Research in testicular cancer

Last medical review:

We are always learning more about cancer. Researchers and healthcare professionals use what they learn from research studies to develop better ways to treat testicular cancer. The following is a selection of research showing promise for treating testicular cancer.

We've included information from the following sources. Each item has an identity number that links to a brief overview (sometimes called an abstract).

  • PubMed, US National Library of Medicine (PMID)

  • Canadian Cancer Trials and ClinicalTrials.gov (NCT)

Active surveillance

Active surveillance for testicular cancer means that your healthcare team watches closely to see if the cancer comes back (recurs) after surgery rather than giving other treatments right away. They use tests and exams to see if testicular cancer is returning. Treatment is given only when the cancer has come back. This approach helps avoid side effects that can happen with treatments. Researchers studied active surveillance as a treatment option for people with clinical stage 1 germ cell testicular cancer following a radical inguinal orchiectomy. They found that people who received active surveillance had similar outcomes as people who received other treatments after surgery, such as chemotherapy, radiation therapy or lymph node removal (Journal of Clinical Oncology, PMID 25135991; Clinical and Translational Oncology, PMID 30470992).

Surgery

Researchers are looking for the best ways to treat testicular cancer using surgery and improve how surgery is done.

Testicle-sparing surgery (TSS) tries to spare most of a testicle. It may be an alternative to the standard treatment for some cases of testicular cancer. Standard treatment currently involves removing the testicle with cancer. For people who have cancer in both testicles or in the one remaining testicle, having the standard treatment would mean that they could no longer father children. Researchers are studying testicle-sparing surgery as a possible treatment to prevent infertility (International Urology and Nephrology, PMID 31267441; The Urologic Clinics of North America, PMID 31277728).

Robot-assisted retroperitoneal lymph node dissection (RPLND) is a newer procedure that allows the surgeon to use a computer to move surgical instruments connected to robotic arms. The operation is done through several small surgical cuts (incisions), much like laparoscopic surgery. Some surgeons are studying robot-assisted RPLND to remove lymph nodes in people with testicular cancer. Both laparoscopic and robot-assisted RPLND are linked with shorter hospital stays and fewer side effects compared to open RPLND, but it is currently unclear whether the results are as good as with open RPLND. More and better studies are needed to confirm this technique's potential role in staging and treating testicular cancer (Journal of Urology, PMID 32717162; Translational Andrology and Urology, PMID 32055487).

Immunotherapy

Immunotherapy helps strengthen or restore the immune system's ability to find and destroy cancer cells. This works to kill cancer cells and stop cancer cells from growing and spreading. Researchers are looking at immunotherapy drugs to see if they might be helpful in treating testicular cancer.

Monoclonal antibodies are both an immunotherapy and a targeted therapy. They bind to specific antigens on cancer cells to help destroy them. Researchers are studying brentuximab vedotin (Adcetris) in clinical trials to see if it can be used to treat testicular cancer that expresses CD30 (Investigational New Drugs, PMID 30993587).

Molecular profiling

Molecular profiling is a type of testing that looks at the unique features of the genes in cancer cells, as well as any related biomarkers. Researchers hope that molecular profiling will help doctors predict a prognosis and find the best treatments for certain cancers. Molecular profiling may also help doctors create targeted therapies for each cancer based on the specific genetic makeup of the tumour. Most testicular germ cell tumours respond to chemotherapy but about 10% do not (Nature Communications, PMID 32366847). Seminoma and non-seminoma germ cell tumours have high amounts of certain small non-coding RNAs (called micro-RNAs). Among these micro-RNAs, miR371a-3p (miR371) often predicts germ cell tumours in people with early and advanced testicular cancer (Journal of Clinical Oncology, PMID 31553692, PMID 30875280). A large clinical trial across Canada and the US is currently recruiting patients to confirm miR371's accuracy in detecting early-stage germ cell testicular tumours (ClinicalTrials.gov, NCT04435756).

Learn more about cancer research

Researchers continue to try to find out more about cancer. Clinical trials are research studies that test new ways to treat cancer. They also look at ways to prevent, find and manage cancer.

Clinical trials provide information about the safety and effectiveness of new approaches to see if they should become widely available. Most of the standard treatments for cancer were first shown to be effective through clinical trials.

Find out more about clinical trials.

Expert review and references

  • Christian Kollmannsberger, MD, FRCPC

Recherche sur le cancer du testicule

Dernière révision médicale :

On en apprend toujours plus sur le cancer. Les chercheurs et les professionnels de la santé se servent de ce qu’ils ont appris lors des études de recherche pour élaborer de meilleures façons de traiter le cancer du testicule. Le texte qui suit traite de différentes recherches qui se révèlent prometteuses dans le traitement du cancer du testicule.

Nous avons inclus de l’information qui provient des sources suivantes. Chaque article comporte un numéro d’identification dont le lien mène à un bref résumé.

  • PubMed, US National Library of Medicine (PMID)

  • Essais canadiens sur le cancer et ClinicalTrials.gov (NCT)

Surveillance active

La surveillance active du cancer du testicule consiste pour votre équipe de soins à vous suivre de près pour voir si le cancer réapparaît (récidive) après la chirurgie plutôt qu’à vous administrer immédiatement d'autres traitements. Des analyses et des examens permettent de vérifier si le cancer revient. On administre un traitement seulement si le cancer a réapparu. Cette approche aide à éviter les effets secondaires qui peuvent accompagner les traitements. Des chercheurs se sont penchés sur la surveillance active comme option de traitement pour les personnes atteintes d'une tumeur germinale du testicule de stade clinique 1 qui ont subi une orchidectomie inguinale radicale. Ils ont observé des résultats similaires chez les personnes ayant fait l'objet d'une surveillance active et celles ayant eu d'autres traitements après la chirurgie, par exemple une chimiothérapie, une radiothérapie ou un curage ganglionnaire (Journal of Clinical Oncology, PMID 25135991; Clinical and Translational Oncology, PMID 30470992).

Chirurgie

Des chercheurs tentent de trouver les meilleures façons de traiter le cancer du testicule à l’aide de la chirurgie et d’améliorer comment on pratique la chirurgie.

Lors de la chirurgie conservatrice du testicule (CCT), on tente de préserver la plus grande partie possible du testicule. Cette intervention peut être une solution de rechange au traitement standard pour certains cas de cancer du testicule. Actuellement, le traitement standard implique l'ablation du testicule atteint. Pour les personnes dont les deux testicules ou le testicule qui reste sont affectés par le cancer, le traitement standard entraînerait l'impossibilité de concevoir un enfant. Des chercheurs étudient la chirurgie conservatrice du testicule comme traitement possible afin de prévenir l'infertilité (International Urology and Nephrology, PMID 31267441; The Urologic Clinics of North America, PMID 31277728).

Le curage ganglionnaire rétropéritonéal assisté par robotique est une intervention plus récente qui permet au chirurgien d’utiliser un ordinateur pour déplacer des instruments chirurgicaux fixés à des bras robotiques. L’opération se fait à travers plusieurs petites coupures chirurgicales (incisions), comme pour une chirurgie par laparoscopie. Certains chirurgiens évaluent le curage ganglionnaire rétropéritonéal assisté par robotique comme méthode permettant d’enlever des ganglions lymphatiques aux personnes atteintes d'un cancer du testicule. Le curage ganglionnaire rétropéritonéal assisté par robotique tout comme le curage par laparoscopie engendrent une plus courte hospitalisation et moins d’effets secondaires comparativement à un curage ganglionnaire rétropéritonéal ouvert, mais pour le moment on ne peut établir clairement s'ils donnent d'aussi bons résultats. On doit faire plus d’études et des études plus poussées afin de confirmer le rôle potentiel de cette technique dans la stadification et le traitement du cancer du testicule (Journal of Urology, PMID 32717162; Translational Andrology and Urology, PMID 32055487).

Immunothérapie

L’immunothérapie aide à renforcer ou à rétablir la capacité du système immunitaire de combattre le cancer. Son action permet de détruire les cellules cancéreuses ou de les empêcher de croître et de se propager. Des chercheurs étudient des médicaments immunothérapeutiques afin de voir s’ils pourraient être utiles au traitement du cancer du testicule.

Les anticorps monoclonaux servent à la fois à l'immunothérapie et au traitement ciblé. Ils se fixent à des antigènes spécifiques présents à la surface des cellules cancéreuses afin d’aider à les détruire. Des chercheurs étudient le brentuximab védotine (Adcetris) en essais cliniques afin de savoir si on peut y avoir recours pour traiter un cancer du testicule lorsque le marqueur CD-30 est exprimé (Investigational New Drugs, PMID 30993587).

Profilage moléculaire

Le profilage moléculaire est un type d’analyse qui s’attarde aux caractéristiques uniques des gènes dans les cellules cancéreuses ainsi qu’à tout biomarqueur qui y est relié. Les chercheurs espèrent que l’analyse du profil moléculaire aidera les médecins à établir un pronostic et à trouver les meilleurs traitements pour certains cancers. Le profilage moléculaire peut aussi aider les médecins à créer des traitements ciblés pour chaque cancer en fonction de la constitution génétique propre à la tumeur. La plupart des tumeurs germinales du testicule répondent à la chimiothérapie, mais celle-ci est sans effet dans environ 10 % des cas (Nature Communications, PMID 32366847). Les tumeurs germinales séminomateuses et non séminomateuses présentent des quantités élevées de certains petits ARN non codants (appelés microARN). Parmi ces microARN, miR371a-3p (miR371) est souvent un prédicteur de tumeurs germinales chez les personnes atteintes d'un cancer du testicule de stade précoce ou avancé (Journal of Clinical Oncology, PMID 31553692, PMID 30875280). Un vaste essai clinique mené au Canada et aux États-Unis recrute actuellement des patients afin de confirmer l'exactitude de miR371 pour la détection des tumeurs germinales du testicule de stade précoce (ClinicalTrials.gov, NCT04435756).

Pour en apprendre davantage sur la recherche sur le cancer

Les chercheurs tentent toujours d’en savoir davantage sur le cancer. L’essai clinique est une étude de recherche lors de laquelle on met à l’essai de nouvelles façons de traiter le cancer. On évalue également des manières de prévenir le cancer, de le trouver ou de le gérer.

L’essai clinique permet d'obtenir des renseignements sur l'innocuité et l'efficacité de nouvelles approches afin de déterminer si elles doivent être offertes à plus grande échelle. La plupart des traitements standards du cancer ont d'abord démontré leur efficacité en essai clinique.

Apprenez-en davantage sur les essais cliniques.

Révision par les experts et références

  • Christian Kollmannsberger, MD, FRCPC