parts of conversations or asking people to repeat things
  • not paying attention to sounds, such as voices or environmental noise
  • dizziness or vertigo
  • nausea or vomiting
  • difficulty with language development in young children
  • hard, crusty earwax

If symptoms get worse or don't go away, report them to your doctor or healthcare team without waiting for your next scheduled appointment.

Diagnosis

Before treatment for cancer begins, you may have tests to check your hearing. Tests are repeated during and after treatment to look for any changes. If hearing loss occurs, the dose of the chemotherapy drug or radiation may be lowered.

You may see an audiologist, otologist or both. An audiologist is a health professional who tests for hearing loss. An otologist is a medical doctor who treats people with ear problems.

Tests to check hearing may include:

Physical exam

Your doctor will look in the ears for signs of any problems, such as a blockage or infection. They may also test other parts of your nervous system, such as look at your eyes, check your reflexes and check your balance.

Hearing exam

A hearing exam is also called an audiogram. It may be done before treatment with drugs that may cause hearing problems or radiation to the head. This test provides doctors with a baseline that they can check your hearing against during and after treatment.

A hearing exam tests your ability to hear different sounds. Sounds vary based on the intensity (volume or loudness) and the pitch (speed of sound vibrations). Many different types of tests can be used to check hearing. Tests will be chosen based on your age and level of understanding.

Find out more about hearing exam.

Imaging tests

You may have imaging tests, such as a CT scan or an MRI, to look for any hearing problems.

Managing hearing problems

Hearing loss can affect your ability to communicate and carry out daily activities. If hearing loss develops, you will be evaluated by an audiologist, otologist or ENT (ear, nose and throat) doctor.

Treatments for hearing problems include:

  • removing earwax
  • antibiotics to treat any infection
  • surgery to insert a tube into the ear to drain fluid

Devices that can help with hearing problems include:

Hearing aids can be used to improve hearing. They are small devices that make sounds louder. You wear them in or behind your ear. There are different types available depending on your age, size and the extent of hearing loss.

Sound generators can be used to help tinnitus. They make sounds that cover up ringing so that it bothers you less. These can come as part of a hearing aid.

Auditory trainers (FM trainers) are devices that you wear in a room where you want to focus on what one person is saying (such as a classroom). The speaker wears a microphone and you wear a small device that helps you hear their voice.

Cochlear implants are electronic medical devices that a doctor implants into your inner ears during surgery. They bypass the damaged area of the ears to send signals to the auditory nerve, helping you hear.

Message relay services help people with hearing or speech problems make and receive phone calls. In a message relay service call, the relay operator communicates with one caller using text and the other by voice.

Other assisted devices are also available for people with hearing loss, including:

  • alarm clocks that vibrate
  • smoke detectors with flashing lights
  • closed captioning for TV

Other communication methods include speech reading (lip reading), sign language and cued speech.

Tips for communicating if you have hearing loss include:

  • Let people know you have problems hearing.
  • Ask the person talking to face you and get your attention before speaking.
  • Ask the person speaking to speak clearly and not too fast.
  • Have your conversation in a well-lit place.
  • Limit background noise or have your conversation in a quiet area.

Protecting your ears

Protect your hearing from further damage by quickly treating ear infections and any other ear problems. Avoid things that may further damage hearing. Avoid loud noises, such as vacuum cleaners, hair dryers, lawn mowers, yard trimmers, leaf blowers, motorcycles or 4-wheelers. Protect your ears during or try to avoid work that exposes you to loud noises, such as firefighting, construction, farming and airport work. Wear earplugs at concerts or avoid them. Do not use headphones at a high volume. If you can't avoid exposure, wear hearing protection such as earplugs or earmuffs and limit exposure as much as you can.

Follow-up

All people who are treated for cancer need regular follow-up. The healthcare team will develop a follow-up plan based on the type of cancer, how it was treated and your needs. Follow-up may include a physical exam and hearing tests.  

It is recommended that people who receive chemotherapy have a hearing test every 2 years after treatment is finished. People who receive radiation therapy should have a hearing test every 5 years.

For children, it is very important to schedule regular hearing tests before or when they are learning to talk. When children cannot hear or communicate with others, it can be harder for them to make friends, socialize and learn in school.

If there is any change in your hearing, you may need to have more frequent follow-up. People who receive radiation therapy have a greater risk for progressive hearing loss over time.

Expert review and references

  • American Cancer Society. Children Diagnosed With Cancer: Late Effects of Cancer Treatment. Atlanta, GA: American Cancer Society; 2012.
  • Late effects of childhood cancer. American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO). Cancer.Net. Alexandria, VA.: American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO); 2011.
  • Armenian SH, Meadows AT, Bhatia S . Late effects of childhood cancer and its treatment. Pizzo, P. A. & Poplack, D. G. (Eds.). Principles and Practice of Pediatric Oncology. 6th ed. Philadelphia: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2011: 47: pp. 1368-1387.
  • Hobbie WL, Carlson C, Harvey J et al . Care of the survivor of childhood cancer. Baggott C, Fochtman D, Foley GV & Patterson Kelly, K (eds.). Nursing Care of Children and Adolescents with Cancer and Blood Disorders. 4th ed. APHON; 2011: 20: pp. 694-763.
  • Martini FH, Timmons MJ, Tallitsch RB. Human Anatomy. 7th ed. San Francisco: Pearson Benjamin Cummings; 2012.
  • National Cancer Institute. Late Effects of Treatment for Childhood Cancer (PDQ®) Patient Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2013.
  • Long-Term Follow-Up Guidelines for Survivors of Childhood, Adolescent, and Young Adult Cancers. National Childhood Cancer Foundation & Children's Oncology Group. CureSearch. Bethesda, MD: 2008: http://www.survivorshipguidelines.org/.
  • Shad AT . Late effects of childhood cancer and treatment. eMedicine.Medscape.com. WebMD LLC; 2012.

Troubles de l’audition

Des troubles de l'audition peuvent apparaître après certains types de traitement du cancer. Ils peuvent se manifester dans les 2 premières années qui suivent le traitement ou plus tard.

Si vous éprouvez une perte auditive, il est important d’en parler à votre équipe de soins. Une perte auditive peut aussi être le signe d'autres problèmes, par exemple une tumeur qui exerce une pression sur une structure contribuant à l'audition.

Les oreilles sont déjà bien formées à la naissance; l'audition joue toutefois un rôle majeur dans le développement de la parole et du langage au cours des 3 premières années de vie, alors que le cerveau poursuit son développement et sa maturation. Les bébés et les enfants ont un risque plus élevé de développer des troubles de l'audition après un traitement du cancer. Les effets tardifs de certains traitements peuvent entraîner une perte auditive permanente et grave (profonde); ces enfants pourraient avoir de la difficulté à apprendre à parler.

Fonctionnement des oreilles

Les oreilles captent et traitent les sons, puis envoient des signaux au cerveau. Les oreilles aident également à garder l'équilibre. L'oreille se compose de 3 parties principales.

L'oreille externe comprend la partie visible de l’oreille, qui capte les sons. Elle comprend aussi le conduit auditif externe où le cérumen est produit. Le cérumen aide à combattre les infections en retenant la saleté afin de maintenir le conduit propre.

L'oreille moyenne comprend 3 osselets qui forment une chaîne reliant le tympan à l'oreille interne. C'est le tympan qui sépare l'oreille moyenne de l'oreille externe. L'oreille moyenne est normalement remplie d'air. Pendant qu'elles traversent le tympan pour atteindre l'oreille interne, les ondes sonores sont transformées en vibrations. L'oreille moyenne renferme également la trompe d'Eustache. Celle-ci est logée à l'intérieur du crâne, entre la cavité nasale et l'oreille interne, et reliée à la partie supérieure de la gorge. La trompe d’Eustache équilibre la pression de l’air dans l’oreille afin qu'elle soit égale des deux côtés du tympan.

L'oreille interne contient la cochlée, qui est un petit tube enroulé rempli de liquide et tapissé de minuscules cils sensoriels. Lorsqu'un son parvient à la cochlée, les vibrations font bouger les cils, formant ainsi les signaux nerveux qui sont transmis au cerveau.

Schéma de l'oreille
Schéma de l'oreille

Causes

Les traitements du cancer qui suivent ainsi que d'autres facteurs peuvent causer des troubles de l'audition.

Chimiothérapie

Les agents chimiothérapeutiques à base de platine, comme le cisplatine et le carboplatine, peuvent endommager la cochlée dans l'oreille interne.

Le risque de dommages à la cochlée augmente lorsque de fortes doses de chimiothérapie sont administrées. Ces dommages peuvent causer une perte de l'audition ou des troubles de l'équilibre permanents.

Certaines personnes peuvent subir une importante perte auditive après avoir reçu certains agents chimiothérapeutiques, même à faibles doses, tandis que d'autres personnes ayant reçu ces mêmes médicaments à plus fortes doses n'ont aucune perte auditive. Des chercheurs tentent de déterminer si la génétique pourrait avoir un lien avec les effets des agents chimiothérapeutiques sur l'audition.

Radiothérapie

Une radiothérapie à la tête, à l'oreille ou au cerveau peut causer des troubles de l'audition. Ces troubles se manifestent souvent dans les 3 années qui suivent le traitement et peuvent s'aggraver avec le temps. Les personnes qui reçoivent une forte dose de radiation à la cochlée ou celles qui ont moins de 4 ans lors du traitement risquent davantage d'éprouver des troubles auditifs. Ce risque peut également augmenter si des agents chimiothérapeutiques à base de platine sont administrés en association avec la radiothérapie.

La radiation dirigée vers l'oreille peut durcir le cérumen, irriter les tissus ou causer l’enflure de la trompe d’Eustache, ce qui entraîne l’accumulation de liquide dans l’oreille interne. Ces problèmes peuvent être temporaires et se dissiper quelques mois après la radiothérapie.

De fortes doses de radiation peuvent causer des troubles auditifs et une perte de l'audition plus permanents. Ces troubles peuvent apparaître si la radiation modifie les petits os à l'intérieur de l'oreille moyenne ou entraîne des problèmes pour la trompe d'Eustache.

Chirurgie

Une chirurgie affectant le cerveau, l'oreille ou le nerf auditif peut être à la source de troubles de l'audition.

Certains médicaments

Les médicaments qui peuvent entraîner des troubles de l'audition comprennent :

  • des antibiotiques, comme l'érythromycine, la néomycine, la gentamicine, la streptomycine ou la tobramycine;
  • des diurétiques, comme le furosémide (Lasix) ou l'acide éthacrynique (Edecrin).

Autres facteurs

Les facteurs suivants peuvent accroître le risque de troubles de l'audition :

  • être âgé de moins de 4 ans au moment du traitement;
  • recevoir à la fois de la chimiothérapie et de la radiothérapie;
  • être déjà atteint de troubles auditifs ou présenter un risque de tels troubles avant de recevoir un traitement du cancer;
  • avoir une tumeur, une chirurgie ou une infection au cerveau, à l'oreille ou au nerf auditif, ce qui peut entraîner une accumulation de liquide dans le cerveau et affecter l'audition.

Types de troubles de l'audition

Les troubles de l'audition qui peuvent apparaître après un traitement du cancer sont entre autres la perte auditive et les bourdonnements d'oreille (acouphène). La perte auditive peut être légère ou grave, ou se situer quelque part entre les deux. Vous pourriez avoir une perte auditive, un acouphène ou les deux.

Il existe 2 types principaux de perte de l'audition.

La surdité de transmission est causée par une obstruction à l'intérieur de l'oreille, à cause par exemple d'une accumulation de liquide ou de cérumen, qui empêche le son d'atteindre l'oreille interne. La surdité de transmission peut être attribuable à des problèmes avec la trompe d’Eustache, située dans l’oreille moyenne (dysfonctionnement de la trompe d'Eustache). Si la trompe d’Eustache ne s'ouvre pas suffisamment, la pression dans l'oreille moyenne change. Si elle reste fermée, il y a accumulation de liquide dans l'oreille moyenne. La surdité de transmission est souvent temporaire et peut être traitée. L'audition revient habituellement à la normale une fois que le problème à l’origine de la perte d’audition est traité.

La surdité de perception est causée par des dommages aux minuscules cils sensoriels dans la cochlée, au nerf auditif dans l'oreille interne ou à la partie du cerveau qui traite les sons. Il devient alors difficile de percevoir les sons doux et de différencier certains sons. Les sons à tonalité aiguë sont habituellement les premiers à être affectés par la surdité de perception. Les sons à tonalité moyenne ou grave peuvent aussi être affectés. La surdité de perception est habituellement permanente.

Il est possible d'éprouver l'un et l'autre type de perte auditive. On parle alors de perte auditive mixte.

Symptômes

Les symptômes peuvent varier selon le type de trouble de l'audition et peuvent comprendre ceux qui suivent :

  • bourdonnements ou tintements d’oreille;
  • difficulté à entendre ou distraction facile quand il y a des bruits de fond;
  • parties de conversations manquées ou besoin de faire répéter les gens;
  • aucune attention prêtée aux sons comme les voix ou le bruit ambiant;
  • étourdissements ou vertiges;
  • nausées ou vomissements;
  • trouble de développement du langage chez les jeunes enfants;
  • cérumen durci, encroûté.

Si les symptômes s’aggravent ou ne disparaissent pas, mentionnez-le à votre médecin ou à votre équipe de soins sans attendre au prochain rendez-vous fixé.

Diagnostic

Avant que le traitement du cancer commence, vous pourriez passer des examens afin de vérifier votre audition. On refait les mêmes examens pendant et après le traitement pour détecter tout changement. S'il y a une perte auditive, il se peut qu'on diminue la dose de la chimiothérapie ou de la radiothérapie.

Vous pourriez consulter un audiologiste, un otologiste ou les deux. L'audiologiste est un professionnel de la santé qui fait passer des examens pour vérifier la perte auditive. L'otologiste est un médecin qui traite les personnes atteintes de maladies de l'oreille.

Les examens permettant de vérifier l'audition peuvent comprendre les suivants.

Examen physique

Votre médecin examinera vos oreilles pour détecter tout problème, par exemple une obstruction ou une infection. Il pourrait aussi vérifier d'autres parties de votre système nerveux, notamment en examinant vos yeux et en testant vos réflexes ainsi que votre équilibre.

Test auditif

Le test auditif porte aussi le nom d'audiogramme. On peut faire passer ce test avant un traitement médicamenteux susceptible de causer des troubles de l'audition ou avant une radiothérapie à la tête. Ce test permet au médecin d’obtenir une valeur de référence à laquelle il pourra comparer votre audition pendant et après le traitement.

Lors d'un test auditif, on évalue votre capacité d'entendre différents sons. Les sons varient selon l'intensité (volume ou niveau sonore) et la tonalité (vitesse des vibrations sonores). On peut avoir recours à bien des types de tests auditifs différents pour vérifier l'audition. On les choisit selon votre âge et votre niveau de compréhension.

Apprenez-en davantage sur les tests auditifs.

Examens d’imagerie

On pourrait vous faire passer des examens d’imagerie, comme une tomodensitométrie (TDM) ou une imagerie par résonance magnétique (IRM), afin de détecter un trouble de l'audition.

Traitement des troubles de l'audition

La perte de l'audition peut affecter votre capacité à communiquer et à mener vos activités quotidiennes. Si vous présentez une perte auditive, celle-ci sera évaluée par un audiologiste, un otologiste ou un otorhinolaryngologiste (ORL), qui est un médecin du nez, de l'oreille et de la gorge.

Les traitements des troubles de l'audition pourraient comprendre les suivants :

  • nettoyage de l'oreille pour enlever du cérumen;
  • administration d'antibiotiques pour traiter une infection;
  • insertion chirurgicale d'un tube dans l'oreille pour drainer le liquide.

Des dispositifs peuvent aussi être utilisés pour atténuer les troubles de l'audition.

Les prothèses auditives peuvent améliorer l'audition. Il s'agit de petits appareils qui amplifient les sons. La prothèse se porte à l'intérieur de votre oreille ou derrière votre oreille. Différents types de prothèses sont offerts; le choix variera selon votre âge, votre taille et l'ampleur de votre perte auditive.

Les générateurs de bruits peuvent aider à soulager les acouphènes. Ils émettent des sons qui couvrent les bourdonnements afin que ceux-ci soient moins incommodants. Ces générateurs de bruits peuvent être intégrés à une prothèse auditive.

Les appareils d'entraînement auditif (ou systèmes MF, pour modulation de fréquence) sont des appareils à porter lorsque vous êtes dans une pièce (par exemple une salle de cours) où vous devez vous concentrer sur ce que dit une personne en particulier. La personne qui parle porte un microphone et vous portez un petit appareil qui vous aide à entendre sa voix.

Les implants cochléaires sont des appareils médicaux électroniques qui sont insérés dans vos oreilles internes par voie chirurgicale. Ces implants contournent les régions endommagées des oreilles pour envoyer des signaux au nerf auditif, de sorte que vous puissiez mieux entendre.

Les services de transmission de messages aident les personnes atteintes de troubles de l'audition ou de la parole à faire et à recevoir des appels téléphoniques. Lors d'un appel effectué au moyen d'un service de transmission de messages, un téléphoniste agit comme intermédiaire dans la conversation en communiquant avec une personne à l'aide du texte et avec l'autre par la voix.

D'autres accessoires adaptés sont également à la disposition des personnes malentendantes, tels que ceux-ci :

  • réveille-matin émettant des vibrations;
  • détecteurs de fumée dotés de lumières clignotantes;
  • décodeurs de sous-titrage pour la télévision.

D'autres méthodes de communication sont entre autres la lecture labiale (lecture sur les lèvres), le langage des signes et le langage parlé complété (LPC).

Voici quelques conseils pour faciliter la communication si vous éprouvez une perte auditive :

  • Informez les autres personnes que vous avez de la difficulté à entendre.
  • Demandez à la personne de se placer face à vous et d'attirer votre attention avant de commencer à parler.
  • Demandez à la personne de parler clairement et de ne pas parler trop rapidement.
  • Faites en sorte que votre conversation ait lieu dans un endroit bien éclairé.
  • Réduisez les bruits de fond ou choisissez un endroit tranquille pour avoir votre conversation.

Protection de vos oreilles

Empêchez que votre audition se détériore davantage en traitant rapidement les otites et tout autre problème d'oreille. Évitez ce qui peut endommager davantage votre audition. Évitez les bruits forts comme ceux produits par les aspirateurs, les séchoirs à cheveux, les tondeuses à gazon, les taille-bordures, les souffleuses à feuilles, les motocyclettes ou les motoquads. Protégez vos oreilles lors de tâches qui vous exposent à des bruits forts, comme la lutte contre le feu, la construction, le travail agricole et le travail dans un aéroport, ou essayez d'éviter ce type de travail. Portez des bouchons d'oreille lors de concerts ou abstenez-vous d'y assister. Lorsque vous utilisez des écouteurs, ne réglez pas le volume à un niveau élevé. Si vous ne pouvez pas éviter l'exposition au bruit, portez des accessoires de protection comme des bouchons d'oreille ou des coquilles antibruit, et limitez votre exposition le plus possible.

Suivi

Toutes les personnes traitées pour un cancer doivent avoir un suivi régulier. L’équipe de soins établira un plan de suivi en fonction du type de cancer, des traitements reçus et de vos besoins. Le suivi peut comprendre un examen physique ainsi que des tests auditifs.  

On recommande aux personnes qui reçoivent une chimiothérapie de passer un test auditif tous les 2 ans après la fin du traitement. Les personnes qui reçoivent une radiothérapie devraient passer un test auditif tous les 5 ans.

Dans le cas des enfants, il est très important de planifier pour eux des tests auditifs à intervalles réguliers avant ou pendant qu'ils apprennent à parler. Un enfant qui ne peut pas entendre les autres ou communiquer avec eux risque d'avoir de la difficulté à se faire des amis et à socialiser, et pourrait éprouver des problèmes d'apprentissage scolaire.

Si votre audition change, vous aurez peut-être besoin d'un suivi plus rapproché. Les personnes qui reçoivent des traitements de radiothérapie risquent davantage de subir une perte progressive d'audition avec le temps.

Révision par les experts et références

  • American Cancer Society. Children Diagnosed With Cancer: Late Effects of Cancer Treatment. Atlanta, GA: American Cancer Society; 2012.
  • Late effects of childhood cancer. American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO). Cancer.Net. Alexandria, VA.: American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO); 2011.
  • Armenian SH, Meadows AT, Bhatia S . Late effects of childhood cancer and its treatment. Pizzo, P. A. & Poplack, D. G. (Eds.). Principles and Practice of Pediatric Oncology. 6th ed. Philadelphia: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2011: 47: pp. 1368-1387.
  • Hobbie WL, Carlson C, Harvey J et al . Care of the survivor of childhood cancer. Baggott C, Fochtman D, Foley GV & Patterson Kelly, K (eds.). Nursing Care of Children and Adolescents with Cancer and Blood Disorders. 4th ed. APHON; 2011: 20: pp. 694-763.
  • Martini FH, Timmons MJ, Tallitsch RB. Human Anatomy. 7th ed. San Francisco: Pearson Benjamin Cummings; 2012.
  • National Cancer Institute. Late Effects of Treatment for Childhood Cancer (PDQ®) Patient Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2013.
  • Long-Term Follow-Up Guidelines for Survivors of Childhood, Adolescent, and Young Adult Cancers. National Childhood Cancer Foundation & Children's Oncology Group. CureSearch. Bethesda, MD: 2008: http://www.survivorshipguidelines.org/.
  • Shad AT . Late effects of childhood cancer and treatment. eMedicine.Medscape.com. WebMD LLC; 2012.