Targeted therapy for acute lymphocytic leukemia

Some people with acute lymphocytic leukemia (ALL) have targeted therapy. It uses drugs to target specific molecules (such as proteins) on the surface of cancer cells. These molecules help send signals that tell cells to grow or divide. By targeting these molecules, the drugs stop the growth and spread of cancer cells while limiting harm to normal cells. Targeted therapy may also be called molecular targeted therapy.

You may have targeted therapy added to the chemotherapy regimen if you have leukemia cells with the Philadelphia chromosome (called Ph+ ALL). You may also have targeted therapy if you have precursor B - ALL without the Philadelphia chromosome (called Ph- ALL) that comes back (relapses, or recurs) after treatment or doesn’t respond to other treatments (called refractory disease).

Your healthcare team will consider your personal needs to plan the drugs, doses and schedules of targeted therapy. You may also receive other treatments.

Targeted therapy drugs commonly used for ALL

The most common targeted therapy drug used is imatinib (Gleevec). It is a type of tyrosine kinase inhibitor.

Other tyrosine kinase inhibitors are most often used to treat other types of leukemia, but they may also be used to treat ALL. These drugs include dasatinib (Sprycel), nilotinib (Tasigna), bosutinib (Bosulif) and ponatinib (Iclusig). They are used most often for relapsed ALL if imatinib was part of previous treatment or if other targeted therapy drugs cause severe side effects. Doctors may switch you to one of these drugs because ALL can sometimes become resistant to imatinib.

Blinatumomab (Blincyto) is another targeted therapy drug. It may be used to treat relapsed or refractory relapsed or refractory precursor B-cell Ph- and PH+ ALL.

Inotuzumab ozogamicin (Besponsa) may be used to treat relapsed or refractory CD22-positve B-cell precursor ALL.

Side effects

Side effects can happen with any type of treatment for ALL but everyone’s experience is different. Some people have many side effects. Other people have few or none at all.

Targeted therapy doesn’t usually damage healthy cells, so it tends to cause fewer and less severe side effects than chemotherapy and radiation therapy. Chemotherapy and radiation therapy can damage healthy cells along with cancer cells.

If side effects develop with targeted therapy, they can happen any time during, immediately after or a few days or weeks after targeted therapy. Sometimes late side effects develop months or years after targeted therapy. Most side effects go away on their own or can be treated, but some side effects may last a long time or become permanent.

Side effects of targeted therapy will depend mainly on the type of drug, the dose and your overall health. Some common side effects of targeted therapy for ALL are:

Tell your healthcare team if you have these side effects or others you think might be from targeted therapy. The sooner you tell them of any problems, the sooner they can suggest ways to help you deal with them.

Information about specific cancer drugs

Details on specific drugs change quite regularly. Find out more about sources of drug information and where to get details on specific drugs.

Questions to ask about targeted therapy

Find out more about targeted therapy. To make the decisions that are right for you, ask your healthcare team questions about targeted therapy.

Expert review and references

  • American Cancer Society. Leukemia - Acute Lymphocytic (Adults). Atlanta, GA: American Cancer Society; 2013.
  • Drugs and Health Products, Health Canada. Regulatory Decision Summary: Besponsa. 2018: https://hpr-rps.hres.ca/reg-content/regulatory-decision-summary-detail.php?linkID=RDS00349.
  • Goekbuget N, Hoelzer D . Diagnosis and Treatment of adult acute lymphoblastic leukemia. Wiernik PH, Goldman JM, Dutcher JP & Kyle RA (eds.). Neoplastic Diseases of the Blood. 5th ed. Springer; 2013: 20: pp. 331-354.
  • Health Canada, Drugs and Health Products. Blincyto (blinatumomab) Authorization with Conditions. 2015: http://www.hc-sc.gc.ca/dhp-mps/prodpharma/notices-avis/conditions/blincyto_dhcpl_lapds_181723-eng.php.
  • Kebriaei P, Champlin R, de Lima M, et al . Management of acute leukemias. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, & Rosenberg SA. Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology. 9th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2014: 131: pp. 1928-1954.
  • Kurtin SE . Leukemia and myelodysplastic syndromes. Yarbro, CH, Wujcki D, & Holmes Gobel B. (eds.). Cancer Nursing: Principles and Practice. 7th ed. Sudbury, MA: Jones and Bartlett; 2011: 57: pp. 1369-1398.
  • National Cancer Institute. Adult Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia Treatment (PDQ®) Health Professional Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2014.

Traitement ciblé de la leucémie aiguë lymphoblastique

Certaines personnes atteintes de leucémie aiguë lymphoblastique (LAL) reçoivent un traitement ciblé. On administre des médicaments pour cibler des molécules spécifiques, comme les protéines, présentes à la surface des cellules cancéreuses. Ces molécules contribuent à l’envoi de signaux qui indiquent aux cellules de croître ou de se diviser. En ciblant ces molécules, les médicaments interrompent la croissance et la propagation des cellules cancéreuses tout en limitant les dommages aux cellules normales. Le traitement ciblé peut aussi être appelé traitement à ciblage moléculaire.

On pourrait ajouter un traitement ciblé à votre protocole de chimiothérapie si les cellules de la LAL dont vous êtes atteint présentent le chromosome Philadelphie (LAL Ph+). Vous pourriez aussi recevoir un traitement ciblé si vous êtes atteint d’une LAL à précurseurs B ne présentant pas le chromosome Philadelphie (LAL Ph-) qui réapparaît (récidive) après avoir été traitée ou qui ne répond pas à d’autres traitements (maladie réfractaire).

Votre équipe de soins prendra en considération vos propres besoins pour choisir les médicaments, les doses et les modes d’administration du traitement ciblé. Vous pourriez aussi recevoir d’autres traitements.

Médicaments ciblés couramment administrés pour la LAL

Le médicament ciblé auquel on a le plus souvent recours est l’imatinib (Gleevec). C’est un type d’inhibiteur de la tyrosine kinase.

D’autres inhibiteurs de la tyrosine kinase sont plus souvent administrés pour traiter d’autres types de leucémie, mais on peut aussi les employer pour traiter la LAL. Ces médicaments sont le dasatinib (Sprycel), le nilotinib (Tasigna), le bosutinib (Bosulif) et le ponatinib (Iclusig). On s’en sert le plus souvent pour la LAL qui récidive si l’imatinib faisait partie du traitement antérieur ou si d’autres médicaments ciblés causent des effets secondaires graves. Il est possible que les médecins vous donnent alors l’un de ces médicaments puisqu’il arrive que la LAL devienne résistante à l’imatinib.

Le blinatumomab (Blincyto) est un autre médicament ciblé. On peut l’administrer pour traiter la LAL à précurseurs B Ph- ou Ph+ qui est récidivante, récidivante réfractaire ou réfractaire.

On peut administrer de l’inotuzumab ozogamicin (Besponsa) pour traiter la LAL à précurseurs B CD22 positive qui récidive ou qui est réfractaire.

Effets secondaires

Peu importe le traitement de la LAL, il est possible que des effets secondaires se produisent, mais chaque personne les ressent différemment. Certaines en ont beaucoup alors que d’autres en éprouvent peu ou pas du tout.

En général, le traitement ciblé n’endommage pas les cellules saines, donc il a tendance à causer des effets secondaires moins nombreux et moins graves que la chimiothérapie et la radiothérapie. La chimiothérapie et la radiothérapie risquent d’endommager les cellules saines en plus des cellules cancéreuses.

Si des effets secondaires se manifestent, ils peuvent survenir n’importe quand pendant, tout de suite après ou quelques jours, voire quelques semaines après le traitement ciblé. Il arrive que des effets secondaires apparaissent des mois ou des années à la suite du traitement ciblé (effets tardifs). La plupart disparaissent d’eux-mêmes ou peuvent être traités, mais certains risquent de durer longtemps ou d’être permanents.

Les effets secondaires du traitement ciblé dépendent surtout du type de médicament, de la dose et de votre état de santé global. Voici certains effets secondaires courants du traitement ciblé de la LAL :

Avisez votre équipe de soins si vous éprouvez ces effets secondaires ou d’autres que vous croyez liés au traitement ciblé. Plus vite vous mentionnez un problème, plus rapidement on pourra vous dire comment aider à le soulager.

Informations sur des médicaments anticancéreux spécifiques

Les renseignements sur des médicaments spécifiques changent assez régulièrement. Apprenez-en davantage sur les sources d’information sur les médicaments ainsi que sur les sites où vous pouvez obtenir des renseignements sur des médicaments spécifiques.

Questions à poser sur le traitement ciblé

Apprenez-en davantage sur le traitement ciblé. Afin de prendre les bonnes décisions pour vous, posez des questions sur le traitement ciblé à votre équipe de soins.

Révision par les experts et références

  • American Cancer Society. Leukemia - Acute Lymphocytic (Adults). Atlanta, GA: American Cancer Society; 2013.
  • Drugs and Health Products, Health Canada. Regulatory Decision Summary: Besponsa. 2018: https://hpr-rps.hres.ca/reg-content/regulatory-decision-summary-detail.php?linkID=RDS00349.
  • Goekbuget N, Hoelzer D . Diagnosis and Treatment of adult acute lymphoblastic leukemia. Wiernik PH, Goldman JM, Dutcher JP & Kyle RA (eds.). Neoplastic Diseases of the Blood. 5th ed. Springer; 2013: 20: pp. 331-354.
  • Health Canada, Drugs and Health Products. Blincyto (blinatumomab) Authorization with Conditions. 2015: http://www.hc-sc.gc.ca/dhp-mps/prodpharma/notices-avis/conditions/blincyto_dhcpl_lapds_181723-eng.php.
  • Kebriaei P, Champlin R, de Lima M, et al . Management of acute leukemias. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, & Rosenberg SA. Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology. 9th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2014: 131: pp. 1928-1954.
  • Kurtin SE . Leukemia and myelodysplastic syndromes. Yarbro, CH, Wujcki D, & Holmes Gobel B. (eds.). Cancer Nursing: Principles and Practice. 7th ed. Sudbury, MA: Jones and Bartlett; 2011: 57: pp. 1369-1398.
  • National Cancer Institute. Adult Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia Treatment (PDQ®) Health Professional Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2014.